We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm with Delightful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Churchill to your Saves list
Hotel Churchill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old World Charm with Delightful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Traveling with our 26 year old son to Normandy battle sites, this was the perfect "home base" hotel in the lovely town of Bayeux. We shared a 2 BR suite, plenty of room for all of us, and super comfortable. The hotel has recently changed to new owners and they were on site from before dawn to midnight, making sure everything was perfect for their guests. The WWII focused decor added to the experience. Bayeux, with its many wonderful winding streets and charming canal, is right outside your door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    256
    54
    12
    3
See reviews for
227
380
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is not not much to add to the many positive reviews. This is a small, older, and charming hotel in the heart of Bayeux. We had to park our car down the street. We had a spacious room which was big enough and comfortable enough for three adult guests in our party. Or room was clean and comfortable. We awoke on a sunny Sunday morning to the glorious sound of cathedral bells ringing nearby, and had a tasty continental breakfast in a charming glass-enclosed breakfast room. Bayeux is a good place to stay to tour the Normandy D-Day beaches. Warning: there is no elevator, so be prepared to lug your bags upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Hotel Churchill and found it to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. The location is central, near the Cathedral and within a short walk from the British Cemetery and War Museum. It backs onto the main street. The gift shop has numerous items that represent the area, hand made crafts and is reasonably priced. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, making our stay comfortable and pleasant. The room, while small (not unusual for a European boutique hotel) was updated and comfortable with a view overlooking Place de Quebec and the cathedral. Overall, it was the staff that made the difference. We also took their tour of Mont St. Michel. Our driver Francois, was great. Lots of information, very helpful and even made a special stop for 2 of the guests which took him a bit out of his way. A terrific experience all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were told by multiple people that the Churchill Hotel was the best hotel in Bayeux. This may be true, but as far as hotels go in general I wasn't incredibly impressed. 

When we arrived, the lobby was small but very inviting. The gentleman behind the desk was even more inviting. Our room was rm 205, so we hauled our luggage up two flights of slanted stairs. I also tripped in the sloping hallway every time came and went from the room. The place definitely has history and character. The room itself was again small, but nice. The bathroom was also a decent size. We were unable to get WiFi in our room unless we stood by the window. I think this might have just been because we were on the top floor. The signal in the lobby was very strong and not a problem at all.

To summarize, the hotel is not bad and nicer than average. I would probably try a Bed & Breakfast instead if I were to go back to the area. If you have a car and don't need to be so close to the train station, I would definitely try a more budget friendly B&B option.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top (2nd) floor for a better chance of getting WiFi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It has been under new owners since March 2013, and they are very friendly and helpful. We liked this little cosy and charming hotel. It is very well located next to everything, and we enjoyed having the local market right at our door. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends who want to stay in Normandy. Little bonus : free Wifi access in our bedroom.

Room Tip: Perfect for a romantic 3/4 days stay in Normandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night stay with two friends at Hotel Churchill , and from arrival to departure to hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and helpfull .

We stayed in room 14 which was perfect for us with one double bed adjacent to the spotless wet room then two single beds upstairs in the annexe . The room/hotel had FREE Wi-Fi and a FREE safe in the room aswell as wall mounted flat screen tv (downstairs) were there was also a wardrobe and dresser. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily . Our room opened onto the shared outdoor courtyard which was the perfect place for a cold beer !! There is great bar in the conservatory which is connected to the main reception and is a good place to plan your day with a coffee or to share notes in the evening with a beer or two.

Bayeux has plenty of good places to see,eat and drink. On Wednesday the street o/s the hotel is closed off for the farmers market which is perfect for buying local goodies ... The purpose off our stay was to explore the sites of the D-Day landings and this proved the perfect location to explore all the sites .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Churchill on 3 occasions from 2007 through 2013, the most recent being this past April, 2013. Once more, we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically, and this time, by the new owner who is eager to make sure each detail of one's stay is attended to immediately. The physical aspect of the hotel exudes charm and pride of the history of the area and of the hotel. The many photographs of the World War II Normandy Invasion on the wall and the memorabilia in the display cabinets is a visit to a museum itself. Our room was impeccable and the colors and fabrics lovely, and the bathroom spotless. Daniel is a joy, full of knowledge of Normandy and Bayeux and he guided us to what became the best meal of our trip. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer this trip, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.