We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Churchill to your Saves list
Hotel Churchill
14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming & Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night stay with two friends at Hotel Churchill , and from arrival to departure to hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and helpfull .

We stayed in room 14 which was perfect for us with one double bed adjacent to the spotless wet room then two single beds upstairs in the annexe . The room/hotel had FREE Wi-Fi and a FREE safe in the room aswell as wall mounted flat screen tv (downstairs) were there was also a wardrobe and dresser. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily . Our room opened onto the shared outdoor courtyard which was the perfect place for a cold beer !! There is great bar in the conservatory which is connected to the main reception and is a good place to plan your day with a coffee or to share notes in the evening with a beer or two.

Bayeux has plenty of good places to see,eat and drink. On Wednesday the street o/s the hotel is closed off for the farmers market which is perfect for buying local goodies ... The purpose off our stay was to explore the sites of the D-Day landings and this proved the perfect location to explore all the sites .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    249
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
217
363
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Churchill on 3 occasions from 2007 through 2013, the most recent being this past April, 2013. Once more, we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically, and this time, by the new owner who is eager to make sure each detail of one's stay is attended to immediately. The physical aspect of the hotel exudes charm and pride of the history of the area and of the hotel. The many photographs of the World War II Normandy Invasion on the wall and the memorabilia in the display cabinets is a visit to a museum itself. Our room was impeccable and the colors and fabrics lovely, and the bathroom spotless. Daniel is a joy, full of knowledge of Normandy and Bayeux and he guided us to what became the best meal of our trip. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer this trip, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As soon as we entered he Churchill, Daniel greeted us warmly. The hotel was full so the first night we had small rooms, but the 2nd day the staff moved all of our luggage to larger rooms. My favorite part of The Churchill was breakfast! Our hostess was amazingly friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a marvelous French feast of the highest quality and everyone was attentive. Later at night as we sat comfortably in one of the downstairs bar rooms, we were kept supplied with drinks and snacks while we chatted and studied all of the thrilling WWII memorabilia on the walls and in the bookcases. Within walking distance of The Tapestry and The Cathedral as well as many shops and little restaurants. All in all -- nothing short of an incredible adventure that left us wanting more. The driver (Maurice) of our shuttle to Mont St. Michel was historically knowledgeable and told wonderful local stories. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Churchill just one night. It is old but in pretty good shape albeit a little dated. Rooms are smallish but have everything you need. The location is excellent to experience what Bayeux has to offer. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: No lift from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Normandy where we used Hotel Churchill as our base for four days.
From the beginning of our visit til our departure we were treated with gracious hospitality, professionalism, and kindness. This is a small hotel with a cozy feeling in the heart of Bayeux.The location is prefect for day trips exploring the area and great for walking to nearby restuarants in the evening.

Many thanks to everyone at Hotel Churchill. We had a wonderful visit and will come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First class hotel, well run by accommodating staff and in the very heart of things.

Convenient public parking is located behind the hotel, so take the first right past the hotel, and another right -- you will find yourself facing the very attractive rear of the hotel. You can unload your luggage there. Reception is close. You will have to feed the meter (coins needed) from mid morning until early evening. Cathedral and tapestry are both a short walk away.

Room Tip: You may have to beg to get one of the few rooms facing the cathedral -- worth the begging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Only here for one night. New owner says he only has been here 3 months. Everything seems like a fresh remodel. Friendly. Great spot in Bayeux. We also have Rm 112. Not the largest room (by American Standards) by absolutely OK. Very Clean. English spoken. I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.