We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, pleasant, well run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Churchill to your Saves list
Hotel Churchill
14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, pleasant, well run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at this very small and well-run hotel on the Normandy Coast. Visiting the landing beaches from WW2 was a long desired trip and we drove from Paris to stay at the Churchill. The rooms are small but comfortable, the bathroom modern. Our windows overlooked a courtyard and there was some noise but not to the point of annoyance. After arriving, one must walk to their room up a staircase as there are no elevators. We thought that the food menu was lacking and a bit expensive for the offerings. We chose to dine at other restaurants for wider choices. There are many restaurants to choose from within walking distance. We found the staff friendly and accommodating. A big plus is if you drive there, one can park for free in the rear. We were here in September of 2012 and the weather was superb.

Room Tip: Carrying luggage up to the 2nd floor is tough. If you have any issues climbing steps or lifting your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    249
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
217
363
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 and found it to be a great place. It was little difficult to find for us - we ended up parking the car and walking around until we found it! Once we found it, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was directly across from the office and breakfast room and just a few steps from restaurants and a grocery store. The location can't be beat and the property is a good value. It is within walking distance of everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Churchill is a bastion of friendliness and service! Perfectly located in the most charming village of Bayeux, we were around the corner from the tapestry and our meeting stop for our Normandy tour. We were also right near the city center including the abbey and the restaurants.

The room was huge, clean, and quiet—very comfortable stay. The hotel parking lot is small, but we were able to find street parking very nearby without any problem. The staff were authentically friendly and almost enthusiastic in helping us with our luggage, etc. Would highly recommend the Churchill for anyone going to this beautiful area of France!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. We were upgraded to a room with a stunning view of the cathedral which we visited at night (and were treated to a magnificent organ concert). The staff was extremely helpful, the room was charming, comfortable, clean and quiet. There is free wi-fi in the lobby and dining area. The hotel is centrally located very near the tapestry and the cathedral and also near many excellent restaurants. We felt that the hotel was reasonably priced.

The town of Bayeux was one of my favorites on our trip through Normandy, Loire Vally, Brittany, Loir Valley and Paris. There is so much to see in the area: the amazing tapestry, all the World War II sites and the charming surrounding country side.
Despite the rain during our stay, we loved this area and hotel would return again without question!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is great, and the staff is wonderful. It's located right in the middle of town, where you can walk to the lovely church (it really does rival Notre Dame) and also to the tapestry museum.

The staff is more than happy to help you reserve tours of the Normandy sites.

Our room was on the second floor (very clean, comfy bed), and the only bad thing, was that we woke up every morning to the smell of freshly baking croissants! The breakfast was great, and the lady that served it was very sweet!!

Definitely worth staying here, it's a cute hotel, with awesome staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach,CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently made a trip from Paris up to Bayeaux France to tour the Normandy area and see the American Cemetery and all the history of the D Day. We stayed at the Hotel Churchill in the town of Bayeaux, France. Easily took the train up from Paris. We loved this hotel as it was lovely and had lots of military artificats and history from this time period. The breakfast was delicious and in the evening this area was open to cocktails and visiting with other guests. The town was lovely and the hotel was a short walk to many great restaurants. Our tour (Overlord Tours...which was great also) picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel. Rooms were quite small, but no problem. No elevator, but they will help you with your luggage up the stairs. The innkeeper "Daniel" was always there to help. Including helping us with our charger which did not work and loaned us one through out our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel and tour company.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here three nights and also took the hotel shuttle to Mont St Michel. It was much more convenient than taking the train because I could sleep in later. However, the shuttle only holds about eight people so I recommend you book in advance. The bed was very comfortable and I had a nice view of the cathedral.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and Daniel was especially great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.