We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Normandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Churchill to your Saves list
Hotel Churchill
14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Visit to Normandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our second time to visit Normandy and stay at this lovely hotel. They were very helpful and polite. They helped arrange a tour of the battlefields and were very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Love this hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the cathedral from our window. It is so pretty at night lit up. Love Bayeux. It is a wonderful little town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    249
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
217
363
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We found the Hotel Churchill on line after another hotel in the Normandy area did not work out. The hotel staff was exceptional and the accomodations were very nice. The Normandy Beach Tour left from behind the hotel which was perfect. They even pointed out free all night parking. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Churchill for two nights in mid-September. It was a good choice for Bayeux and D-Day touring. The staff were very cordial and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, as well as the bathroom. Our room, #112, faced the street, and on our Wednesday morning departure day, they were setting up the market with fresh fish, flowers, and vegetables. (We had no problem with street noise, by the way.) We did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. But, the location was perfect for walking Bayeux, as the town center (and information center) was just steps away from the hotel. We took the picturesque walk through town along the river, as well as spent an afternoon shopping the abundant shops and visiting the patisseries...very enjoyable afternoon (even in the rain!) There is a wonderful little home goods boutique across the street (Rosalba's) where I found ample goodies to bring back for souvenirs. And, the shop in the hotel had a very nice selection as well. (They even carried a nice selection of these adorable little lace sachets (Maryse a Paris) which I had bought in Paris the year before and not seen anywhere else.) There are good dining choices nearby, as well as being so close to the Cathedral and Tapestry Museum...it truly is a very walkable city! The grocery store next door was very convenient for purchasing our picnic supplies for our self-guided day of D-Day touring. And, I was able to get on the hotel's wi-fi when seated in their dining room, but it was very slow.

If there was one negative thing I could say about the hotel, it would be the parking. We were fortunate enough to find a parking spot for both of our nights in the parking lot adjacent to the hotel's grounds. However, when we first arrived, there were a few hours remaining before it became "free" for the evening, and at check-in we were told we could park for free for the time-being in the city's parking lot, which from their directions seemed very far away. Perhaps we misunderstood the directions, but we decided just to pay for the few hours and then remain there for the evening. (And we witnessed the authorities coming by and checking the meters.) It worked out, but I could see parking being a bit of a headache.

I would choose the Churchill again, as we enjoyed our stay there and our visit to Bayeux!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took our 97 year old mother to visit the WW2 sites and stayed at the Churchill. Best choice any one could make. Staff was so nice, warm, accommodating. Highly recommend to anyone. Breakfast in the morning was cozy, inviting. will be back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the room next to the desk. even though it was at the entrance we had no problem w/noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I wish every Canadian could have the opportunity to visit Juno Beach and witness the terrain, and get some idea of the conditions, where our brave WWII warriors stormed ashore on June 6, 1944. In concert with their British and American allies (on Sword, Gold, Omaha, and Utah Beaches) they started the inland assault that would last some 77 days until the battle was finally won. This concerted effort to land an invasion force on French soil, to start the ground attack on Nazi Germany, came at a terrible price. We must never forget their sacrifices for freedom.

The Hotel Churchill, in Bayeux, France is a wonderful location to make as headquarters for this pilgrimage. The town has a medieval background that is totally captivating and the Hotel Churchill does a phenomenal job helping to preserve the sacred memories of our gallant troops. There are numerous photographs adorning the walls and several display cases of WWII memorabilia.

The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel itself has a charm that can only be truly appreciated by visiting. I have no reservations in recommending this location.

JBT
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel Churchill is superbly located in the centre of Bayeux.

We stayed there recently as walk in guests and our welcome was very genial. Daniel at the front desk was superb in dealing with all our queries. He even indulged my schoolroom French very patiently!

The room was modern and comfortable with an excellent bathroom.

Finally, the array of D-Day photo memorabilia throughout the hotel is really fascinating.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our family just returned from France and our stay at the Churchill was one of the highlights of our trip. They were so helpful and welcoming after a long trip. Wonderful location, we could walk to so many sights, as well as restraunts. I would highly recommend the Overlords 1 day Tour while you are visiting as well as the tour of St Monte Michel(take the personal guided tour not the audio guide). All the tours left insight of the hotel. The train station was a 10 minute easy walk with direct train that goes to Paris. Our room was very comfortable and larger than others we stayed in while visiting France. I will be sending all my friends to stay in this lovely town at the Churchill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.