We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wonderful small hotel in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wonderful small hotel in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine in March 2014 and it was wonderful. Our rooms were located in the lovely guest building made up of the "Duplex Suites", and featured beautiful views from the enormous glass doors and windows that opened to the gorgeous spring time weather and views of the lively pond, full of pairs of a variety of waterfowl sedately cruising the waterway, and perennial blooms. Quality shower and bathroom with robes, quality mattresses,bedding, stocked mini-bar and small refrigerator, iPod dock, large flat screen TV. Wifi is offered in the beautiful salon of the main house, as well as use of the hotel's Mac. We did not dine at the hotel, but did enjoy a bottle of the delicious locally produced Calvados in the elegant salon the first night before walking into the village of Bayeux for dinner. Set just outside the center of town on acreage of green meadows and it's own vegetable gardens, the hotel is approx 15 minutes walk to center of village, along quiet streets; there's one intersection to cross where the hotel road crosses the grass lined divided avenue, but it has a pedestrian crossing area to make it easy, and the small amount of traffic we encountered(in March) is used to stopping for pedestrians crossing this. The "country" feeling of the setting was a welcome change from the bustle of Paris and other urban places.The hotel staff also calls the local taxi company if needed-they arranged for a taxi to pick us up and return us to the train station, a short drive (and around 5-6 euros) from the hotel. The staff of Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine is professional, efficient, courteous and accommodating. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Normandy region.

Room Tip: Ask for the "duplex suites" to accommodate more than 2 people (we had 3 people).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
121
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the hotel I was amazed it truly is beautiful! Unfortunately, arriving at the front desk no one was there to great us had to wait and ring the bell several times. Finally, when a member of staff came they had just come back from walking there dog :/ weren't welcoming at all which had saddened me after the long journey to Bayeux. It would have been nice to have someone to show us to our room, speak about the restaurant services and offer us a tour of this chateau. Additionally, whenever we came and left the hotel staff weren't friendly I may as well have stayed in an apartment and not a hotel as we never got offered any information on the local area and asked about our stay. On departure we had to catch a ferry no staff were on the front desk and I rang the bell and waited a long time. However, the rooms were lovely and well decorated and the area of Bayeux and history of WW2 which surrounds you is brilliant!! 4/ 5

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A beautifully restored chateau amidst gorgeous grounds complete with stream, swans and chestnut trees! The rooms are tastefully decorated although I am not too keen on hand held showers. I had a room in the chateau itself overlooking the river and the swans. There was a separate building with more rooms but I can't comment on this. We ate here one night and the food was excellent. We had pre-dinner drinks sitting at the little tables in front of the chateau and post dinner coffee sitting in front of the lovely fire in the drawing room. It is a little distance from Bayeux - I suggest driving would be easier but it is quite near the station

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I booked a room here for my OH's birthday (also did a D-Day tour - also recommended!). I went for a superior double room and requested a room with a shower. We had a room on the fourth floor in the eaves and it was lovely. At night, the temperature was about right in the room, but the windows opened if it had been too hot.

The bathroom was very nice; modern and clean. The shower was wonderful. Observation: the towels could be thicker, and there was no full-length mirror in the room. The hairdryer was painfully powerless, so definitely bring your own if you have long or thick hair.

The double bed was two singles pushed together, but this wasn't a problem for us. The sheets were lovely and fresh and the beds were comfortable.

We had dinner in the hotel the first night and the food and service were both very good indeed. I can certainly recommend the foie gras and the beef! It's not a cheap meal by any means, but the food was delicious (and we do keep a pretty high bar).

The wine list was all French, as you would expect, but as the waitress didn't speak much English, we were on our own choosing a wine. Obviously not a problem if you know your French vineyards, but for us it was more of a semi-educated guess which resulted in a wine which was okay but nothing special.

Breakfasts were very good. Fruit, fruit juice and pastries were fresh, quality was good and there was a broad selection of everything you would expect.

We didn't have much time to explore Bayeux itself, and we would've liked to have seen the tapestry and mooch around the town, so we may go back again one day. If we do, I'd have no hesitation staying at Chateau de Bellefontaine again.

Room Tip: Room number 15 (a double with a separate twin bed) on the fourth floor is very nice and was very sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a fabulous hotel. First the chateau proper is wonderful. The restaurant is fantastic. BUT IT IS THE CHEESBURGER you want to order. Best cheesburger on the planet--tasty French cow and some magical cheese sauce. The steaks were great and the fish was lovely. So far my favorite bottle of wine here in France, we drank here.

We stayed in one of the apartments. Lovely and spacious. The stairs have wide gaps between them like all modern stairs so I think children should be about 4 or 5 years or older.

The restaurant is quiet and fancy.

The breakfast buffet is great, all sorts of things and great fresh squeezed orange juice.

They have a little stream with swans.

Only negative was the La Poste truck that drove too fast past our apartments to the main chateau.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a nights stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. Good location on the outskirts of Bayeux. We were going to walk into town but were tired from travelling so chose to eat in the restaurant and were very glad that we did - it was delicious. Fantastic old chateau ambience which made you want to dress up for dinner. The service was great and the food and wine very tasty - we really enjoyed it. The breakfast was generous with freshly squeezed orange juice available too.
The room was clean and comfortable rooms with a posh Villeroy & Boch bathroom! There was plenty of parking and the staff seemed to work tirelessly both night and day. We would stay again - thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room in the main building rather than the separate building that has additional rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third stay at the Chateau, this time for a special anniversary trip. Laurence and the Front Desk team were as welcoming as ever and our rooms were as comfortable as always. The Christmas decorations in the garden were particularly attractive!
There have been a couple of changes since our last stay; the restaurant is now open each evening with a full a la carte menu available or a plat du jour. We opted for the plat dujour option; lobster bisque, tournedeos of beef and Isle de Flotant. A superb meal for 29 euro pp. We would have eaten in again but our stay spread across two weeks and unfortunately the menu didn't change for the second week.
Breakfast was a little bit of a disappointment; previously it had been excellent but the standard continental breakfast with some very overcooked bacon didn't really seem very good value for 14 euro pp. Breakfast in the room was only 10 euro which was a little confusing!
It was great to be able to take our two well-behaved dogs and they had the full run of the grounds. The Chateau is very welcoming of dogs and other hotels, especially in the UK, should learn from this and realise this potential income stream.
Overall, another very comfotable stay and we will return.
A tip: the hotel can be booked via ferry companies as part of a package but you will get far better pricing by booking direct.

Room Tip: All the rooms are most comfortable but one or two on the third floor care quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.