We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe stay there BUT DO NOT EAT THERE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Maybe stay there BUT DO NOT EAT THERE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am very sorry to be writing a poor review and maybe our high expectations let this establishment down but I don't think so.

I had booked this chateau as a highlight on a week long driving trip around Normandy with our other accommodation venues being B&Bs. We had hoped this would be the highlight. Could not have been so wrong, the B&Bs at half the price left this establishment for dead for quality and service.

Initial reaction is a pleasant location and nice room looking out over the stream and gardens. However, the room despite a huge bath only had a hand held shower over the bath, filthy stained carpets, pathetic hair dryer and paint work running down the windows. For the price not really acceptable.

Thinking the chateau was out of town when we arrived, we booked for dinner at the chateau. Wrong - the chateau is only a short 15 minute walk into town. Dinner was terrible - the worst in a whole month of travelling - the wine service was something that makes Basil Fawlty look like an expert. Wine (expensive) was delivered to our table, uncorked, no tasting - fine for a cheap eats but at a restaurant in a chateau the wine should have been uncorked at the table and the opportunity to taste before serving provided. Then the food was served - dried out roast chicken which made KFC look good!

The service on checking out was at best disinterested (the dead goldfish in the fishbowl probably a reflection of their attention to detail) so we settled up and got out of there, glad it was only one night and would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
50
121
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Château de Bellefontaine is waiting for you...
you cannot imagine what you will discover there: A very beautiful castle very well decorated, very clean with beautiful and large rooms. Arriving at the hotel you are immediately welcomed at the desk with a smiling staff. rooms are spacious with a lot of amenities. we have reserved a wheelchair accessible room which was... fully accessible. I've never seen a bathroom so lage with a huge roll-in and all the space you could need for three persons using a wheelchair in the same time in the bathroom. My wife was saying: the bahtroom is so large that we could sleep there... :)

Breakfast are served every morning in a very charming room near the lobby. This is something like a huge buffet with all you could desire. We had diner at the restaurant of the hotel which provides very good food at a reasonable prize.

We have loved the hotel, not only for what we found inside the hotel but also about the gorgeous gardens where you can see beautiful flowers (mostly roses of all colors) and so many kind of ducks. this was fantastic to observe them, having a drink outside in the garden. beautiful place to take pictures that will become among the best of your collection. Nothing less. forget other hotels in Bayeux. If you compare the rate ask by Chateau De Bellefontaine you will always return there for your future stay in Basse Normandie. I only can highly and warmly recommend this hotel. You will appreciate it for sure. This is like the hidden secret of Bayeux. But today with this review this will become less secret :)

Room Tip: If there is availibility ask for a room with view on the garden. you will appreciate to se ducks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at chateau de bellefontaine. Food very nice, breakfast excellent, hardworking staff does an excellent job. We were on the top floor in a triple which had more room and the largest bath I have ever seen in France.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked 1 night here, wish it was more. Stayed in a duplex room in the annex and was not disappointed. Great room, spacious and loads of windows for the lovely views. Cleanliness was very good. Everything worked. The shower was great.
The grounds are very quaint, with swans and ducks swimming in the ponds. Breakfast was very good. All staff friendly and attentive. Bayeux within 10 minutes walk. The hotel is in a nice quiet area just on edge of town.

one of the best hotels I've stayed at for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel looks very nice, in an idyllic setting with swans and ducks in a small lake, roses and big trees all around. Be aware that the birds go ashore at night - do not walk barefoot on the lawn unless you are willing to keep a sharp eye out for their droppings.
We had a room in the annex, three stories, no ventilation, lots of sharp edges, amply described by some other reviewers. And they feature my pet hate item in hotels: cheap plastic hangers on those ridiculous "anti theft" plastic hooks. They probably cost about one euro - for a dozen. You have to go outside to get to the main bulding (and breakfast), the hotel has a good supply of umbrellas for rainy days.
The food is variable, with a very nice breakfast buffet. Unfortunately the dinner looked very much like, and probably was, heated in a microwave oven. Meat which has obviously been cooked but is served cold inside is not up to the standard a hotel like this should strive for. Until the cooking has been substantially improved one should stick to breakfast. Fortunately Bayeux center is only a leisurely 15 minute walk away and has several very good restaurants.
The staff is friendly, helpful and always present and secure the third star for this reviewer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just returned from France and stayed the first week of the trip at the chateau. It's as lovely as it looks; the house is grand but cozy and it's very quiet. We had a car so I can't honestly say it's an easy walk into Bayeaux. However, it is very close. We booked a triple room and after receiving a confirmation were told that the room was unavailable. They offered us the duplex in the annex which we accepted as there wasn't anything available in town. Although the duplex is open and large it is very awkwardly designed. The toilet and one queen bed is on the first floor. You walk up an open staircase to the middle level where the shower is located and then up another flight to the loft where there is a twin and a sleeper sofa. So during the night, anyone who needs the w.c. has to come down two flights of stairs. The only way to illuminate the stairs is to leave a light on in the bathroom and the w.c. as the landing has no light. The only storage are two closets, one on the first floor and one in the loft. We had a total of six hangers in the suite. I basically lived out of my suitcase. The only way to get fresh air was to open the front door and the french door near the bed, which you couldn't really do at night or while you were gone. The loft had only a skylight which didn't open. It was like a sauna. There were lots of "angles" everywhere; platforms, staircase edges and risers that you had to keep an eye on. This room had too many accidents waiting to happen for a family with kids. The room was very clean though and the bathroom with shower was very nice with a double sink, big shower, and towel warmer. The owners were always very helpful and the buffet breakfast was very good. If you want to stay in a quiet, elegant place, check out their site. I can't vouch for the rooms in "the big house" but I would avoid the duplex unless you are just one couple and you don't mind going up and down scary stairs to the bathroom. I would have preferred staying in Bayeaux with it's great restaurants and shops. It's busy during the day but quiets down in the evening and has so many things to see and do that it would have been much more fun to stay right there. Unfortunately, even though we starting looking three months ahead of our trip, everything in town was booked.

Room Tip: Avoid the duplex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Chateau Bellefontaine is a 15 minute walk from the center of Bayeux, but it seems to be out in the country. The grounds are beautiful and include a small lake with swans and ducks. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is fully renovated and in excellent condition. The amenities are generally very good, but there is no shower. (There is a bath.) They have facilities for playing pool and tennis. They also have good WiFi. The staff is helpful. Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.