We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and our two adult American daughters had the distinct pleasure of staying and dining at the Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine on 25th April. We had come to visit the memorials on the Normandy beaches and to visit the cathedral in Bayeux.

We had two rooms,, a large double on the first floor and a twin on the fourth floor. Both rooms were spacious and well decorated. The beds were very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The grounds are very pleasant with a small lake containing two beautiful swans and a variety of ducks. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the lovely warm sunshine in front of the hotel watching the waterfowl swimming about the lake.

We had dinner in the dining room. The table were set with lovely white linen, fresh flowers and candles. The food was excellent and the service friendly.

We will

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    84
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
50
121
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked via booking and got a very good value room for two nights. We toured the normandy landings and wanted a convenient location. The hotel is being upgraded but has fine location with a lake with lots of ducks and swans. The location is just on the external side of the ring road which should be good news, however the food in the restaurant is very poor. We had salmon and beef both of which were both overcooked, overpriced and seved with overcooked chips and ratatouile. we did not bother with puddings etc. So because of the fine location, to get a good meal you either have to drive or get a taxi into town (9 euros each way). So the delight of the pleasant hotel is offset by the poor food and the need to search out food in the town

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay en-route to St Malo. Lovely Hotel chateau, beautiful grounds and really fabulous room (Room 1). Ten minutes walk to Bayeux Tapestry and Cathedral (I have seen other reviews where people have said it is a little far from town but this is not so unless 10 minutes walk is too far!) We ate at the restaurant and found a fairly limited menu but to suit all price ranges and tastes - from Chicken and chips/ burger at Euro 12 to Fillet of Beef at Euro 27. A lovely moat with swans and ducks outside and sun-loungers (sadly we did not have the weather for this) free tennis and table tennis and well equipped room. This is a real find. We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the duplex rooms which proved very kid friendly with plenty of room. The room standard was very good and the grounds are beautiful. It's a long walk with young children to the town center so be prepared to drive or get a taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful grounds, wonderful food, friendly French staff. What more could you ask for? The hotel is a little bit outside "downtown" Bayeux so it would be a bit of a walk into town but doable. However why bother? The food here was fantastic and the ambiance wonderful in the dining room. We had a fireplace and the room to ourselves. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was gorgeous. Huge high ceilings. Swans in the river and tables and chairs in the garden made for a pleasant afternoon after sightseeing. Tennis courts on property were fun for the teens. I would recommend this place in a flash. Great breakfast buffet. Very filling with eggs, meat, wonderful bread and fresh squeezed juice.

Room Tip: We were in the main building. I am not sure if they also have rooms in the adjacent building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (two couples) stayed at this hotel for two nights in late March. The hotel is billed as a four star hotel and it is certainly that. Recently refurbished to a high standard, the bedrooms and public rooms have been tastefully redecorated. The beds were particularly comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and modern. Breakfast was a nice surprise, with plenty of choice. The residents' lounge is very elegant with a large hearth and open fire. Lovely grounds, helpful and pleasant staff - what more do you want for an agreeable stay?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. Our room, #10, was very spacious. The bathroom was huge with a large tub. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. Just try to go early to avoid a full salon. The grounds are beautiful and clean with a small canal running through it. They do have an elevator, but we used the stairs except when we were moving luggage. Ther.e was plenty of parking for our vehicle. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The receptionist at the desk when we checked out helped us take the correct highway out of town toward our next destination.
The Chateau is within comfortable walking distance to the center of Bayeaux. We walked back and forth several times with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.