We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely poor service. Lousy duplex unit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely poor service. Lousy duplex unit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked 2 nights in a duplex unit. It Is located in a separate building. The interior was bare and fIttIngs dId not seem to work. At best 3 stars. The first flight of steps was anchored only to the wall and a few look like they might give way any time as the hanging end dipped a few cm when we walked on them.

The breakfast was supposed to be 7.30am but on first day the server was struggling to put on items at 7.45am and we have to leave 8am for appointment. The boiler for eggs was not working so after waiting for 7 min, the egg was completely raw. On the second day, the entire place was pitch dark at 7.30am. We rang the bell to wake the server. He was upset that we didn't inform him the night before that we were leaving early. He claimed that he was busy with many people and therefore breakfast was not ready. We had to catch a train with a child without breakfast. He was not the least apologetic!!

The only thing which was quite good was the dinner. We chose to eat in hotel because it is at least 20 min walk with child from town. We were not keen to walk back along narrow back streets in the cold nights.

So I think it did not live up to expectations of booking into a chateaux hotel and the service is definitely appalling.

Room Tip: For family, better to book hotels in town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    76
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
110
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very nice character building in beautiful grounds that are a stone throw from town. Just what you would want to find in France. I'm sure a German high ranking officer would have occupied it in the 2nd World War. A statue of Eisenhower was on a roundabout just around the corner. The windows were about 6 feet tall and had to be opened all along the centre vertical for ventilation. My toilet had no ventilation other than the room itself so my partner and I kept nipping downstairs.
The location was excellent for eating out in Bayeux which is a charming town with lovely restaurants. The D Day landing beaches and cemeteries are all within easy reach. A very good location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you want a quiet and very comfortable hotel ,family owned with great food and service at a sensible price this is the place to be. Ideal for visiting the D day landing sites and very close to Bayeaux
Its down as a 3 star but better than some 4 star hotels and much more emjoyable than those belonging to a chain.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I was with party of 4 and mine and all other rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My family stayed in the delux family room which sleeps 5 for one night. There were 4 of us and the room was very spacious. Two floors, a king sized bed, a single bed, a pull out couch, two bathrooms (but only one toilet). Reception was efficient. The hotel is located just outside of Bayeux. It took us about 10 minutes to reach town centre walking. The hotel is on beautiful manicured grounds. I would stay here again if I returned with a group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Chateau in May, 2012 and found this place to be very quiet and peaceful as well as cordial and classy. The Chateau is located outside historic Bayeax France surrounded by woods and a beautiful lake in front. The food is excellent and the service is very good. Nothing like sitting on a bench by the lake at sundown with a glass of wine watching the beautiful Swans navigating the lake. The Chateau is in close proximity to the Normandy beach battlefields, the famous Bayeux tapestry, and other historic sites. I would highly recommend this Chateau for anyone near Bayeux, France. We certainly enjoyed our stay there and hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view of the lake but rooms on the south side are quieter.Simply a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have meant to write this for some time but not gotten around to it.
Our stay with another family couple last September (2011) was our 4th time at this beautiful establishment over the past 10 years or so.
We keep coming back simply because the place is so calm and relaxing.
We have seen several changes over the years, including the renovation of the stables into duplexes- somewhere, I admit, I would not prefer to stay given the beautiful chateau itself.
Contrary to what some other reviewers have said, I find the normal receptionist (Laurent ) extremely charming and pleasant and although her English is about as good as my French, we manage to communicate and have never had any issues with getting something if we ask in a polite way.

I do wonder about those who complain about such things as slow Internet speed, tv reception etc- heavens above, what were you thinking when choosing an old Chateau?

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August. As soon as we drove in, I was impressed with the lovely grounds- meandering river, swans and lots of flowers. Our room was on a corner in the main chateau and had beautiful views. The bathroom was large.
The town of Bayeaux is about a 20 minute walk - and wonderful to explore on foot.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue Bellefontaine, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;