We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire
Save
You added Le Manoir Sainte Victoire to your Saves list
32 rue de la Juridiction, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxnard, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This B and B is a great find. The owners have created unique rooms in a delightfully restored 15th century building in the heart of Bayeux. The rooms are themed around French artists. Each room has a well-equipped mini kitchen, a lovely bathroom, and luxurious linens. If all this wasn't enough, the breakfast is unbelievable with all homemade breads and jams, fresh squeezed juice, and a warm tart all served beautifully in a dining room filled with antiques and art. Add to this that the owners are very friendly and helpful, plus the location is super, and you have a top place to stay. We only stayed one night and wished we had another day. Great value, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
89
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chitown
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were so pleased to stay at this manor. It is really a once in a lifetime treat. The owners are wonderful cultured people. Jean Pierre is a chef and his wife a professor. They only have three units to let, so book far in advance. We already booked for next year. The Tower rental units are 500-700 years old. The top of the tower was used by German snipers during the invasion in 1944. The location is second to none with exquisite dining at a fair price easily in walking range.
I will revue some of the restaurants later as we just returned from Brussels last night.

Room Tip: Does not have a lift and remember the 1st floor in Europe is our 2nd in the USA. The breakfast is ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Manior Sainte Victoire for four nights from March 26th through March 30th, 2013. As many guests have already noted, this B&B is everything one could ask for with great hosts, a convenient location in Bayeux, superb breakfasts hosted by Jean Pierre and a wonderful setting with a private courtyard. Our hosts were delightful owners and worked very diligently to anticipate all our needs. Very clean, modern in an old setting, with wonderful decorations and exquisite paintings! We stayed in the Cocteux room on the first floor (of the tower) as my spouse walks with a cane and climbing the narrow stairwell would have been difficult. Ever see 20" wooden beams across your ceiling...and large stone hand-cut tiles on the floor...this is the type of wonderul historic atmosphere you'll have. Don't forget to see the Tapestry and D-Day beaches...awesome sights to say the least. It's very easy to agree to what others have already noted...this is an incredible location and we were fortunate to be able to use it as our central location in Normandy for four nights. We had the owners arrange a day trip for us to Mount Saint Michele...with a lovely guide from Caen that spoke four languages. Thank you Jean Pierre and greetings to your lovely wife. We really enjoyed our stay in Bayeux! Absolutely perfect in every respect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I don't even know where to begin...so I'll start with this. Out of the 16 B&B's we have stayed at in the U.S.A., Italy, Germany, Austria, Ireland, Croatia and France, this is by far the best one yet. This is for several reasons:

1). The room was perfect. We traveled with our 2 year old (yikes) and a 4 month old (x2), and we chose the queen bed with kitchenette and shower. It was perfect. They provided a travel crib, and had the entire room set up before we arrived. The bed was incredibly comfortable, four pillows (not Europe standard), gorgeous stone floors and brick walls, towels and pillowcases with embroidered linens, a decently spacious living area, kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator and a PERFECT SHOWER. I can't emphasize this enough. I have stayed in very nice hotels/B&Bs and in Europe a tub with detached shower head is standard. This one has a waterfall faucet with perfect water pressure and walk-in space for two (just sayin...). The room...was perfect.

2. The hospitality was second to none, and behind it is true kindness. Parking is tight, but the wife spoke very good English and took her car out of their garage and let us park to unload our bags...then explained in detail where and how to park so we wouldn't get ticketed. The breakfast (more on that later) was phenomenal, but they had a high chair ready and the husband has a truly genuine and kind demeanor who was willing to go ABOVE AND BEYOND. We live in Italy and with the young girls we needed to travel through the night. He took money off the already INCREDIBLY AFFORDABLE bill, and came back to open up the gate and help us with luggage at 2am. Wow...

3. The breakfast. Absolutely perfect. Incredibly fresh baguettes, croissant, 8 different fresh jams, yogurt, toast, cereal, freshly squeezed (as in that morning) OJ and apple juice..AND a home made pear crumble which was unlike anything I have EVER tasted. You will NOT get a breakfast like this in Europe anywhere else without paying incredible amounts and being VERY expensive. Here, it was standard.

4. Location. Bayeux is a gorgeous town within close proximity to all museums, D-Day beaches, and some of the most beautiful gothic cathedrals I have ever seen. 20 minutes MAX to the U.S. Cemetery and Memorial ( a must see...). Also, it is in Rick Steve's France and has a wonderful self-guided if you have time.

I can't rave enough. It was a wonderful way to end our trip and have a relaxing (as it can get with two little ones) time together as a family. I just wish they owned a B&B in every town we visited or taught others lessons!

Room Tip: The first floor is wonderful, max of two adults and two kids (both who can occupy cribs (cots as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly hosts, clean and cozy rooms, delicious breakfast, and historic charm! One of the nicest places in which I've ever stayed—either in the US or in Europe! Heartily recommended! I can't wait to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Out of more than 20 small hotels and B&B's we have patronized in Europe, this is, by far, the most evocative. The building itself is a step back - WAY back - in time, but with the cleanliness and conveniences modern travelers want. The spacious room was stone -- floors and walls -- yet somehow bright and cheerful. The bed, bathroom, breakfast, and other amenities are all top-notch. And Bayeux is much more than a gateway to the Normandy beaches: it's a truly beautiful and fascinating town in its own right. As others have noted, Jean Pierre, who struggles a bit with English, is nonetheless a perfect host. As is to be expected, parking can be tight. Once we were settled in and mentioned the parking situation, our host suggested trying the spots surrounding the park a block away, and that worked well for the balance of our stay. One final note is that the B & B takes cash only -- a fact that our guidebook failed to mention. Never fear, there are ATM's nearby. This is simply a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this amazing B&B for three nights in October while visiting Normandy.Our room in the stone tower was beyond description!The bed was incredibly comfortable,the beautiful bath provided extra thick towels, and the entire room was meticulously clean.Our hosts were not only welcoming but also very informative about the area.Our breakfasts were excellent and served in such a beautiful and relaxing setting.Bayeux is lovely and so interesting.We actually changed our plans so we could spend more time in the town.We feel so grateful that we found this gem!

Room Tip: All three rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

Address: 32 rue de la Juridiction, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir Sainte Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.