We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire
32 rue de la Juridiction, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All you could ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid September 2012, in the Miro room. It is a charming room, beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, nice linen, big thick towels in the bathroom and nice toiletries provided. Jean Pierre is an excellent host, and provided a wonderful home made fruit dish each morning, served with juice, tea or coffee and croissants, jams etc. all beautifully laid in the house dining room. We felt very spoilt. It's only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral, which is beautiful, and the Square where we were to meet up for our D Day tour. The Bayeux Tapestry is also within a few minutes walk. Bayeux is a nice town, with lots of interesting shops and places to eat. We would have loved to have stayed longer, and would certainly stay at Le Manoir Sainte Victoire again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eatonville, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

stayed 3 nites on a Rick Steve's recc. No parking, but owner Jean Pierre helped us find a slot on a nearby narrow alley. circular stone stairway to rooms adds to the effect you're visiting a downtown medieval castle. Walk-in shower, double bathroom sinks, and wi-fi adds to 21st century effect. Breakfast (at the time of your choosing) is usual euro menu, plus a warm tart right out of the oven. Magnifique! Short walk to anything in urban core.

Room Tip: upper rooms further above street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The 13th century tower of three bedrooms is impressive. Each room named after an artist, whose paintings are displayed. Our Miro room was pretty with its furniture, bedding, toile drapery and bed spread; very comfortable bed/pillows; two windows for light with views of neighboring yards. Bathroom very nice with little window, two sinks, large walk-in shower, plush towels. Kitchenette perfect. Little cake snack on arrival, TV. 17th century breakfast room is so lovely. Wonderful, filling, continental bkfst includes something homemade daily, and at least 15 jams/jellies, all accompanied by beautiful music selections (especially Les Voix de Daia), making you want to stay in that room all day long. The owners, Jean-Pierre, Catherine and daughter Victoire were welcoming, gracious and friendly. Stay here and treat yourself; you will not be disappointed and will plan to return.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family (4 adults, 2 teens) loved our 2-night stay in this B&B. The rooms
were large, spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated. The owners were so
friendly and helpful both while we were exchanging emails setting up our
reservation and during our stay. The breakfast was delicious with a large
selection of breads, fruit preserves, fruit pastry, fresh fruit, fresh orange
juice, and a variety of teas--no reason for anyone to go hungry here. Each of
the rooms had a refrigerator and microwave with the largest room having a small
kitchen outfitted with pots and pans so that we ate dinner in both nights. We
would highly recommend Le Manoir Sainte Victoire to anyone staying in the Bayeux/Normandy
area. An extra bonus: our tour guide for the Normandy D-Day beaches picked us
up at the B&B.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were fabulous, but the Chambre Cocteau was on the first floor and contained the sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

For us this is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Making a booking was easy and no deposit was needed. We arrived and there was no double booking and we were given the room we were promised - the Cocteau Room. Our welcome was warm and when we were shown to our room, it was even better than in the pictures on their website.
Firstly, what the pictures don’t show you is the cleanliness and attention to detail in the room. This historic old building used to be a shop, but it was gutted and refurbished to exacting standards. Little things like the ‘cutlery’ handles in the kitchen and the owners use of salvaged authentic materials where possible, all add to the charm and elegance of the room.
The creature comforts are all there from a great bed, to a ‘rain fall’ shower and a fully fitted kitchen with a fridge and utensils.
Out of our room, you could see the towers of Bayeux Cathedral. The ‘secret’ tower at the top of the sprial stairs provides an even better view.
To top it all, the owners were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a delight of not only the usual fresh croissants and bread, but also a home made surprise treat in the morning.
The Cocteau Room can sleep three comfortably, though one person has to sleep on a folding bed - which was pretty comfortable. Lastly the location of this B&B means you can walk to local restaurants at night and there was free parking nearby in the Place de Charles de Gaulle.
If we ever go back to Bayeux, then this will be our top choice!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our group of 4 had a wonderful 1 night stay. The 2 rooms we booked were large, clean and beautifully furnished. It is situated within a 5 minute walk of the Tapestry Museum and the center of Bayeux. Our host provided an excellent breakfast including freshly squeezed OJ and a fruit tart which was excellent. It's apparent that our host cares about getting the small details right. I highly recommend Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Manoir Sainte Victoire is a B&B in a 15th and 17th century structure. The 3 available rooms are located in a circular tower adjacent to the main home. It is in the center of Bayeux, within walking distance to the cathedral and the must see museum containing the 1000 year old Bayeux Tapestry. (Aside: the excellent museum audio guide is a must to make sense of what you are seeing in the Tapestry). The owners are Jean-Pierre and Victoire Aitaoudia, a lovely couple whose sole concern is making your stay comfortable.

Our room was spacious, and tastefully furnished. It was clean and odor free. The bed is comfortable. The modern bathroom has a walk in shower, but no tub. There is free WiFi. The breakfasts during our two day stay were delicious. You are offered several different breads and baguettes, a dozen jams to choose from, choice of teas, and a different pastry and fruit daily. We had no trouble finding on street parking near the B&B.

Even if the famous Tapestry were not in Bayeux, the Manoir Sainte Victoire warrants a trip to Bayeux. Our two night stay was too short. Things to note: the 89 Euro rate for two persons is paid in cash; 15th century towers do not have elevators. You must be able to navigate up and down the stone, pie-shaped stairs of the circular staircase that has a rope bannister.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room if you don't want to navigate the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Manoir Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

Address: 32 rue de la Juridiction, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir Sainte Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Manoir Sainte Victoire to your Saves list