We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Lara Hotel
6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We read all the glowing reviews before deciding on The Villa Lara, yet we were still wowed with our stay. "Beautiful modern boutique hotel in an outstanding location" just doesn't do it justice.

Service was outstanding from the well trained concierges, housekeeping, & the entire breakfast staff. Breakfast was plentiful & eggs were made to order. Rooms were large, spotlessly clean, and well-appointed. Free gated parking. Warm & inviting public areas. This is definitely the place to stay in Bayeux.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
250
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were there during the summer and it apparently had recently opened. It was pristine in its cleanliness. The carpeting still smelled as if it had just been installed. The staff was gracious and helpful. The breakfast was delicious , both buffet style and/ or made to order. The ambiance was quiet and low keyed yet elegant. Bayeux is a small charming town,with narrow streets,very, so much so , that even in our rented Citreon we had to squeeze almost on the sidewalk to let oncoming traffic pass. The tapestry depicting the conquest of England by the Normans is a must see. Bayeux was our home base for the Normandy Beach tours which we took on our own. The GPS which came with the rental was invaluable. The restaurants were varied and the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent five nights in this lovely hotel at the end of September, 2012. Our experience was delightful. We were two couples and we all were very satisfied with our rooms, the comfort of the beds and of the bathrooms. Everything was impeccably clean. Villa Lara's concierge staff is very friendly and efficient. They always greeted us by name and exchanged pleasantries no matter how busy they were. They were fluent in English as well.

The hotel is in the center of the old town and within walking distance of restaurants, the cathedral, and the famous tapestry. It is well-located for visiting the World War II sites and some of the chateaux in the area, We enjoyed visiting Honfleur, Deauville and Trouville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Small (28 rooms) friendly luxurious hotel. Anyone looking for a stylish, boutique hotel which combines the latter with old fashioned charm and care should choose this hotel.
An excellent location: in a quiet pedestrian, park area, in the center of town, a few steps from everything. An iron gate closed private parking and …completely free.
Our room had a separate large sitting room, a private bathroom with a marble floor, bathrobes and slippers. Everything was new and meticulously clean. Technologically modern. The pick of the bunch.
A breakfast buffet with fresh pastries, cheese, meat, fruit, fruit juices, coffee or tea was served each morning in the dining room. If you want eggs: no problem. they make them on the spot according to your wishes. The two ladies make you feel as if you are a guest in their home.
If you want a beer, whisky, cognac, calvados, champagne, coffee or…, you can savor it in the empire-style bar before or after dining in the nearby restaurants.
Multilingual friendly, attentive, professional, helpful staff, providing a comfortable atmosphere for the guests. No hassle. As they say in France : pas de chici.
We would definitely stay there again
One last advice for those who want to book. Websites like "Booking.com" write on their website that the hotel is sold out and ask you to change your data. Do not lose your time, because the hotel is closed from 1 December 2012 to 1 March 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful hotel, we had a suite which accomodated 2 adults and 2 children. Beautiful view if the cathedral. Location was perfect for walking to tapestry, dday museum, cathedral, town and dday beach tours. We walked from the train station, easy 10min walk. Service was friendly, very good suggestions for dinner and made reservations for us. We had drinks in the bar, and delicious breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 3rd floor cathedral view room, have a nice balcony and fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just stayed put. We had a rental car and saw all we needed to see daily and returned to this great little hotel and city. It's a new hotel but still has charm? Great local restaurants. You can walk anyplace in town but definitely need a car or tour guide to tour Normandi

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had the greatest time in Bayeux staying at Villa Lara. View of the church from the bed, unbelievable service. Yuri & Morganna are the best! Great fitness room and every recommendation by the staff was great. Warm fire in the fireplace in the library on cold nights. Stay there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.