We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad you can't live there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Lara Hotel
6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too bad you can't live there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had the greatest time in Bayeux staying at Villa Lara. View of the church from the bed, unbelievable service. Yuri & Morganna are the best! Great fitness room and every recommendation by the staff was great. Warm fire in the fireplace in the library on cold nights. Stay there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
289
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

In Bayeux, this is the place to stay. In fact, if you are planning to use a nearby town or city as a base for touring the area, you may want to consider changing the loaction to Bayeux. The rooms are spacious and well decorated, the location is perfect and everyone at the hotel is kind and helpful. Emails are answered quickly. I suggest that you book early for the high season and if you want to go to Mt. St. Michel ask to be placed on the van list when you make your reservation. By the way, there is a fitness center which I did not see. But I can say that breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the cathedral and our request was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fabulous! We stayed at this hotel briefly in September and were overwhelmed by the ambience of the hotel as well as the service, knowledge and courtesy of the staff. The hotel is positioned centrally in Bayeux and has a secure car park. The Bayeux Tapestry Museum is a stone's throw away, the Cathedral is within easy walking distance as are all the shops and restaurants. When we returned recently for four days we were delighted to be able to book in at The Villa Lara. Anyone looking for a stylish boutique hotel which combines the latter with old fashioned charm and care should choose this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful, centrally located, modern hotel. The room #203 was large and had all the amenities anyone could ask for. The breakfast was good, fresh eggs made to order and the coffee strong. It has a small bar and comfortable lounge where you can have a drink and use the free wifi. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again in the future. It is located within walking distance to local shopping and museums and restuarants. The staff spoke English and were very helpful to two non-French speaking Americans.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I don't know if I can say enough good things about this hotel. We had a rental car and made a last minute decision to find a room in Bayeux. I had remembered this hotel from Tripadvisor so we decided to see if they had an available room for the night. They had a junior suite at a very reasonable price (off season). It was lovely. We immediately decided to stay a second night and ultimately decided to stay a third night. The hotel is new so everything is still very clean and fresh. Our room was very large with a sitting room that looked out over the canal and the Cathedral - really beautiful view. The bed was incredibly comfortable. We had fluffy robes and slippers, and free beverages (water and coke) from the mini bar. The bathroom was beautiful with a walk in shower and separate tub and marble finishings. We have stayed in many five star hotels and this hotel compares to them. The staff was wonderful. They made wonderful recommendations for dinner and were very kind and helpful overall. The breakfast was lovely. The location was perfect for exploring Normandy and its sites. The D-Day beaches were close by and Mont St. Michel was an easy day trip. Bayeux is absolutely wonderful. A beautiful, historic little city with a beautiful Cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry as well as a very good D-Day museum. There are also wonderful shops and we had great dining experiences each night. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: Loved the Junior Suite but also visited a king room and it was very nice. I think almost all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I like nice, upscale hotels, and this was by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Europe. We were offered a free upgrade to a junior suite (the hotel was not crowded on the November weekend of our visit). Had I known the suite had such a breathtaking view and sitting room, I'd have reserved it in the first place. From our glass-enclosed sitting room we could see the beautiful cathedral of Bayeux, which is bathed in light at night. The proprietor is friendly and helpful, tending to all our needs. The bar is a cozy place for a drink after sightseeing. Everything seemed quite reasonable as well (although we had just come from Paris, where the prices were sky-high).

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite with a view of the cathedral. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and big rooms. Service is attentive and friendly, breakfast is complete and of decent quality. Place is new and modern. Best In Normandy! A bit pricy. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.