We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise! What a Special Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Lara Hotel
6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Surprise! What a Special Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Villa Lara is a small luxury hotel with all the amenities of a luxury resort! The rooms have everything you need and they are beautiful! Our room had a view of the Cathedral. The staff made us feel welcome and they gave us great tips for dining, all in walking distance. The property is perfectly located near the Tapestry, Cathedral, shopping and dining! What more could you ask for! The Breakfast is well worth it also. We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for Cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
289
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had heard great reviews for the sister hotel of Villa Lara and had tried to book there first. Fortunately they were booked and referred me to Villa Lara. The hotel is new and smartly appointed. We booked a deluxe room with a view of the cathedral. The service was Impeccable. The location was within walking distance of the cathedral, tapestry and a plethora of restaurants. All staff was eager to help, especially Morgana.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The staff at Villa Lara made us feel so welcome! We got great information on where to eat and what to see in the area. This property is beautiful!!! Our room had a great view of the Cathedral and our bed was huge-which does not always happen at hotels in europe.
This Hotel is intimate and one of the best I have ever stayed in!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Delightful hotel. We had a fabulous suite. On site parking and we can walk to many attractions of the area. We were here while the music festival was on which was very festive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This sister Hotel to the Churchill is within walking distance to many of the Historic Sites of Bayeau.
We had a very large suite with fabulous amenities. The staff was most helpful with suggestions for restaurants. We were here on the 21st of June when the town has a musical festival in the streets. A very festive occasion. There is free parking and free wifi. Very well decorated with the traditions of France well represented.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

New hotel associated with the Venerable Churchill. Incredible mix of French style and every modern convenience. Staff is impeccable. Best room I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: We were in room 307, cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, new European Hotel located in the center of town. Fabulous breakfast. Staff aims to please. Do not stay anywhere else!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.