We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with very professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Lara Hotel
6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with very professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were among the very first guests at this luxurious new hotel. We loved it.

Everything is finished to a very high standard down to copious supply of wooden hangers in the wardrobes. We travelled with our daughter and stayed in a suite which had a separate room for her with its own huge TV and we were all delighted. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of town and it has its own carpark. I think parking is on a first come-first served basis. We thought that the breakfast was very nicely done. The breakfast room is fitted like a kitchen and our scrambled eggs were freshly cooked on the range!

The Belgian receptionist spoke such good English that my husband thought she was English, Although the reception was thronged with people at an opening party she very kindly watched for us coming downstairs to enquire whether we needed advice on where to go for dinner!
We are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
127
309
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Bayeux deserves several days between the WWII sites and the charming medieval city with its famous tapestry commemorating the Battle of Hastings in 1066 and its fine Gothic cathedral. Hotel Churchill has always been and will remain a desired place to stay, but now the Héberts have opened another property just next door and this one, is pure luxury and charm. Rima and François Hébert will wrap you up in their charm and special care. Every detail is attended to for their guests--beautiful large rooms with so many modern amenities, including a TV disguised as a mirror. The breakfasts are perfection and include all the Norman touches--apples, confiture made locally, rich yogurt in addition to oeufs sur le plat (yum). The Héberts and their staff are genuine in their care, and they are an ever ready source of information and help. We will miss our time at Villa Lara. We were treated as VIP's each and every day.

Room Tip: My husband and I travelled with our adult children. They matched us with 2 separate rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

If you want something brand-spanking new, this is for you. My wife and I stayed here in late February, 2012, and what a treat it was. Great features included a spacious room which was a nice contrast to the typical smaller rooms of European hotels, luxurious towels and linens, a large marble bathroom with a tub you could really sink into after a day of touring the Normany beaches, and an oversized shower. The location in town was perfect, being next door to the Bayeux Tapestry Museum (not to be missed), and the pick-up point for a tour of the beaches (Victory Tours, led by Roel, excellent) was only yards from the hotel entrance. Other features included an elevator, exquisite design not only of the rooms but the lobby and breakfast room, and a small bar located just off the lobby. We enjoyed our complete breakfast very much. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners Reima and Francois were outstanding. There is no pool, but there is a fitness room. Tom and Francine from Cherry Hill,New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Our stay at the just-opened Villa Lara was terrific. Staff was friendly, helpful and fun. Stayed in the one bedroom suite with king and pull out sofa. Very spacious, comfortable and perfectly located next to the cathedral and Bayeux tapestry. Great breakfast. 10-15 walk to train station. Only regret was that we weren't there long enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Villa Lara, Bayeux’s first and only 4 star hotel, is now fully open and I stayed in it in early March 2012.

I am an Englishman who has visited Normandy several times, both with my family and as part of groups touring the beaches and other D Day sites. I have stayed at two of the top 4 star château hotels in the countryside outside Bayeux (Audrieu, Chenevière and Sully) and have dined at all three. I have also stayed at the Churchill in the centre of Bayeux, until now the leading hotel in the town (with 3 stars) and ranked number one in TripAdvisor.

The Villa Lara is immediately next door to the Churchill, and belongs to and has been designed and opened by the same couple, Rima and François Hébert, who own and have built up the Churchill.

The Villa Lara differs from the other 4 star hotels in the area in two respects. The first difference is that the others are châteaux, standing in their large and impressive grounds in the countryside. The Villa Lara is a town centre hotel right in the middle of the historic mediaeval centre of Bayeux. The second difference is that the Villa Lara only has a breakfast restaurant and does not provide either lunch or dinner. Bayeux, of course, is full of restaurants, all within a few minutes’ walk.

I thought that the Villa Lara was most impressive. The room I had was large, elegant, decorated in a cool contemporary style, and extremely luxurious. It was a far better and more modern room than those I have had in the more old fashioned château hotels. The large flat screen television offered many channels (including both UK and US English language news ones), many movies, and access to the hotel computer for such issues as billing and wake up calls. The bathroom was luxurious. The wifi signal was strong everywhere. The breakfast was excellent and the service friendly and efficient.

The old city centre has no traffic, so the hotel was completely quiet at night. All the rooms have views of the cathedral. Battlefield tours start in the car park at the back of the hotel.

It can be more fun being in the centre of the town and having a large choice of nearby restaurants, so the fact that the Villa Lara does not have its own restaurant for lunch and dinner did not seem a disadvantage.

Altogether, the Villa Lara is highly recommended and I suspect that it will capture much of the higher end of Normandy tourism.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6, Place du Quebec, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a 4 star boutique hotel situated in the heart of the historical center of Bayeux and a few steps away from the famous tapestry. Its 28 rooms, ranging from 30 to 50 square meters, all offer a view of the 11th century cathedral. These rooms have been decorated without pretention but with all the French elegance and comfort of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.