We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Argouges to your Saves list
Hotel d'Argouges
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a great property? From the friendly staff, to the excellent location for exploring the Normandy coast of France. Great breakfast and very convenient location to enjoy the culture, restaurants of Bayeux as well.
Rooms were very comfortable and very clean.
I would return here in a minute. Great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nites in this beautiful old hotel, and have to say that it exceeded our expectations. Right in the centre of the historic town, just steps away from all of the sites. Room was very nice and large, clean and luxurious. We thought the Breakfast was a touch expensive, so every morning we simple strolled the main street and ate in one of the many bistros. The town itself is very historic, and we used it as a main stay for our travel to the Normandy Coast, it is so close to the D-day beaches, and the drives in the countryside were astonishingly beautiful. Service was impeccable, english was spoken with ease, this hotel is one of our new favorites. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Many of the stores and restaurants are closed on Sundays and Mondays (at least in October) so you if that's why you come to Bayeau, think about that on your planning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

you can find here a nice place without any special equipment but in a very nice and quiet place
breakfast is a bit poor (12€ pP)
good located in the middle of the village
only a few steps to the cathedral and to the tapistery
8 miles from Omaha-Beach

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank albertomagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The atmosphere of this Hotel is charming with a feeling entering through the beautiful front courtyard of a large private home in times past. The hotel is in an exceptional location in the center of Bayeux - a close walk to City sites, stores and restaurants and an easy drive to major sites of the Allied Forces Invasion of Normandy. The common areas are classic with beautiful antique furnishings and decoration. The breakfast was wonderful with an early starting service and plenty of coffee or Tea. Our room on the second floor (first European floor) was large, if somewhat dark, with a modern bathroom. Our travel companion's room on the second (top) floor had dormers and a low vaulted ceiling where they had to be careful to not hit their heads if getting out of bed in the dark. While their room had a modern bathtub, the hand-held shower attachment had no shower enclosure. The staff was courteous and professional with helpful recommendations on the area. For those who wish to relax over breakfast or after a day of touring the region there is a lovely garden in the back to enjoy.

Room Tip: For those who have difficulty negotiating stairs, the hotel has no elevator / lift. Also, to enter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AstuteTraveler33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Every part of the booking was simple - the staff were exceptional and the hotel exactly as described. The location was convenient and the covered parking a plus. The room was quite comfortable. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WmWoods1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very charming hotel set in a wonderfully convenient setting for everything in Bayeux. We received a very warm welcome and the young lady asked to help carry our bags, which we declined. The room (7) was warm and comfortable, perhaps more basic and not as grand as downstairs, but nevertheless was spotlessly clean and so was the very new bathroom which had a wonderful shower! (Plenty of towels and toiletries on offer). Our stay was very comfortable and breakfast was very good with several options on offer. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and spoke very good English (when we struggled!) We would definitely stay there again, the whole holiday through Brittany Ferries was really excellent, and Bayeux was a wonderful town with so much going on. Mont St Michel is breathtaking too, do not miss. Sad to come home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loversofgoodfood047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were happy to be able to park in a covered garage but less happy to carry the bags up the steps to the main entrance. The reason for this is that it was our first holiday with our 10 week old daughter and I had packed far too much! The reception was warm and friendly and immediately recognising my insufficient French vocab, english speaking. Our room was very nice and French and the bathroom looked like it belonged in a different hotel! The fixtures, suite and tiling looked brand new. The bed was comfy and the room was perfect temperature, the curtains blocked light out at night and there was no noise or disturbance at all. Breakfast was typically French with pastries, eggs, coffee and orange juice and of course, gorgeous fresh French baguettes. The hotel's location is perfect for a short walk to the cathedral and the tapestry and the pattisseries on the main road! Pierette was the perfect hostess and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a brand new bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfranchesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing