We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Pretty and Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel d'Argouges to your Saves list
Hotel d'Argouges
21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quiet, Pretty and Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nites in this beautiful old hotel, and have to say that it exceeded our expectations. Right in the centre of the historic town, just steps away from all of the sites. Room was very nice and large, clean and luxurious. We thought the Breakfast was a touch expensive, so every morning we simple strolled the main street and ate in one of the many bistros. The town itself is very historic, and we used it as a main stay for our travel to the Normandy Coast, it is so close to the D-day beaches, and the drives in the countryside were astonishingly beautiful. Service was impeccable, english was spoken with ease, this hotel is one of our new favorites. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Many of the stores and restaurants are closed on Sundays and Mondays (at least in October) so you if that's why you come to Bayeau, think about that on your planning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    171
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
128
218
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

you can find here a nice place without any special equipment but in a very nice and quiet place
breakfast is a bit poor (12€ pP)
good located in the middle of the village
only a few steps to the cathedral and to the tapistery
8 miles from Omaha-Beach

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The atmosphere of this Hotel is charming with a feeling entering through the beautiful front courtyard of a large private home in times past. The hotel is in an exceptional location in the center of Bayeux - a close walk to City sites, stores and restaurants and an easy drive to major sites of the Allied Forces Invasion of Normandy. The common areas are classic with beautiful antique furnishings and decoration. The breakfast was wonderful with an early starting service and plenty of coffee or Tea. Our room on the second floor (first European floor) was large, if somewhat dark, with a modern bathroom. Our travel companion's room on the second (top) floor had dormers and a low vaulted ceiling where they had to be careful to not hit their heads if getting out of bed in the dark. While their room had a modern bathtub, the hand-held shower attachment had no shower enclosure. The staff was courteous and professional with helpful recommendations on the area. For those who wish to relax over breakfast or after a day of touring the region there is a lovely garden in the back to enjoy.

Room Tip: For those who have difficulty negotiating stairs, the hotel has no elevator / lift. Also, to enter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Every part of the booking was simple - the staff were exceptional and the hotel exactly as described. The location was convenient and the covered parking a plus. The room was quite comfortable. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very charming hotel set in a wonderfully convenient setting for everything in Bayeux. We received a very warm welcome and the young lady asked to help carry our bags, which we declined. The room (7) was warm and comfortable, perhaps more basic and not as grand as downstairs, but nevertheless was spotlessly clean and so was the very new bathroom which had a wonderful shower! (Plenty of towels and toiletries on offer). Our stay was very comfortable and breakfast was very good with several options on offer. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and spoke very good English (when we struggled!) We would definitely stay there again, the whole holiday through Brittany Ferries was really excellent, and Bayeux was a wonderful town with so much going on. Mont St Michel is breathtaking too, do not miss. Sad to come home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were happy to be able to park in a covered garage but less happy to carry the bags up the steps to the main entrance. The reason for this is that it was our first holiday with our 10 week old daughter and I had packed far too much! The reception was warm and friendly and immediately recognising my insufficient French vocab, english speaking. Our room was very nice and French and the bathroom looked like it belonged in a different hotel! The fixtures, suite and tiling looked brand new. The bed was comfy and the room was perfect temperature, the curtains blocked light out at night and there was no noise or disturbance at all. Breakfast was typically French with pastries, eggs, coffee and orange juice and of course, gorgeous fresh French baguettes. The hotel's location is perfect for a short walk to the cathedral and the tapestry and the pattisseries on the main road! Pierette was the perfect hostess and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a brand new bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were excited to be able to get reservations at Hotel d'Argouges. When we arrived, we were delighted with the lovely entrance and the exquisite common rooms. After carrying our bags up the steep stairs, we were disappointed to see that our room was quite different from the downstairs sitting room and breakfast room. Our room was tiny and not nicely decorated. The other rooms on our floor looked similar to ours. On the positive side, the bed was quite comfortable, and the bathroom was brand new and beautiful.

This was a "splurge" hotel for us, and we did not feel that we got great value for our money.

Bayeux is a lovely town and well located for visiting D-day beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Argouges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.