We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable, clean, great town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Le Lion d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Adorable, clean, great town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed here for one night, but we could have stayed for more. Very clean and neat hotel that is in the middle of a small and adorable town. The food was good - they are known for their food - and the room was nice.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    157
    62
    23
    11
See reviews for
63
194
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

Our family reserved two rooms in March of 2007. Because we were off-season, we found the prices (through [----]) very reasonable. The location is good; we walked the four or five blocks to the Tapestry and Cathedral. The front desk personnel were friendly and capable.

The hotel has a quirky charm, as you often find in older hotels in Europe. We were quite comfortable and satisfied. There was a nice small lounge and bar. My only complaints were 1) that the shower head in one bathroom was at about 5 feet, which made it awkward; and 2) the lighting was inadequate in the hallways. Those with large vehicles should know they may not fit in the tight parking lot. Parking is €5 extra per night.

There are many shops and restaurants on the rue Saint Jean. (We found that little is open on Sunday or early on Monday morning.) We did not eat in the hotel, but if you have three hours for a leisurely dinner, the prix fixe at La Rapiere, two minutes away on rue Saint Jean, was superb and a good value..

I don't know how good a base the Le Lion d'Or would be for a family with small children, but for adults and teenagers, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Older hotel with character, well presented and maintained
  • Disliked — Lighting in the hallways was inadequate.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

We stayed for three nights at the Lion d'Or in February for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was a treat and the photos in the lounge showed a variety of famous people who have stayed there over the years.

We had a small suite on the second floor - no lift, but one of the very friendly staff helped with our bags. The sofa was comfortable and the bedroom was to die for. Large bathroom, with robes and separate toilet - all spotlessly clean. TV and mini bar were also in the room. We overlooked the courtyard, but as this is an old coaching inn this added to the atmosphere and there were views of Bayeux Cathedral in the distance.

Where the Lion d'Or really comes into its own, however, is the food. We ate in the hotel and thought the prices were reasonable for the standard of food we enjoyed - I would never have thought that prawns,
pistachio and caramel went together - but, boy, they did!

This hotel is a wonderful centre for exploring Bayeux and the D-Day beaches, but I would recommend it just for a relaxing weekend with incomparable service.

  • Liked — The food & service
  • Disliked — It was perfect!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

We stayed here in June of 2004. I would say the room was the most expensive we stayed in on our trip to Europe that summer but it included breakfest and dinner. Our room was comtable and clean. Very convient to visit the Normandy beaches we used Battlebus tours which I would highly recommend! This is a very quiant hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. We had a room that overlooked the parking lot but was very quiet. I would stay here again when I plan on returning to Normandy

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,south carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Stayed two nights in Bayeux at the Le Lion d'Or Hotel. Spacious room and hotel staff courteous and very helpful. Our reservation included breakfast and dinner. Our dinners were two of the best we had in France. Also, Bayeux is a charming place to visit. We were there for an Invasion Tour, but enjoyed the town as well. ( October 06)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed at this hotel while touring the Normandy area with a private tour guide. He made the recommendation as "the ONLY place to stay." Other than being a bit expensive, we were not dissapointed. The hotel was beautifully decorated, each room with a unique french wallpaper and decor. We stayed in room 30, it was clean and larger than expected.

There are plenty of restaraunts around town, though few speak english.

Breakfast was great. The dining room was large and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly. All in all, we were not dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

My wife and I + our 5 yr old Stayed three nights in July 2006 at a cost combined cost of £276 inc breakfast. (Room25).
Place was okay but got the impression that it was close to needing redecorating. The decor in our room was grubby but not unclean and the atmosphere a bit damp.

Place was quiet and the buffet breakfast (12E pp) was adequate.

Didn't stay anwhere else in the Bayeux area so can't really compare other establishments. This maybe the best place.

Parking is limited at the location and is charged at 5E a night - which I felt was nothing more than a litte moneyspinner for the staff- particualrly when nearby street parking is free.
Staff were obliging enough. Bit of a late check-in time 1530hrs.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Address: 71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.