We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small Inn close to D-Day sites and Bayeux tapestry and Cathedral” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Le Lion d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Charming small Inn close to D-Day sites and Bayeux tapestry and Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We decided to make Bayeux our home base while touring Normandy for a few days. The choice was easy in that Bayeux is a charming medieval village which was not damaged to heavily by D-Day. It is in close proximity to all of the D-Day sites and is quite a special place with the Bayeux tapestry and cathedral. With that being said there are a few hotels in Bayeux that should be considered. We choose the Lion d' Or and were very happy with our choice. Nonetheless they are also other nice hotels that are equally as charming close by as well.

The Lion d' Or is a small traditional village Inn. When we checked in, it was interesting that they did not have an elevator and I had to carry our heavy bags three flights to our room. But in a place like this that is part of the charm. The lounge area was interesting with all of the famous people who have stayed there from President Eisenhower and general Omar Bradley to Tom Hanks, Spencer Tracy, John Wayne, and many others. The restaurant was very nice and the staff was helpful throughout our stay. It is difficult to describe the place without overusing the word "charming" in that it is exactly that. The rooms were spacious and nice but far from luxurious. The location was perfect in that it is very close to the city center and everything is in easy walking distance. The rooms were very quiet. After a week in Paris, we joked they were almost too quiet. The place seemed booked to capacity but you never felt the place was too busy.

The Lion d' Or is a wonderful place and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    157
    62
    23
    11
See reviews for
63
194
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Unloved and uncared for were our overriding first impressions (uneven inner courtyard cobble stones, bizarre mix of flower boxes (containing artifical flowers!), half strangled palm trees (the only living beings in the courtyard), strange mix of decoration styles and furniture inside the building -that we actually wondered if the VIP's whose pictures feature on the wall in the deserted and unused bar had actually shared the same impressions as ourselves. Maybe it's no coincidence that the last VIP to be immortalized on the walls dates from 2004.....
Having said this, the room was comfortable and the restaurant OK (although both were hardly 'surprise and delight') while the ugliness of the hotel itself and surroundings provided a real incentive to keep on the move in the Basse Normandie.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Pro's: Great location. Wonderful and helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable and roomy enough. Need a place to feel like you're away from it all? This is it.

Con's: The claim is that this is Eisenhower's favorite hotel, but hasn't been re-decorated since he was in office. The rooms are actually quaint. Its an old place, which means that often a person can hear noises from around the hotel, like voices, footsteps, doors closing, & plumbing from other rooms. In the bathroom, the hand-held shower had no hook from which to hang the shower head. How is that supposed to work? The "king" size bed was 2 twins pushed together. Typical.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Tucked away, perfect location for exploring town itself, and D-day Invasion beache sites.- Great breakfast in the morning. Really nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Pleasant hotel, friendly staff. Received upgrade to small suite in satellite building due to some kind of news crew takeover of rooms in main building. Quaint, ivy-covered, downtown location. We were supposed to eat in the hotel dining room but since it was fully booked again due to news crew we were sent to the most lovely Le Rapiere as alternate as we had booked room with inclusive meal. This was probably the best meal we had during our entire 21 day trip throughout Europe. Wonderful food and service. Unfortunately our stay in Bayeux was very short, would like to return again with a different companion.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Very good location within walking distance of the wonderful Tapestry, the fabulous cathedral, the many shops and restaurants and an absorbing D-Day museum. Attractive site around a courtyard with reserved parking spaces. The staff are warm, thoughtful and efficient. We had a large, delightful room for our three-night stay. The breakfast (cereals, fruit, croissants, pastries, crusty bread, cheese, ham, eggs, jam, tea, coffee, chocolate) was generous and we did not need to have lunch. Dinner looks expensive; we did not try the menu because of an inability to offer vegetarian dishes. The hotel and room are decorated with good taste, apart from a worn stair carpet. We left full of praise for the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Wonderful central location to visit Normandy from St Malo, Mont St Michel, Cherbourg, D-Day beaches cemetaries museums, to Caen, Honfleur and Rouen. Hotel is old style 30's/40's, historic and in great condition. The bar is filled with pics of celebrities that have stayed there. You dont need reserved parking in low season (8 euros/day). We drove the entire time as we are familiar with European rules and driving habits. I dont advise it for the first timers. Food was ordinary for the cost. Local restaurants are better. Breakfast is 13 euros. Down the street you pay half. We booked this place because they offered a good online deal thru TA.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Address: 71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.