We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Le Lion d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed at this hotel while touring the Normandy area with a private tour guide. He made the recommendation as "the ONLY place to stay." Other than being a bit expensive, we were not dissapointed. The hotel was beautifully decorated, each room with a unique french wallpaper and decor. We stayed in room 30, it was clean and larger than expected.

There are plenty of restaraunts around town, though few speak english.

Breakfast was great. The dining room was large and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly. All in all, we were not dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    157
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
63
195
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

My wife and I + our 5 yr old Stayed three nights in July 2006 at a cost combined cost of £276 inc breakfast. (Room25).
Place was okay but got the impression that it was close to needing redecorating. The decor in our room was grubby but not unclean and the atmosphere a bit damp.

Place was quiet and the buffet breakfast (12E pp) was adequate.

Didn't stay anwhere else in the Bayeux area so can't really compare other establishments. This maybe the best place.

Parking is limited at the location and is charged at 5E a night - which I felt was nothing more than a litte moneyspinner for the staff- particualrly when nearby street parking is free.
Staff were obliging enough. Bit of a late check-in time 1530hrs.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed for two non-consecutive nights in July (two rooms). We thought this was a really charming hotel, and thought the standard was much higher than would usually be expected for a three-star rating.
The room decor was different in each room - Both were lovely.
The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and adequately sized, with everything in an excellent state.
The restaurant has beautiful decor, excellent service, and we were very satisfied with the food on the standard "market menu". We thought the breakfast buffet was very good too.
Two things that didn't bother us, but may be a concern for some travellers, were the absence of a lift and the absence of air-conditioning in the rooms (the windows opened wide, and a fan was provided, and we found this adequate). There is car-parking at the front of the hotel, but it may be a bit difficult to get in & out when the car-park is full.
Finally, the hotel is in a great location - very close to town centre pedestrianised area, shops and cafes, and the tapestry and cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

Based on a guidebook recommendation, we made a reservation at Lion d'Or for a couple of days in late June, 2006. After making the reservation, I became concerned when I saw a poor review from March. Granted, each person's experience can be different/unique, but I did want to note that our experience was great. Friendly and helpful service, EXCELLENT food, clean and comfortable room (we had a "superior" double). Good location--can walk to/from train station, the Bayeux Tapestry museum, the Cathedral, and several other nice restaurants/shops (my husband also really enjoyed the "Battlebus" tour, and I enjoyed renting a bicycle and cycling to Arromanches and other villages in the area). So, while I'm not doubting that there may be an occasional failure, what we saw of Lion d'Or lived up to its good reputation. Bon Voyage. . .

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

We arrived on our jet lag day and were totally exhausted and out of it. As soon as we walked into our room (we had the only suite) the fatigue vanished and we were so taken in by the beauty of the bedroom. You enter in the living room (rather small but nice) and then enter the bedroom with it's beamed ceiling and french windows. We loved it. Also I agree with the previous post - the bed was fantastic. I was so exhausted and felt like my body was molded and absorbed by the bed. It was really great. The location was wonderful, the hotel staff was wonderful and there is a great Tunisian restaurant next door with a 3 legged cat named Caroline and the proprietor Geraldine who made us feel so welcome. In conclusion I strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

Hi we are just back from an Easter trip and stayed in the Lion d'Or for two nights. It was a lovely hotel, the lounge was perfect with leather settees and a roaring fire. The room was small but had a large bed which was VERY comfortable. We ate in the hotel one night using the 26Euro menu and it was good but not remarkable. Perhaps the more expensive menu would have shown off the chef's talents better. Breakfast was 'serve yourself' and again we found it good but unremarkable.. for the price I think it would have been better to eat out of the hotel. There were many places to eat on the main street. Overall the hotel was wonderfully quiet and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

We travel to Europe frequently and have stayed in at least 50 different hotels in several different countries. We picked this hotel because of good guidebook reviews and because we wanted to stay in town. Good things: Location near the town center, parking, pleasant staff. Bad things: The hotel is a little run-down and even a little grubby. The "deluxe" room overlooking the parking area would have been average, but needed some upkeep (carpets, paint, etc.)and a good cleaning. Breakfast was self-service (even coffee) and far below minimum French standards. Even the bakery products looked and tasted like they came prepackaged from a supermarket. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Address: 71 rue Saint-Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.