We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel du Luxembourg

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Rue Des Bouchers, FR-14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a road trip in Normandy. Location is great, right in the centre of Bayeux, walking distance to Tapestry, bars, cathedral and restaurants. Parking is 9 euros per night. The main reception is quite nice but the rest of the decor in the hotel is quite outdated. It is clean, however and reasonably maintained. Our room was HUGE but had a bit of a weird layout, and as before the decor was a bit outdated. It was fine for the night though and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bayeux was a really good base for exploring the landing beaches and other WW2 landmarks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    32
    23
    44
See reviews for
15
83
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vanocouver,BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has a great location and is clean and quiet. Staff are helpful and pleasant
Parking on site is available for €9 per night.
We were able to find several great restaurants within walking distance.
The beds are very uncomfortable and need to be replaced.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a break in Normandy and stayed at this hotel.Cant understand the poor reviews.the hotel is in a charming 18th century building and the decor has been tastefully done to keep that feel.rooms clean,staff friendly,fantastic location set in the beautiful town of Bayeux.would definitely stay in this hotel again and fell in love with Bayeux and the beautiful Normandy!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brabant belgique
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms are OK but the restaurant is the pits, same old tired menu indifferently cooked and served. the wine list had only overpriced half bottles, and after arguing we got a jug of, I suppose bag in a box wine. staff are surly, no smiles and little interest in their clients. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC. Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a room over in their "annex" which was poorly lit at night and actually kind of scary to get to. It was up a really steep flight of stairs and we had really heavy suitcases as we had been on a cruise. The carpet was decent, but the wallpaper was peeling on 2 of the walls and was newer on 2 walls in a different pattern. We had 2 twin beds with bedspreads that were about 20 years old and one had a small bloodstain on it. The front desk at times tried to be helpful, but not all of them spoke English so that was a little challenging. The wi-fi worked only in the lobby---not the rooms as they promised. We paid around $180 a night including all taxes and breakfast---but I think we would have been better off at the Churchill or another truly 3 star hotel. Bayeux itself, however is beyond wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

On a once-in-a-lifetime (for us) trip to Normandy, where my father landed as a US Army soldier on D-Day, we stayed at the Grand Hotel du Luxembourg. We had chunneled by train from London and then driven 4.5 hours from Caliais, to find a spartan room over the street with no a/c and incredibly loud all through the night. The bar area was quite fine, the restaurant dingy and priced high. We ate elsewhere both nights we were there. The staff were mostly helpful, most of the time. The beaches and American Cemetery were so worth this however. We drove to the British landing area first, the spent several hours at the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach. Very moving and emotional. The area is spectacularly beautiful and imagining the horrors of 1944 was really quite difficult to say the least.
We had breakfast one morning and it was not good at all. The courtyard garden was pretty, although we didn't have time to sit and enjoy it. A room on the interior would have been much better I'm sure, but the constant street noise made it impossible to sleep through the night. We booked this through a travel agency, and will let them know the downfalls of this place. At least there was a lift...

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked through Booking.com as an air conditioned suite, the reality was a dark dingy non airconditioned room akin to a Paris brothel with dark Blue decor and gold fittings surrounded by smoked glass mirrors. The lack of aircon meant sleeping with open windows, consequently we were awoken at 5am by traffic noise. The bathroom was even worse with a peach coloured suite, once again gold fittings and smoked glass. The whole decor was very 1980's but the price charged was most certainly up to date, a total of 168 euros for B&B and parking, this for a very second rate 3 star establishment. Items that did not work included TV, phone, radio, spa bath, and the shower riser fell to pieces when touched. There were no toiletries in the bathroom just dispensers of indeterminate liquid of unknown pedigree, no tea or coffee facilities and no fridge for cold drinks. Feeling that a cold beer was in order at this stage , I went down to the bar, situated opposite reception, but, despite sitting there for some time, and prompting the receptionist, I eventually gave up. Faced with the ongoing disaster, my wife and I decided not to chance the restaurant and eat out. On leaving, I reported all the items not working to reception, nothing had been done on our return. My complaints upon departure and a demand for a reduction in the bill were Gallically ignored, it was our impression that the staff had heard it all before, and really did not give a damn.

Room Tip: Take a camper van!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Luxembourg

Address: 25 Rue Des Bouchers, FR-14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Luxembourg 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bayeux
Bayeux Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.