We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a grim hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Rue Des Bouchers, FR-14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
brabant belgique
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“this is a grim hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms are OK but the restaurant is the pits, same old tired menu indifferently cooked and served. the wine list had only overpriced half bottles, and after arguing we got a jug of, I suppose bag in a box wine. staff are surly, no smiles and little interest in their clients. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    45
    33
    54
See reviews for
20
106
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SLC. Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a room over in their "annex" which was poorly lit at night and actually kind of scary to get to. It was up a really steep flight of stairs and we had really heavy suitcases as we had been on a cruise. The carpet was decent, but the wallpaper was peeling on 2 of the walls and was newer on 2 walls in a different pattern. We had 2 twin beds with bedspreads that were about 20 years old and one had a small bloodstain on it. The front desk at times tried to be helpful, but not all of them spoke English so that was a little challenging. The wi-fi worked only in the lobby---not the rooms as they promised. We paid around $180 a night including all taxes and breakfast---but I think we would have been better off at the Churchill or another truly 3 star hotel. Bayeux itself, however is beyond wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

On a once-in-a-lifetime (for us) trip to Normandy, where my father landed as a US Army soldier on D-Day, we stayed at the Grand Hotel du Luxembourg. We had chunneled by train from London and then driven 4.5 hours from Caliais, to find a spartan room over the street with no a/c and incredibly loud all through the night. The bar area was quite fine, the restaurant dingy and priced high. We ate elsewhere both nights we were there. The staff were mostly helpful, most of the time. The beaches and American Cemetery were so worth this however. We drove to the British landing area first, the spent several hours at the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach. Very moving and emotional. The area is spectacularly beautiful and imagining the horrors of 1944 was really quite difficult to say the least.
We had breakfast one morning and it was not good at all. The courtyard garden was pretty, although we didn't have time to sit and enjoy it. A room on the interior would have been much better I'm sure, but the constant street noise made it impossible to sleep through the night. We booked this through a travel agency, and will let them know the downfalls of this place. At least there was a lift...

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked through Booking.com as an air conditioned suite, the reality was a dark dingy non airconditioned room akin to a Paris brothel with dark Blue decor and gold fittings surrounded by smoked glass mirrors. The lack of aircon meant sleeping with open windows, consequently we were awoken at 5am by traffic noise. The bathroom was even worse with a peach coloured suite, once again gold fittings and smoked glass. The whole decor was very 1980's but the price charged was most certainly up to date, a total of 168 euros for B&B and parking, this for a very second rate 3 star establishment. Items that did not work included TV, phone, radio, spa bath, and the shower riser fell to pieces when touched. There were no toiletries in the bathroom just dispensers of indeterminate liquid of unknown pedigree, no tea or coffee facilities and no fridge for cold drinks. Feeling that a cold beer was in order at this stage , I went down to the bar, situated opposite reception, but, despite sitting there for some time, and prompting the receptionist, I eventually gave up. Faced with the ongoing disaster, my wife and I decided not to chance the restaurant and eat out. On leaving, I reported all the items not working to reception, nothing had been done on our return. My complaints upon departure and a demand for a reduction in the bill were Gallically ignored, it was our impression that the staff had heard it all before, and really did not give a damn.

Room Tip: Take a camper van!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great location for walking around Bayeaux and driving Normandy region. However, this hotel is as described by other travelers, dated and in need of attention. The shower rose position doesn't allow you to stand under it.
We booked with bookings.com and the hotel was supposed to have air conditioning and it does not.
It is in a quiet location but the beds need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Sterling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we checked in, the clerk at the front desk stated we had not paid yet. I had a computer print out of our paid receipt and gave it to her. Had I not had this, I'm sure we would have been charged again. Save your receipts!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

After a little confusion since reception was not in same hotel as we had booked our rooms, since they combine two hotels together, believe in order to cut the staff short and worst in the restaurant area, way short off staff, but have to give some credit to the cook since we had a great dinner and food was great even that we had to wait for a while for the service. Later in evening we ask for some local info for visiting the landing beaches and the Bayeux from the night receptionist, He is Normandy & d-day encyclopedia, we just followed his step to step guided tour and info. How ever the rooms were cold, dusty and badly need a new decoration, looks like they have been neglecting on investing in this hotel for a while.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#7 of 22 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#2 of 22 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Luxembourg

Address: 25 Rue Des Bouchers, FR-14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bayeux
Bayeux Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.