We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel on the way to visit Normandy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bayeux to your Saves list
Novotel Bayeux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel on the way to visit Normandy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We (3 of us ) stayed there 2 nights.
Very friendly staff at reception.
Nice rooms(size,cleanliness)
Breakfast little higher then expected, but the buffet more then enough,lot of choise.
Didn't have dinner at the restaurant,but the menu was diversified.
Would stay there again for a visit to Bayeux and the D Day beaches and historic sides.
Must see the tapistry of Bayeux.
Driving distances are short and the town can be done on food.

Room Tip: All rooms are standard quality Novotel rooms, so you know it's going to be good. It's good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    182
    79
    14
    2
See reviews for
116
105
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored the area, which mainly involved visiting WW II sites, although we did spend a little time in Bayeux itself. It's a bit of a walk into the town of Bayeux, but certainly manageable. The biggest plusses to the hotel were that it was a good base for seeing the WW II sites, it had free parking and it had free wifi in the rooms and lobby. The downside is that breakfast was not included and was rather expensive - 15 Euro per person for what I considered a somewhat limited selection compared to some other breakfasts I've seen in European hotels. The room was fine. We had a double bed as well as a pull-out couch. We both like the room to be very cold for sleeping and surprisingly the air conditioner in this room was working and we could make it as cold as we liked (we don't often find this in Europe). The toilet was in a separate little room from the shower. The receptionist when we checked in was very helpful and gave us maps and information about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for one night en route to Caen. As this was our second visit to this hotel we knew what to expect. This hotel is very convenient as far as location is concerned and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The on site restaurant is very good as is the breakfast. I would not hesitate to book again. The outdoor pool is an added attraction.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had one room for a family of four (children aged 11 and 13) which was OK although their sofa bed was only just big enough. The room and bathroom was bright, clean, inviting and well lit and the bed was comfortable. The heating/air conditioning unit worked well and was quiet, and for once in a hotel, the window actually opened fully (hurrah!) The drinks cooler in the room wasn't effective so the anticipated chilled drinks didn't work out and the cheese that we'd bought got a bit too whiffy.

We stayed two nights and had breakfast each morning. The first day was much better than the second when they ran out of most things that we wanted but the friendly and helpful staff then went and fetched it - basically these people and the food were very good but the restaurant was under-staffed.

We also had dinner one night. We all thought the food was OK but it was very expensive (120 euro for four) and when we walked into town the following evening the food was much better value.

The (outdoor) pool was boderline refreshing/cold and there are no changing facilities for this with access via the restaurant.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters much, they all seem to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Novotel Hotel in Bayeux, France on several occasions. The hotel is a chain hotel in a town with a lot of smaller, family-owned places to stay. It is very clean and the staff is friendly. Most of the employees speak English so communicating with them is easy. The food was reliably good. If you are visiting Normandy for the purpose of seeing the D-Day sites, Bayeux is a nice place to stay. There are many restaurants and stores with regional food and beverages. It is a safe town to wander. Also, don't miss the Bayeux Tapestry, completed in the 11th century and depicting the invasion of England by William the Conquerer.

Room Tip: The hotel sits on a roundabout so there might be a little noise in rooms near to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were looking for good quality accommodation, with free ample off-road car parking (which is quite difficult in Bayeux) and free Wifi. The Novotel at Bayeux ticked all these boxes. We booked via the website and got our room for £89 per night (and £99 on Sunday night).

When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, who processed our paperwork very efficiently. We spoke to her in French, although she did offer to speak English, as we are learning French, we asked if it was acceptable to persevere with our French and she was more than happy to do so. All the reception staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly.

Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the front of the hotel and car park. We had a large double bed and a sofa bed, television, desk, drinks fridge, kettle and some supplies of tea, coffee, milk and sugar. The room was clean, bright and airy (and there was also air conditioning - useful, as opening the window meant traffic noise from the nearby roundabout and it was warm whilst we were there). The bathroom and toilet were separate. The bathroom comprised a bath with power shower and sink and had a good supply of towels and toiletries. The toilet was a little disappointing in that the pan was stained and required a "good scrub", but that would be my only real gripe.

We did not eat in the hotel, as we felt that the breakfast, at 15 euros per head (or the alternative cheaper version at 8 euros per head which was also offered to us) was rather expensive and we found plenty of cafes and bolangeries with a short walking distance of the hotel, where we were able to get two coffees and two croissants/pain au chocolats for about 4 euros. We did not take evening meals in the hotel either, as we felt these were rather expensive and there is a large selection of good, reasonably priced restaurants within a short walk of the hotel (we tried L'Achimie (fantastic!), La Fringale and La Rapiere).

The centre of Bayeux is about a twenty minutes' walk from the hotel and we felt safe walking back, even at 10.30pm at night (after going to see the Cathedral which is lit up with coloured lights on certain evenings - well worth a look!). There is also a large supermarket within a two minutes' drive or five minutes' walk of the hotel.

We felt this hotel was a good base for touring the area: the D-Day beaches and of course, Bayeux itself and we certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night on way down from Cherbourg. The staff were absolutely lovely. Hotel looks rather grim and office-blocky outside but the inside made up for it.

The room was comfortable if a bit predictable - I think we had one of the refurbished ones. Free wifi too ! Bathroom was updated nicely, would be better with either grab handles on the wall or some form of bathmat since the shower is in the bath and I could see less agile people having issues with that though.

Dinner was absolutely divine. I was expecting very little from a hotel restaurant but had one of the best meals of this holiday there. Charming serving team too who were ok with our rusty French. The dessert taster plate was heaven !
Breakfast the following morning was only ok , we chose it for convenience sake but with more time would have got a more cost effective option in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Address: 117 Rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include car park, swimming pool and landscaped garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bayeux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.