We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but don't expect the Ritz !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Save Saved
You added Novotel Bayeux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Value but don't expect the Ritz !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have now stayed in this hotel several times and although it is not a culturally French hotel, it has the advantage of a large secure car park and the rooms are a decent size and cleanliness is up to scratch. I ate the breakfast but would not pay 11 euros for it if its not included in the price and the night I ate in the restaurant, they needed to change the chip oil !! But use it as a base to sleep in and eat elsewhere.....its great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    170
    74
    14
    2
See reviews for
113
100
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for three days and it was just fine. The rooms were large enough, and clean. I didn't have a sore back. YEA!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago, and the hotel is pretty nice. Free parking is great and the walk into town is easy with a newer grocery store just a few blocks down. The rooms are nice and the staffis friendly. The bar isnt much but the free internet is nice. The one meal I had at the hotel was not very good and I would not recommend eating there, especially with all the great places to eat in Bayeux. The area is great and a car is a must the hotel is convienent to the whole area so I would say that it is a worhtwhile place to stay. La Fringale is a must place to eat in Bayeux .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I have always wanted to see the landing beaches, and the Novotel in Bayeux certainly served as a base. The hotel is a little tired but is very adequate. The room (superior) was OK, and was clean. Staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little out of town and you definitely need a car. Bayeux is beautiful. Really the hotel was all we wanted and needed, and it does measure up to its 3 star rating, but not more. Then we were only paying 3 star prices and cannot expect more!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a whirlwind tour of Normandy and the D-Day beaches. Because of its location, I made it my "base of operations" and was easily able to explore surrounding towns like Arromanches, Caen, Carentan and Sainte-Mère-Église, among others. The hotel is lovely - bright, open, and airy, with rooms that are clean, comfortable, spacious and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all spoke flawless English (although they happily indulged me when I insisted on speaking in French!). The hotel is located just a short walk from a very moving British World War II cemetery, and a 15- to 20-minute walk leads you to the Musee Memorial de la Bataille de Normandie (Museum of the Battle of Normandy), which gives visitors an in-depth overview of the D-Day invasion, from both the Allied and the German perspectives. Of course, you don't want to miss the world-famous Bayeux tapestry at the cathedral, an experience that will leave you in awe, not only of the history portrayed on the 230-ft (70m) piece of cloth, but of the skillful stitching done by the women who created it. There are also numerous wonderful restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, including Moulin de la Galette, where I ate one of the most delicious savory crepes I've ever had (and I live in Paris!), and L'Assiette Normande. My time in Bayeux was so enjoyable that my husband and I have already booked a room at the Novotel Bayeux for our return trip in August. I can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the old town and easy access to the beaches. The room was spacious, clean, modern, and comfortable. No complaints at all.

Tip: there is a great restaurant, reasonably priced called L'Assiette Normande. It is located in the old town across from the church. They serve excellent meals made with fresh local produce. Loved the foie gras infused with fig. Highly recommended. Oh and don't forget to try Normandy Apple cider while you are in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Address: 117 Rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include car park, swimming pool and landscaped garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bayeux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;