We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will see places on no tourist maps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D Day Landing Tours

D Day Landing Tours
1 rue Georges Clemenceau, 61700 Bayeux, France
+33 6 43 82 07 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Activities in Bayeux
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Follow in the footsteps and visit the Battlefields made famous in The Longest Day, Band of Brothers & Saving Private Ryan with native English speaking guides. Whether you are interested in the American, British or Canadian Sectors we are able to offer a private in depth, detailed historical tour with a fixed or tailor made itinerary to suit your needs. We specialise in detailed tours, but can offer sightseeing tours as well, with pick up from Normandy and Brittany.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You will see places on no tourist maps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Eric did an incredible job on our full day tour. We specifically asked for a Canadian tour and boy did he deliver. Eric is a savant with WWII history; he remembers even the minor details of what happened and the horror of it all.
We saw the Juno Beach and much of what happened on the sands but what really impressed us is the history of what transpired inland where the paratroopers landed. Eric took us to sights where the Canadians and Germans fought over bridges, towns and villages. Places that have no plaques but are as significant to what happened that day as any other battle. His description allowed us to see the terror and the bravery of it all.
Well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mike & Yvonne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Eric Le Doux-Turnbull is a great guide who provided us with a truly fantastic tour of the American sector of the D-Day landings. It was very special to me to walk on Utah Beach where my father landed so long ago as the First Sergeant of Company A, 87th Chemical Mortar Battalion. The historical information Eric provided about what went on that morning at Utah truly added to the experience. His expert knowledge of the landings including Omaha Beach was detailed and nothing short of amazing. Eric's humor and professionalism was very much appreciated. If we should return to Normandy again, I would love to have him conduct the tour again for us. For those interested in learning about the landings and having a memorable experience, I highly recommend Eric Le Doux-Turnbull.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour of the British and Canadian Sectors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I booked a full day with Eric and we focused on the British and Canadian sectors (the day before we did the American sector). Eric was not only a great guide with a wonderful sense of humor, he is truly an expert on D-Day. His booking procedure is very professional, he was on time, we traveled in comfort, and he just personalized the whole experience. We could not have been more pleased. Highly recommend Eric Le Doux-Turnbull.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paris-trip.com; Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We took a one day tour with this company from Paris. The entire experience was excellet. Our guide, Lionel, was terrific. He picked us up at our hotel at the appointed hour (very early) and thoughtfullly stopped along the way for coffee, a snack and rest break as it is a long drive from Paris to the D Day destinations. We were a group of 8, who did not know each other prior to the trip, and Lionel made everyone feel welcome and ensured that we all shared in the experience. He was quite knowledgeable about the areas we visited and about France during the war. He did a good job mixing a guided tour with some free time to experience the emotional impact on our own. He english was very good and he helped us appreciated the almost unbelievable task faced by the allied forces. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend both the tour and Lionel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent way to understand D-Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family took a full-day tour of the American sector with Eric in August. His historical knowledge is very impressive. We really got a good understanding of the scope of D-Day. Some of the most popular sites were full of people and we knew we made a good decision to take a private tour. Eric was able to steer us to just the right spots and really help us understand what we were seeing. He also strikes a perfect balance between debunking some of the myths of D-Day and showing an appropriate reverence for the magnitude of what happened there.

Eric and his wife also provided excellent customer service. We left a sweater behind in his van and they kindly mailed it back to us in the U.S. We'd like to go back sometime and have Eric show us the British and Canadian sectors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D Day Landing Tours also viewed

 

Been to D Day Landing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D Day Landing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.