We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family/teen tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive D-Day Private Tours

Executive D-Day Private Tours
Place 6 Juin 1944, 14400 Bayeux, France
+33-6-5029-9147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Activities in Bayeux
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bertrand is an independant tour guide who offers private tours on the sites of the Normandy D-Day Landing Areas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent family/teen tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted to find a tour customized for a short trip to Normandy with our two teen boys, 13 and 16. Betrand was fantastic. Easy to communicate with in advance to schedule our tour. He picked us up at our hotel and dropped us after a FULL day at the train station to head back to Paris. The weather could not have been worse...rain, 20 mph winds, temperatures in the low 30's , yet he never deviated and gave us the full experience. He filled every moment in his car, walks between museums with D-Day details about the war. Even using handouts in the car to prep us for what we were about to see. Very easy to understand. His knowledge is extensive. When we asked our boys about the top two things from 10 days in France, it was soccer game and tour with Betrand, hands down. Highly recommend and would book again!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had a full-day tour with Bertrand (we drove our rental car); we had considered one of the popular group tours and were so glad we opted for a private tour with Bertrand. He was an outstanding guide, tailoring the tour to our particular interests, giving us the option of whether to go to the German cemetery, for example. He clearly had an extensive knowledge of World War II and D-Day in particular, and presented the information clearly, with many interesting anecdotes that made the history vivid. He has a wonderful sense of humor, quizzing us good-naturedly from time to time to see whether we had retained the information he had given us earlier. En route we stopped for a take-out lunch at a bakery he recommended and ate our sandwiches at Utah beach. As a bonus, we had a chance to practice our French a bit (when we were chatting, rather than learning about the history). We highly recommend Bertrand!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took a full day tour with Bertrand in July and agree with the others, he is one of the best guides we have ever had. His passion for WWII is infectious, his knowledge extends to the most interesting of details and he communicates both in a very entertaining manner. We have had many knowledgeable guides in our travels and realize that those that stand out did more than educate us, they engaged us. There is a reason he has only excellent reviews, stop dickering about and email him.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann arbir
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bertrand Saudrais, private Normandy guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I went on a five hour tour with Bertrand with our 13 year old granddaughter. Bertrand is extremely knowledgeable, full of stories, details and has done extensive research into the days before and after June 6th. He carefully structured the tour for our interests and made the day truly memorable for all three of us. We have had experiences with many tour guides and Bertrand is one of the very best. A consummate professional, he brings a whole panorama of history into focus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience with Bertrand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We hired Bertrand for a half day D-day tour in July 2013. I could instantly tell that his tour and attention to details were different from the other tour guides. He promptly returns emails and is very professional - he even helped us identify and recommend the best travel arrangements from Paris for our family. Having Bertrand pick us up and deliver us back to the Bayeux station for our train was a huge help to us and took the uncertainty and stress out of making the trip to Normandie for our family. He took the time to explain key details to our 13 year old and made history "come to life" with his passion for the events and vivid storytelling - using maps and war-time images to help illustrate the events. As others were aimlessly walking around these historical sites, we were getting a well-informed European perspective on the events which made it an unforgettable experience for our family. In fact, our 13 year old says it was by far the highlight of our Paris trip (shhh, don't tell Mona Lisa!) Without a doubt, we would recommend Bertrand!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Executive D-Day Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Executive D-Day Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive D-Day Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.