We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Norman Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le P'tit Resto

Le P'tit Resto
2 Rue de Bienvenu, 14400 Bayeux, France
+33 2 31 51 85 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Bayeux
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Norman Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Bayeux is a tourist trap with some dreadful food, but Le P'tit Resto is a treasure. The food is excellent and the service outstanding. The price is higher than most of the other Bayeux restaurants but worth the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    51
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent...great flavors! Unfortunately if you come with a big appetite you will leave hungry. The portions are very small. The service was adequate and the prices were appropriate. I would go back, but I will have a big snack first.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“JUST BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

THE BEST MEAL WE HAD THIS TIME IN FRANCE. Simply stunning cuisine well served and full of delightful suprises. Excellent wine list and just a great evening out. price was also reasonable. thank you all those at the p'tit Resto we had a wonderful evening!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Le P'tit Resto was recommended to us by our B&B, and they did not steer us wrong. We read the other reviews before going, and from some of the more negative ones you might think that the food is bland, uninventive, and the portions to small. We did not find this at all. We ordered the full menu option (entree, plat, fromage, dessert), and we were definitely not hungry at the end of it! I would suggest that, unless you only order one course, you will be satisfied, but I would definitely recommend going for the whole thing because it is all simply delicious!! While the space definitely is "p'tit", there is plenty of room around the tables. We ordered a bottle of a local cider which was quite tasty. On the whole, we couldn't have been happier with our choice - highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lousy service, so so food, nothing great about this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Serves pretentious fancy french cuisine that you can make at home.

Pro: Near the cathedral

Con: Waitress was not friendly. Food was not up to standard. Feels like microwaved meal. Meat was not juicy or tender. We ordered a menu that had a starter + main. At then end of the meal, still felt hungry (portions were not sufficient), so we wanted to change the menu to include starter + main + dessert. This was refused and we had to order a la carte if we wanted dessert. This was absolutely ridiculous. We left without ordering dessert nor leaving a tip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le P'tit Resto also viewed

 

Been to Le P'tit Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le P'tit Resto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.