We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and it has A/C!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premiere Classe Bayeux

Save Saved
You added Premiere Classe Bayeux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Premiere Classe Bayeux
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de la Gambette, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value and it has A/C!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We chose the Premiere Classe Bayeux because of the great price and although you might think "you get what you pay for," we were pleasantly surprised. First and foremost we were thrilled to have A/C in our room. After being in Holland and Germany where they were experiencing unusually high temps and having no a/c in either of the B&B's we'd booked, we were thrilled to finally sleep in comfort. We were also happy to be able to book a room for 3, something that is not always easy to find. While the room for 3 was unusually small compared to the other rooms (think cruise ship sized room), it worked out fine for us (two adults and an 18 year old boy). The hotel is about equidistant from the train station in one direction and the town in the other direction. We walked with backpacks to and from the station with no problem and walked into town every morning.

The lady who works reception in the morning did not speak English at all really, so a phrase book is absolutely necessary. The woman who works reception in the evening had pretty good English, but attempting to speak French is always a good idea. The hotel does close the reception desk between 1:00 and 5:00, so plan accordingly. There is a way to check-in from outside, but if you've pre-paid for the room I'm not sure that works.

There was no phone in our room. I'm not sure if others had one or not. Attempting to use the lobby phone will take you some time--it seemed complicated and unless you speak French the reception desk can't really help you. We used our cell phone instead.

They also had free wi-fi, which my son loved! It worked very well. We also paid for breakfast each day which was a typical French continental breakfast--bread, butter, cereals, milk, tea, coffee, juice, water, jam, yogurt, applesauce. It was nothing special but it was all we needed. It was serve yourself and clean your own table (think IKEA style).

If you want luxury or a romantic setting, this isn't it. But if you just need a place to rest your head at night to prepare for the long days of tours and sightseeing, it's perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    92
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
51
72
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is just what I wanted. A clean, well located and cheap place for a one night stayover. Its not the place I would consider for a long stay and as the title of my review suggests it is a no thrills kind of place but the real bonus is in the value. The quality and the price combines to a cheap and cheerful place to stay in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Ideal for using it as a base! It was a 7 minute walk into the centre of Bayeux and on a summers night the walk was really nice :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

For a single-star hotel, this hotel is great. Of course it is not super luxurious, the bathrooms are tiny and breakfast is serve-yourself buffet without much to choose from, but it feels honest in the sense that they are not trying to be something they're not. This is how a hotel run by IKEA would probably look like :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This was a pretty good place to stay right in the middle of the D-Day Beaches. No frills, but clean and good location. You can easily walk from the hotel to downtown Bayeux - about a 15 minute walk. Breakfast was okay - you'd probably do better to head down to the supermarket about four blocks away. Had some trouble speaking to the staff - I tried in my broken french to communicate effectivley - with some frustration. This was the only instance in Bayeux - or Normandy for the matter - where someone was not willing at all to try to speak English.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed here with my three Kids (20,17,14). it was recommended to us by our D-Day tour guide (Stuart Robertson who was awesome!) as an alternative to a hostel.

The hotel isn't beautiful, but it's clean, the rooms are nice, if a bit spartan (e.g. tiny bathrooms, no carpet). We stayed in a "family" room which had two singles and a double which was plenty of room for us. The room even had a small "desk" where we could set up the laptop and use the free internet. The room was big enough that we didn't feel too cramped which was unlike some other places went stayed at on our trip.

Breakfast isn't that cheap, but it's convenient. If you like bread, you'll like the breakfast here. There are lots of different types and they're good, but it's bread and more bread mostly. There is cereal and yogurt, but that's about it. Coffee and juice too. We didn't check out any other breakfast options (although there is a restaurant across the parking lot that might be a good option. We were in a hurry both mornings and it was just too convenient to ignore despite the cost and lack of food options.

Really the only complaint I have is that the woman checking us in during the evening hours knew no English (apparently) and was somewhat rude on top of that. My daughter had five years of French in school and knows the language at least passably, but she acted like she didn't understand the French either. It's strange that they would have someone that doesn't know any English as all the signs in the hotel are in French and English! The woman working the morning hours was MUCH nicer and spoke decent English so, maybe it's just this one lady.

The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of town, but it's an easy walk to the Cathedral and all the shops/restaurants in the town. But, if you don't like to walk, you may not like the location. For us, it was a nice exercise before and after a meal.

I would definitely stay there again if we were to visit Normandy. Bayeux is a nice little town and it's a reasonably priced option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed here while touring the Normandy coast with my fiance. We were looking for a cheap but clean hotel and definitely found it with this place. The hotel looks new and was very clean. It was very basic and the room was very small, but was all we needed. There was free wireless, which was a bonus. We tried the breakfast, it was very basic as well, toast, cereal, yogurt, tea, coffee, but I have absolutely no complaints. I would definitely stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premiere Classe Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Bayeux

Address: Chemin de la Gambette, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Bayeux 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Premiere Classe Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Bayeux Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premiere Classe Bayeux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.