We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 2 Day Tour - our best time in France!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overlord Day Tours

Overlord Day Tours
9 hameau de l'eglise, 50480 Bayeux, France
+33 7 89 00 28 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 31 Activities in Bayeux
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Normandy,our tour agency invite you to discover the most poignant locations of the 1944 Normandy Landing,including the key landing beaches, war museums, and battlefields. Recommended by Veterans.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding 2 Day Tour - our best time in France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this 2 day tour several months before our visit to the Normandy area. We were picked up at the meeting location promptly each day of our tour and went in a passenger van. We had a long, enjoyable day and returned early in the evening. There were only 4 on tour each day since it was the beginning of the season. The tour was extremely interesting and engaging. We visited so many areas of historical significance during the D-Day invasion as well as two museums. Our guide each day, Dominique, was very knowledgeable and welcomed questions. She was genuinely interested in sharing her in-depth knowledge of the areas we visited. We highly recommend this tour and if you are lucky - you might have Dominique as your guide!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    53
    18
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Can't say enough good about our tour. Our guide Collin was extremely knowledgeable, and entertaining. Great day and value. Collin could not have been more delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What a wonderful two days ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I did a two day tour with Overlord Tours. Despite having reservations about spending so much money (360€) for the tours, upon completion we couldn't have been happier. The first day was with a large group tour of the Omaha and Utah landing beaches, along with the American cemetery and Pont du Hoc. The second day, because of scheduling, we ended up having an unofficial private tour of the Band of Brothers tour as no one else had booked the same tour for that day. Our tour guide for this day was Oliver and he was a pure delight to be with.
I will never regret spending that much money on these two tours, knowing it was probably a once in a lifetime event for my wife and I.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

From the moment of booking, to the start of the tour in Bayeux and throughout an incredible day of history with the British & Canadian Beaches Tour... this company is well deserving of it's excellent reputation ! Our guide Brigitte was delightful and extremely well informed on the subject matter. As we are Canadian, she graciously added a stop at Ardenne Abbey allowing us to pay our respects to the Canadian Soldiers who were killed during that battle. I would give my highest recommendation to anyone wishing to book a tour with this company !

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“We were glad to take the half day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great company to tour with. Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Ironic that he was German! We only had time for a half-day tour, and I am glad we did this. Though we did NOT get to see Utah beach, it was Omaha that seemed to have the most to see and talk about as it was a much tougher fight for the Americans here. Take this tour, and then if you think you want more time at the cemetery, or really want to see Utah, do that on your own. I am sure someone possibly with a relative who fought here might have a different take, but for me, just personally seeing these sights I have read about or seen movies about was my overall goal, and the half day tour was perfect. Kudos to overlord tours

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overlord Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Overlord Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overlord Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.