We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for outdoor lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin De La Galette

Le Moulin De La Galette
38 Rue de Nesmond, Bayeux, France
+33 2 31 22 47 75
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 restaurants in Bayeux
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Charming restaurant on a sunny quiet terrasse along the river. Direct in front of the Tapestry Museum, close to the cathedral and the historical town center.
Lage Zwaluwe, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for outdoor lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Right opposite the exit from the Bayeux Tapestry, this terrace restaurant is tucked away next to the river providing an idyllic spot for lunch. The menu provides for both galettes (savoury) and crêpes (sweet) and various salads. Service was friendly and efficient. The good weather did the rest!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    99
    51
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent French cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

A cosy, welcoming atmosphere awaits. Great, attentive service provided the best galettes I've ever tasted. The menu is inexpensive with a dish to suit every taste. The crepes suzette was delicious. I shall go again if ever I'm in the neighbourhood. A real gem!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great gallettes, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice place tucked away along one of the back streets behind the tapestry and cathedral areas. Friendly and helpful staff, with a good range of food for most tastes. Décor is definitely café style, but it is quiet and right next to a river. This isn't gourmet food but I would happily go there again as the choice and price make it great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly & lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable evening here with our family. We had a lovely warm welcome from the friendly staff. We spoke in French to them and they helped us out when we got stuck! The whole atmosphere was just so nice and the food was gorgeous...all of our plates were cleared. The crepes for dessert were the best we had tasted on our holiday. The restaurant is in a lovely setting and is well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food good value great location, service very slow:-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Although the service was slow the food was good, and good value too which makes a change in a tourist trap. Situated next to a beautifull stream, shame it was raining

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Moulin De La Galette also viewed

 

Been to Le Moulin De La Galette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin De La Galette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.