We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le pommier restaurant

le pommier restaurant
38-40 Street of Cuisiners, 14400 Bayeux, France
+33 2 31 21 52 10
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
le pommier restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 72 Restaurants in Bayeux
Price range: $22 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
King City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

By far the best meal we've had in France, and one of our most memorable dining experiences ever. Beautifully presented and expertly paced, the food was well thought out, creatively unusual, and simply delicious. We loved it. For those looking for more than just superb food, the decor was quietly elegant and I would describe the service as politely reserved. Perfection on a plate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    133
    55
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Looks good from the outside, pleasant and comfortable on the inside. The food was very disappointing, although competently prepared there were some very strange flavour combinations going on that - in my opinion - simply didn't work. The overall ambience was ruined by most of my fellow English speaking diners, none of whom seem to want to make any concession to dining in a foreign country to the point of - in one case - downright rudeness.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food in Bayeux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to Le Pommier on our last night in Bayeux. Overall, the food was really good. My husband started with the shellfish platter, which was quite large and had a bunch of different types of cold seafood on it. I had the Norman cheese fondue in a little bread bowl, which was different than I had expected but tasty. For a main dish, I had a very good steak and my husband had sea bass in a delicious sauce. The waitress's wine recommendation was spot-on and the service was fine. The ambiance of the restaurant was quite nice. It was probably the best food we had during our stay in Bayeux. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had dinner here on the last evening of our nearly two-week visit to France, and the experience was something of a letdown. The menu was interesting, and the food was good, but we found the ambiance of the dining room rather cold and impersonal. There was no greeting at the door when we arrived, and in fact I felt as if I was intruding even though we were a rather large party (six adults) with reservations. Table service was unsmiling and indifferent, with no attempt to help with menu selections other than to answer direct questions. We were properly dressed and well behaved, so I don’t think we could have been singled out for special ill-treatment. All in all, we had no specific complaints but we didn’t think Le Pommier was anything special. Perhaps we just caught them on an off day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepommier, Propriétaire at le pommier restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Google Translation
Nous prenons connaissance de votre avis déposé ici, nous étudions chaque avis avec rigueur afin de toujours améliorer la qualité de notre prestation. Vos remarques nous laissent assez dubitatifs car vous semblez avoir apprécié la qualité de la nourriture, il s’agirait davantage d’une question d’ambiance globale… Notre restaurant comprend 3 salles de taille différentes mais où dans chacune une table de 6 couverts occupe un espace suffisant pour créer à lui-même une ambiance particulière.
Certains soir, telle salle aura une ambiance plutôt romantique, une autre festive avec anniversaires, une autre familiale avec des enfants, ou encore studieuse avec des repas d’affaire. J’essaie, autant que possible, de faire en sorte que chacun y trouve ce qu’il recherche à chaque service dans la répartition des clients dans le restaurant. Cela peut fonctionner, ou pas… et c’est d’autant plus difficile lorsque le client arrive sans réservation au préalable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in Bayeux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food here surpassed by expectations. My husband and I selected off the Gourmet Norman menu. I started with foie gras, then selected the sea bass which was moist with a delicious ginger sauce. Having attended cooking school in the Dordogne region where foie gras is everywhere, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality here. I also recommend the white and black cake. Definitely yummy. Dinner was well paced and not a lengthy 3 hour event. This was appreciated after a full day going to Mont St. Michel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le pommier restaurant also viewed

 
Bayeux, Calvados
 

Been to le pommier restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le pommier restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.