We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ferme des Mares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Ferme des Mares to your Saves list
La Ferme des Mares
26 Rue des Mares | Saint-Germain-Sur-Ay, 50430, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 485 Hotels in Basse-Normandie
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Superb cuisine - excellent ambience, friendly and polite staff. The menu is imaginative and very well done with quality ingredients. In a great location but easy to find. We will be sure to visit again very soon. Recommend +++=

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in "La Ferme de Mares" and loved it.
The rooms are lovely furnished, the food and the wines delicious. The owners are perfect hosts!
We are already planning to return to this magic place.
And as others mentioned before, the landscape around is just stunning!
They helped us to organize this increadible delicious wine we had for dinner. We will remember you while drinking it!
Thank's again,
Karin & Veronika

Room Tip: Room Nr. 1 has windows in 2 directions what we liked a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at La Ferme des Mares in July for 4 nights. We could not have wished for a better break. Sonya and Mike who own and run the hotel were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to look after us.

It was our first holiday with our 7 months old daughter and had therefore booked the family room. It consisted of two very comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, a large hallway and a luxurious bathroom with a separate loo. Perfect for us as it was almost like a small apartment. Besides this, we found that the hotel had great sound insulation – did at no time hear any other guests, which really made it that extra bit relaxing. The hotel overall was lovely and beautifully situated in a charming village with access to the coast and the vast salt marshes in the area.

As we could not go out or go down to the restaurant in the evenings, Mike and Sonya offered to bring dinner to our room. We expected for the food to arrive on a tray – but no, they arranged for us to have our own little private restaurant! A table was set up in our hallway and each course was served individually – comfortably spaced out over an hour or so. The food was amazing – we very much enjoyed the set menu, as it was a surprise what we would have. All delicious and fantastic value. It was such a treat for us as having a young baby we do not get to dine out a great deal.

Breakfast was also brought up to our room, which made it all very relaxing
for us as we did not have to rush to make the morning buffet (things take so much longer with a young baby!).

On top of all of this, Mike and Sonya were happy for us to sterilize bottles, keep milk in the fridge in the kitchen etc. and we could just pop down whenever we needed anything.

We cannot recommend La Ferme des Mares highly enough – it was truly a home from home and we hope to be able to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picquenot, Propriétaire at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments.
I’m so pleased that your break turned out to be all you hoped for. We always try to go ‘that extra mile’ to make our guests comfortable and feel at home.
We have a young baby too so I know just how demanding they can be!
I hope you’ll visit us again in the future (I’d love to see how much baby has grown!)
Best wishes to the three of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Found on the internet, we thought it seemed and ideal place to meet up with family coming over from Portsmouth to Cherbourg. So off we went for a few days to check it out. Beautiful hotel and very peaceful but unfortunately the compliments end here. A supplement of 3€ per person for breakfast in our room, never seen that before. I asked for tea and my husband for coffee and milk. I got a tiny teapot half full of water but no tea or T bag. My husband no milk. Dinner, 1/2 board, 5 people in the restaurant, fixed menu (never seen that before either), 2 hours at the table. Gruesome. Towels not changed, shower sprayed water all over floor, bath took so long to fill up gave in and used shower. The Wifi worked when it felt like it, the duvet was far too small for two people, Lampshade missing on bedside table. Tiny television but we didn't use it. Will end here, the list is too long.

Room Tip: We had a "suite". Dare not imagine what the ordinary rooms were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picquenot, Propriétaire at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay at La Ferme des Mares. I'm certainly disappointed to learn that you were less than happy while you were our guest. I regret that you didn’t let us know about your dissatisfaction during your 3 nights; we take a pride in making sure our guests have everything they need and are happy.
Towels are changed every day when left either in the bath or shower as is indicated in the rooms. If your towels were hung up the room staff would have presumed that you wanted to keep them.
I personally take a keen interest in customer comments concerning the restaurant as I am the chef; having checked our bookings there were indeed 5 customers on your first evening, 13 on the 2nd and 11 on the 3rd night that you chose to dine with us. We offer a fixed menu at a reduced rate for half board to ensure that guests who stay several nights don't eat the same thing twice. I would have been only too happy to have altered the menu if there was something that you didn't like or indeed you could have chosen from one of our menus at the advertised price.
The bed in your room is a queen size; with an extra large duvet to ensure a comfortable night’s sleep. Again we would have been happy to provide you with a spare blanket or even a second duvet if you had asked.
I'm afraid that I alone am responsible for your missing tea bag and milk on your first morning, I apologise for my oversight.
As for the absent lampshade on one of the wall lights, unfortunately a previous guest broke the glass and we were waiting for a replacement. The shade has now been delivered and is replaced.
I do hope you will visit La Ferme des Mares again, of course we'll offer your breakfast with pleasure on a future stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food, very nicely decorated rooms, in a stunning location and friendly owners who speak English and French. A little out of the way for families, but very close fairly to the beach. I would highly recommend this to anyone and will revisit

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at all different rated hotels, in france. But found this lacking in some areas. There was no tea making in the rooms. Not 100% clean. Also the breakfast had no cheese or ham,also no air in breakfast room and no way of opening windows to make this a nice relaxing meal to start your day. Just small things that would have made my holiday stay more pleasent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying in this hotel from the excellant reviews however we so incredibly disappointed! We arrived after an 8 hour drive and initially we very pleased with the look and location. After ringing the bell 3 times we were greated by the chef who showed a non interested attitude and informed us there was no room in the restaurant that evening for dinner - we had not pre-booked however if this is required I feel it should say so on the hotel information. The attitude was not at all helpful or sympathetic and we had to ask where the nearest restaurant was, which was located a 10 mins drive away - not far but when you have been travelling for 8 hours and were looking forward to staying and relaxing in this hotel it was utter disappointment! In all the service was not customer focused and we were made to feel very unwelcome! Rooms nicely done but small and basic, and very hot! Even though the weather wasnt! I wont be staying there again and would not recommend it either - poor!! such a shame!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that you had hoped it might be.

I remember greeting you last Saturday and regret that I was unable to take your restaurant booking for that evening. We always give preference to our hotel guests for a table in the restaurant when they book their room with us directly; it’s true that room only bookings via commercial websites don’t leave us that option and, as last Saturday was particularly busy, our small restaurant does fill up rather quickly.

I do hope that you’ll reconsider staying with us in the future – we have many more spacious rooms than the small one you booked and it would be a pleasure to be able wish you ‘bon appétit’ in our restaurant

Kind regards
Mike ALLEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ferme des Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme des Mares

Address: 26 Rue des Mares | Saint-Germain-Sur-Ay, 50430, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 485 Hotels in Basse-Normandie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Ferme des Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Des Mares Normandy, France - Basse-Normandie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ferme des Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.