We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable quality of food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Chicoree

La Chicoree
15 Place Rihour, 59800 Lille, France
+33 3 20 54 81 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 1,036 Restaurants in Lille
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Seafood, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This almost a century brewery is known and appreciated far beyond our borders. His cuisine is drawn from the soil of our region, its products and its authenticity. Warmly welcomed in a setting of "authentic brasserie", you can enjoy typical regional dishes. It is likely that the wide range of choice from the menu invites you to extend your enjoyment. Because chicory is the restaurant where we forget the time, day and night. The atmosphere is friendly and festive. This is the place of choice for many artists visiting Lille to come eat and have a good time after the concerts. Chicory is also a south facing terrace in the heart of Lille. This is a brewery on 3 floors where the smells and atmospheres blend, where eyes meet. It is a mecca for nightlife Lille.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Variable quality of food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some of the food is very good and some poor. My partner's main course was very good but my main course (carbonnade flamande) was only luke warm, although served on a very hot plate. The overall impression was that the carbonnade flamande had been microwaved, rather taken from a large casserole that had been stewing gently all day.

The service appeared to depend on whether you were local or not - our spoken French is usually enough to enjoy a conversation with restaurant staff but we felt rushed and had little service from the waitress (who had plenty of time for customers she obviously recognised).

We have had much better service and food from other restaurants in Lille so I would recommend trying somewhere other than this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    354
    200
    139
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good spot for a relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere for lunch and came across Place Rihour after walking along we decided to stop in at La Chicoree and we weren't disappointed. We were shown to a table inside, menus bought over and our drinks order taken quickly. We didn't have a problem calling a waiter/ress over to place our order, I went for mussels in beer sauce and they were excellent, one of the best pots of mussels i've had for some time, my husband went for a seafood plate which he also enjoyed. Good range of beer on tap which was nice as other restaurants in the area mainly stick with Leffe.

We enjoyed this place so much that we came back on Sunday afternoon for a drink and a light meal, this time we sat outside and the service is slower, you just need to catch the waiters attention to order. We shared a platter that had mariolles on toast, leek tart, ham and potjevleesch which was okay, not bad value but not outstanding.

Overall we would be happy to come here again if in Lille, nice food, reasonable price and we found it to be a nice atmosphere..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Too busy, too noisy and average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

OK it was 13H30 when we arrived and the restaurant was still busy but ... we had to wait 15 minutes before the waitress came to take our orders (we were just about to leave when she arrived). We took the 11,80 euro menu and I was astonished that the food arrived so quickly but ... if the fries were hot, the meat was cold so I sent my dish back to the kitchen. It reappeared 5 minutes later (thanks to the microwave I suppose). The other dish was meant to be cold and was OK even if not very well presented, but this is not a Michelin-star restaurant. Then the dessert ... Being Belgian, I decided to go for the Mousse au Chocolat. Disappointment ... milk chocolate and not real dark chocolate; not very tasty, no whipped cream.
Concerning the place itself : tables are too close one to the other, as we were sitting in front of the bar 1 of us always had the (running) waiters banging into his chair, same with the clients who were passing, and it was really noisy. On the positive aspects : the guy at the bar was paying attention to the clients, they were all very polite and the toilets were clean.
But if you ask me if I would go back, probably not, sorry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - full of happy people eating and an extremely helpful waiter. The 11.80 menu was excellent value, the 23 euro m”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went at 10 pm on our first night having driven from Calais and didn't want anywhere too precious. It fitted the bill - jolly and the food was fine - good value if you stuck to the 11 euro menu and a nice atmosphere. I had not read any of the reviews and if I had, I wouldn't have gone there. But as it was, we enjoyed ourselves although would not rave about the food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive from the outside, mediocre from the inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My expectations went freezing especially with an unfriendly staff and very slow service and it wasnt peak time we were only 7persons there at 1pm....
Only good thing the music that i liked.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chicoree also viewed

 

Been to La Chicoree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chicoree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.