We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most central location and in perfect shape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kanai Hotel to your Saves list
Kanai Hotel
10 rue de Bethune, Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Lille
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Most central location and in perfect shape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We took this hotel for weekend trip to Lille. it is really right in the middle of the busiest pedestrian shopping street. You do need to park in one of the major private carparks and take a short walk to the hotel.
We booked the slightly more expensive Privilege room, which was great in size for being in the center of a French city. Everything looked pretty new, seems to have been rebuild in 2007, but repainted rooms every 2 years. Nice modern rooms & bathrooms.
Breakfast (9 euro) was simple but just what we needed (croissants, baguette, juice, yoghurt,fresh fruit,...) Nice touch to have Nespresso machines in the rooms as well as bfast area.
The young Staff was very helpful and friendly.

For 90 euro, not sure you can do much better in Lille

Room Tip: note there is no elevator. if you have luggage ....pick a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    140
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
142
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
simonuineill
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Although we know Lille, we had never spent a night in the city and chose this hotel as it was so centrally located and we prefer not to stay in the big chains.
The whole experience was delightful. Staff were very friendly and professional (even storing some rather strong Goat's cheese for us in their fridge) and all speak excellent English. Our room, 203, was a good size with a very comfortable large double bed and a decent shower room/toilet en suite. Although it looked over a busy street, the double glazing meant that the room was very quiet - and the windows gave great light.
Breakfast was extra but good value - a mix of croissants/pain au chocolate, bread with hams and cheese, cereal, fresh fruit juices, yoghurts etc - and there was 24 service, so we were able to get a bottle of wine to have in our room one evening.
We will certainly be staying there again on our next trip to Lille

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Big nice room, clean. Location was perfect right in the centre of Lille, everything on walking distance. Staff was really nice and helpfull.
Great city for shopping as well.

The free Zoo in the city park is very nice activity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent location moments away from the Metro, shopping and eating establishments. Room was comfortable, shower very good, no problems with street noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. We chose to breakfast out each day of our long weekend stay so cannot comment on that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Responsable réception at Kanai Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous donner votre avis, et espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau!

Bien Cordialement,

Alison B.
Chef de reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Excellent location, especially for shopping. Staff could not do enough to help us and were polite and friendly. Very convenient parking only a short walk away. Our room was spotless and nicely decorated/furbished. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Well located close to shopping, central square & historic district. On a busy pedestrian interesection so expect some noise. No elevator, so minimum 2 floor walkup. Good continental breakfast (incl fruit, croissant, baguette, orange juice, coffee, hot chocolate, cereal, yogurt)at fair price. Helpful & friendly staff. Rooms fairly basic & could use an update, but clean & functional. Good bathroom & shower. Bright & cheerful with big windows overlooking street. Big & comfortable bed. Effective in-room heating & cooling unit with remote control. Only one English-speaking channel on TV (BBC World Service). Free WiFi & coffee maker in rooms. Could be more generous with Toiletteries & coffee supplies (eg no milk or creamer provided & only two coffee pods daily). Pleasant lounge area off breakfast room.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Responsable réception at Kanai Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy that you spent a nice stay with us! We hope see you again promptly, here is our Facebook to keep contact: https://www.facebook.com/HotelKanaiLilleOfficiel

Kind regards,

Alison B.
Chef de réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Even though it was a very short stay, I really enjoyed it, wish I was on holiday and stay here for longer.
 
Staff were brilliant, room nice and clean and luxurious. View from my room to the street was simply amazing and lots to see too, the staff were nice to converse with and helpful too.
 
Had all the toiletries and the waiting area was really impressive too?
 
Overall we enjoyed our business stay here and I am considering doing a weekend here with the other half, well impressed and certainly will recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel T, Responsable réception at Kanai Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are very happy that you spent a nice stay at hotel Kanai, and we will very glad to welcome you and your family for holidays!

For your next stay, you can contact us directly to book our family suite.

Kind regards,

Alison B.
Chef de réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanai Hotel

Address: 10 rue de Bethune, Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our hotel in a pedestrian street in the center of Lille, only a few steps from the famous Grand Place and 5 minutes walk from the TGV station Lille Europe and Lille Flanders station.Its contemporary comfort, its many amenities and convenient location will satisfy your business trips or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kanai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanai Hotel Lille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.