We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so-so hotel in a very good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Grand Hotel
51 Rue Faidherbe, 59000 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Lille
Falklands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A so-so hotel in a very good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

First, as others have said, the location of the hotel is excellent. I was on the 5th floor facing away from the street, so as far as street noise goes the room was quiet (and had a nice view overlooking the rooftops). As others have said, the walls are thin and the floors creak: you can definitely hear your neighbors. The rooms aren't huge, but are adequate. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful at all times.

The room was kept clean (bathroom, sheets), and the shower has good pressure and temperature. The mattress of the bed was quite saggy. No in-room tea or coffee. Wifi is slooooowwww. You can only log in once per account - so if you have a phone and a laptop, it will log out one of the two. But forget about doing anything more than basic email and Google maps.

The breakfast is OK (coffee, fresh and good quality orange juice, fresh bread and a couple of small pastries, and an apple dessert), but definitely not worth 8 euro. There are multiple cafes nearby where you can get better, cheaper breakfast. Overall I might have rated three stars if I'd got a better price, but the room was booked by an agency and I was charged full price.

Room Tip: Get a room high up in the hotel, facing back, for minimal street noise and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
5
11
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The best located hotel near old lille and stations. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is very basic and has not been refurbished for a while. Ask for a room at the back to avoid the street noise. However you do need earplugs because the walls are very thin between rooms so you can hear all the rooms around you. Also the cover of the bedding was very dirty. The sheets were clean, but the cover was undescribable. Overall basic experience and would go back just for the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

As others have stated, this is very handy for Lille Flandres and the Eurostar terminal. Rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable and of a tolerable size. Don't expect a suite at these prices, but there IS room to swing a cat. The very good Trois Brasseurs bar is just down the road, too.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The hotel is located just a few minute walk from the Eurostar terminal on quite a busy street. However, the room we had faced a side street and we were not disturbed at all at night. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. The staff were very friendly and a cot was provided in advance for our baby. The cost was 78Euros per night, but this did not include breakfast. (We had this in cafe's in the town). We prefer to stay in budget hotels and feel this was one of the best we stayed in.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Good value for money. Excellent location - in the middle of the city, 2 minutes walk from the main train station, 5 minutes walk from Eurostar. Rooms were simple but clean and well lit. Service was pleasant. Lifts were small - but it wasn't an issue for us, the stairs were fine. Didn't take advantage of the breakfast but the price seemed reasonable. I'd stay there again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Small elevator made it necessary to make two trips with luggage but the room was adequate and quiet. Bathroom was incredibly small but it turned out to be the norm on our trip.
Hotel was in a great location as to main square and we walked from the train station (much closer to Flanders than the Europe station).
We did not have their breakfast due to comments on the worthiness and we found a spot nearby. There are several restaurants in the area and we tried several. Internet shop is around the corner. People at the desk were very helpful.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX ENGLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

Very central location,which is really handy for all the shops and restuarants.
No parking facilities.
Long term car park quite close and reasonably priced (16 euros for up to twenty-four hours)
Hotel rooms are very basic, and did not even have tea making facilities which I feel is a standard requirement for any hotel room regardless of star rating.
The power shower however in the en suite was the best I have ever known.
Breakfast was continental only. However this was reasonably priced.
I would liked to have had the choice between continental or cooked, but this was not an option.

Summary...

The hotel rates are very good considering it's central location, but the rooms are basic and there is no on site parking.
No tea making facilities which I feel is unforgivable !

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 51 Rue Faidherbe, 59000 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you plan your next trip to Lille, you're just a few clicks of a good night's sleep in the heart of the capital of Flanders !Whether you come to visit us as part of a business trip or for discovering Lille and its region , enjoy the Grand Hotel for at least three reasons : An exceptional location in the heart of Lille You can not ask for a better location ! The Grand Hotel is located in the immediate proximity of the two stations Lille Europe and Lille Flandres.The metro is close to the Grand Place is at the end of the street. For shopping, sightseeing, restaurants, nightlife you'll be spoiled for choice ! 34 charming rooms All different from each other, soundproofed with double glazing, the rooms are decorated and equipped with care to ensure you maximum comfort ! Services designed with you We decided to simplify your life : your room and your parking are available at 12.00 am, breakfast can be served from 07.00 am or in your room from 07.30 am ! And to keep you connected with the city, our reception is open 24h/24 ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.