We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 rue de Paris, 59000 Lille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 91 hotels in Lille
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a romantic weekend in Lille. Our main reason for choosing this hotel was its close proximity to the square. The bar area was lovely and relaxing but the main restaurant was closed during our stay which was disappointing.

We booked a standard room which was a decent size with a queen bed. What we thought was a bad design was the toilet was not in the bathroom but in the entrance to the room yet the hand basin was in the bathroom! So you had to go through the bedroom to wash your hands, very strange. That said we would stay again but would have a room upgrade.

Room Tip: Go for a better room than standard but check where the toilet is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    148
    50
    20
    7
See reviews for
37
223
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Loved the hotel, especially the bar area with its comfy sofas.
We ate in the hotel restuarant both evenings, and the meals were excellent, although our food and drink bill was more expensive than the price we paid for the hotel ! Most people made an effort to dress up for dinner, which is a nice change. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are extremely friendly. I would suggest that this is not a hotel suitable for children.
There was a sample of Elie Saab lotion in our room which was lovely. It worked, as we went and bought the perfume the next day !
The drawback with this hotel is the parking. We had read previous reviews which said the charge was 25 euros a day. We were not thrilled, but accepted that we would have to bear the cost, and assumed they had an underground car park. When we arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening, there was street parking available nearby, but it was all metered as far as we could see. The charges are from Monday to Saturday, 09.00 - 19.00hrs @ 1.90 euros as hour. We submitted our car to valet parking at the hotel,
A little later, whilst we were settling into our room at the back of the hotel, we were shocked to see that our car was parked just below our window, by the bins ! As this is my husbands pride and joy, he was rather distressed to say the least. The bins were actually for recycling, and we saw this occur at 18.00hrs on Saturday evening. Luckily there was no damage to the car.
I would suggest to the hotel, that if your guests have paid for parking, allocate them a room in a different part of the hotel. We would never have known if our room hadn't been just above the car. If you're a guest, and you're paying for parking, make sure youre not the first arrival of the evening, as your vehicle will be nearest the bins ! We did speak to reception about this, and they said all their staff are very careful, so there was no problem.
Lille is a lovely city to spend a couple of days. We were very surprised at the number of beggers around the city, even against the number you see in London. We enjoyed our trip, but I doubt we will return to Lille.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a fabulous night at L'Heritage, a most compelling hotel, absolutely full of character. Great room, lots of space with light oak panelling, marble fireplace, beautiful antique furniture and modern elements that delivered total style. Fabulous public spaces, including an ancient chapel, an art gallery and well kept internal gardens, hard to believe that you are in the centre of a vibrant ciity like Lille. Excellent service, classy environment, probably more suited to couples. We totally recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: They are all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from a short 3 night stay in Lille. This is regarded as the best hotel in the city.The architecture is magnificent and part of the hotel is protected by the state because of its historical significance. In fact citizens have the right to enter that part of the building as it was a former hospice. The chapel remains as well as other rooms used in the hospice and it is still used for weddings and baptisms.

Anyway my room was a traditional one with a high ceiling, panelled walls and a modern bathroom. The only drawback was it looked out onto a small area behind the hotel where they unloaded bottles each morning; not too early but around about 8 am. Otherwise it was fine.

The breakfast was served in a former chapel, now a dining room. It was a very elegant, plentiful meal.

The staff were very friendly. I was there on my own to visit friends in the local area and being alone in a foreign hotel can be a bit daunting but the staff there went out of their way to be welcoming.


I got a good deal with O Hotels but the normal tariff of almost 300 euros a night with breakfast at 12 euros would have been too much for me. Drinks too were very expensive.

It is a beautiful hotel and I would stay there again if I could get a similar rate!

l

Room Tip: 206 was a bit noisy with the bottles being unloaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We returned to this hotel, having been there 3 years previously with our two children and being so impressed. Although its a bit pricey it is worth it. The hotel itself is beautiful, with a chapel and a mini museum attached to look around. The atmosphere is lovely and everything is done to the highest standard. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a mini break via Eurotunnel with Railbookers. My husband and I had booked a Privilege Room which we were told would be large enough to accomodate our 4 year old daughter. My husband's parents had a regular room. When we arrived we were told that one room was on a higher floor and we were offered an exchange to a smaller room on the ground floor which we declined as we didn't really want a downgrade. They then tried to charge us extra for a camp bed for my daughter but after some negotiation agreed to bill Railbookers instead of us as I had been previously told by Railbookers that we would not incur this extra charge.
A very helpful man then took us to our rooms and gave us a bit of a guided tour of some of the interesting features of the old building. The rooms were were comfortable and full of character with nice touches like bathrobes, slippers, toiletries etc.
Buffet breakfast was pleasant with scrambled egg, bacon,pancakes,smoked salmon, cheese, fruit and delicious bread and pastries. Service varied each day. One morning we got no coffee at all, one day we got regular coffee plus expresso and were also offered hot chocolate for our daughter which she loved.The tea was awful every day but you don't expect a decent cup of tea on the continent! We did not eat in the restaurant but we had a very relaxing drink with nibbles in the lovely glass ceilinged bar area.
We got the impression that the staff were not terribly fond of children. One morning our daughter ran into a glass door right in front of reception (good standard of glass cleanliness!) and hit her head. Not one of the staff asked whether she was alright or offered any first aid. We had to go to the bar area to get some ice to put on the bump.
The hotel is not in a particularly fancy area but it is nice and quiet and we managed to walk everywhere we wanted to go in Lille.
On checkout,they tried to charge me city tax which I had already paid for so I will be checking my credit card statement carefully when it comes through.
On the whole, I would recommend this hotel to adults who like a tranquil hotel with interesting things to look at and a good standard of comfort but there are too many sharp angles and hazzards for little ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

short walk to centre of town, very helpfull staff, great food.will be staying here again. the hotel dates back to the 15th century when it was a hospice. standard rooms are good, air con, mini bar. plenty of electric sockets. wifi is free but need to get the code from reception every 24 hrs. they could offer to slip it under your room door every morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel

Address: 224 rue de Paris, 59000 Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#5 Business Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel for a unique experience…Behind a beautiful flemish and gothic front you will discover a “museum”hotel that will offer you serenity, warm welcome, quality service and goodgastronomic food.Pass the reception and you will find our bar located in a large hall with aglass roof and decorated in a modern style that contrast with the moreclassical structure of our 18th century chapel.The Hermitage Gantois welcomes you in the heart of Lille, between the town centre and thecity hall. Very well located, the hotel is only 5 minutes drive for Lille 2 trains stations and 15 minutes drivefrom the local airport in Lesquin.The hotel was established in a historical monument from the 15th century and is an exceptional mixbetween ancient architecture and modern design. The Hermitage Gantois offers you a special place torelax surrounded by history and modernity. It is the most prestigious address in the north of France and isaccessible in less than an hour and a half from Bruges, Bruxelles, Paris or London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Lille
Exclusive Hotel l Hermitage Gantois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hermitage Gantois Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.