We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Tours

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Tours to your Saves list
Hotel des Tours
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 rue des Tours, 59800 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Lille
East Horsley, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's what you would expect for a 3 star hotel in the city centre. Rooms were clean and functional. Not too old and dated but not new either. Great location within just a couple of minutes walk of all the main attractions in the city centre and loads of restaurants within 100 meters. Quiet location up a side street so no traffic which is unusual for a city centre hotel. Breakfast was a decent continental buffet with some scrambled eggs and bacon as well. The best bit was the Nespresso machine so you can get a great espresso to start the day off!. A big bonus is it's own underground car park (12 Euro/night) which is very helpful as parking in the city centre is otherwise expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    75
    67
    30
    14
See reviews for
21
93
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked Hotel des Tours on two main criteria: location and value for money. When on a City break our attitude to a hotel is that we want it ot be clean and functional - we want to spend very little time in it as we're seeing the sights!

We saw some of the poor reviews but went with the majority. We were right to do so; as we suspected these comments were a little over-negative and could be grouped in the 'what did you expect of a 3-star hotel?' category. You want 5-star? Well, guess where you should stay! I suspect some people had specific bad experiences and that unfortunately sometimes happens - generally this is a good hotel, and for us hit the spot well.

The location is excellent. We walked from the Lille Eurostar station with our wheeled luggage; although the cobbles make it a noisy experience we went 'the long way' via Grand'Place and it took about 20 minutes or so; our choice - we could have got a taxi if necessary. It's at the edge of Vieux Lille and over our 3-day stay provided an excellent pied-a-terre for a very enjoyable stay. There's a quicker route to the station that we took when coming home, but it's a lot less pretty (and about half the time).

Grand'Place and the surrounding shops etc are a 5-10 minute walk. We got to know the old centre quite well although it's little streets and alleys were a bit baffling at first.

We did return to our hotel more than we usually might because it was so convenient - one lunchtime, for example, we bought bread and cheese (at the excellent indoor market at Wazemmes) and went back to our room to eat it.

Breakfast was what you'd expect at a 3-star hotel, not at the bottom but the top of that range: scrambled egg, bacon and (smoked) sausage, bread (rolls, baguette, petit pain and croissants) , yoghurts, cereals, tea & filter coffee plus decent coffee from a Nespresso machine. We found the breakfast perfectly adequate and ate far more than we usually do at breakfast!

The room was OK; the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean if a little tired; the loo was in a very cramped space so sitting was a sideways-on activity!

Staff were great; friendly and spoke some English (probably more than my French!).

The only problem was noise; the soundproofing is poor and slamming doors felt like they were at your bedside. A dog barked outside late one night (fortunately not all night) and the double glazing was ineffective as a sound screen.

This didn't stop us getting reasonable sleep - not great, but we've certainly had worse.

The choice of local restaurants is frankly astonishing. A short walk (left from the hotel entrance and 50 yards round the corner) brings you to a junction into Rue de Gand which has about 50 restaurants on it; we ate at two, both very good.

Lille itself is a great City break, excellent shopping, food, drink, museums and architecture; we also walked miles and really enjoyed our stay.

The Hotel - we didn't regret our choice at all and felt it was a good fit for our budget and expectations. Any questions, I'll be happy to answer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this hotel after much searching as there appeared to be a conference in town so we were limited. The sat nav took us to the car park entrance, the actual hotel entrance is round the corner and is quite grand with private flats across the road, and working offices just a walk the other way. There is a lift from the car park into the hotel and a lift to all floors. We were early and they let us park in the car park before our room was ready. We were on the top floor (as we always seem to be) in an attic room which was quite spacious with a king sized bed, but only one small velux window and the view was poor, we overlooked roof tops on other nearby buildings and the gutter. The bathroom was brand new and very clean, a large walled tv (which we didnt use) and a desk and chair. The room had an air conditioning unit as well as wall heaters. We did use both and they worked perfectly well. The key to the room was card, and this is also used to get up and down in the lift. The only down fall of the room (apart from the small window) was the bath had no hand rails at all. I found this difficult to get in and out of having poor upper body strength. The hotel does not do evening meals, but there are plenty of restaurants and bars just 5 minutes walk away. The bar was open at night but there was not a great deal of seating (just 4 chairs). There is a lovely patio/courtyard outside but it was rainy and cold and not in use. The drinks were the same price as the local bars. The breakfast was vast served from 6.30 to 10.30. Hot and cold food, constantly being topped up by staff, my only issue was that it was up 6/7 steep steps, which would be no good to wheel chair users. We had managed to get an offer on the hotel of free parking (usually 12 euros a night) and free breakfast, and this was honoured by the hotel. We would definitely go back to this hotel again it was just a short walk to all amenities and the tourist office as well as the old train station, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: As the velux window was on a slant, the rain pounded against it for most of the night and kept me aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. The location is great, check in was very quick, reception staff were efficient, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. The one thing that lets this hotel down is the mosquitoes. The air conditioning in the room could not be turned up enough to cool the room so we opened the dormer windows very slightly (hanging rucksacks from the handles to stop them springing open more than a centimeter). Unfortunately the mosquitoes still managed to get inside and my wife and I were bitten more than 20 times. I asked at reception if there was anything we could spray in the room and was told that my request would be passed to housekeeping. When we returned from a day sightseeing we found that housekeeping had left one of the windows wide open, with obvious results. It is a shame that this hotel does not appear to take it's mosquito problem seriously. Simple lightweight clip on screens would solve the problem very easily and allow guests with rooms overlooking the flat roof of the foyer where they seem to breed, to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the flat roof of the foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel which was part of a bulk booking on a coach trip. Be warned, the cobbled streets around here are very narrow and so the coach could not drop us outside the hotel. We had about a five minute walk so pack accordingly and ladies think twice about killer heels! The hotel has a car park but we didn’t use it so can’t comment.

Check in was very quick and we were given our one access key, you need this to access the stairs and lift to the upper floors so don’t leave home without it. You had to climb about 6 stairs to get to the lift so I am not sure how it would be for disabled travellers.

Our room was at the corner of the first floor (122), it was a good size with double aspect windows and a very large, very comfortable bed. At check in we were not given the choice of smoking or non and the room smelt quite badly of smoke, bearing in mind the French attitude to smoking this wasn’t too much of a surprise. We opened all the windows to air the place and after an hour or two it was fine. We didn’t bother to complain as we were only there for two nights. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and in-bath shower, there was a separate toilet. The heating in the rooms worked well, we didn’t use the air con, the shower was hot and quite good pressure.

The decorations and fittings were a bit hit and miss, there was a stain on the carpet in the bedroom and the basin was a little old and stained, but the bed coverings were white Egyptian cotton, go figure!

The hotel has a bar but again the service seemed a bit hit and miss, there is a small seating area alongside. Quite honestly there are numerous restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away so why bother.

There was a good choice at breakfast but everything was self serve. More steps to the breakfast servery so again possible issues for disabled travellers. Lovers of tea, take your own bags or put about 3 in each pot as it seemed really weak.

In summary, like all things there was good and bad here.

Top marks for location, near to everything, it was also quiet so we got a good nights sleep on the lovely bed. Breakfast good, the cold stuff better than the hot in my opinion.

On the minus side several couples in our party were not happy with their rooms. The main issues seemed to be:-
Small, uncomfortable bed.
Shower not working well, water not hot.
Room very small, little room around or at the end of the bed.
We paid as part of a package so I don’t know how much the rooms were or if ours was more expensive than the others. If you can get a very good deal I would say it is OK for a few nights if all you want to do is use it as a base and will be out most of the time. Otherwise we saw some other hotels in the middle of the old town which looked more up market.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic rooms, people in our party complained they were small and kept banging their heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good location and ok room but bathroom needed overhaul and shower was barely a dribble- however room clean and excellent value for the cost

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed here half a dozen times now and so far haven’t seen anywhere else I would rather stay. The hotel is basic but does the job, handy car park underneath, English T.V and a pleasant receptionist. The big draw for this place for me is its position. Just off the main old quarter street in a quiet side street and within 2 minute’s walk from what I think are the best restaurants in town and just 5 minutes walk to the more commercialised and site seeing area of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Tours

Address: 27 rue des Tours, 59800 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town, near of the city center and the train station Lille Flandres and Lille Europe, the Hôtel des Tours is the ideal place for your meetings and seminars but for your touristic travels too. The Hôtel des Tours promises you quiet and comfort.The hotel possesses an underground private parking open 24/24, 5 seminars rooms or banquets, a bar and a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Tours Hotel
Des Tours Lille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.