We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Royale

La Royale
37, rue Royale, 59000 Lille, France
+33 3 20 42 10 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,080 Restaurants in Lille
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Have you ever come across Bistronomie cuisine, the perfect balance between the informal bistrot dishes found in French brasseries and the more sophisticated gastronomy cuisine? If not, it might be time to head to La Royale and try for yourself Chefs Mickaël and Jean-Sébastien’s culinary creations. Only fresh products from local markets make it to the menu. Dishes are inventive, simple and creative. The wine list is equally enticing: la Royale favours smaller high-quality producers to big names… Come to La Royale to enjoy high quality cuisine in an intimate atmosphere full of delightful quaint memories. You’ll find yourself transported in an old Paris bistrot and will no doubt feel at home…
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a quick stopover meal en route to Calais. My wife is coeliac, and although this confused the waiter to begin with once he understood it was only wheat and gluten to be avoided he was able to direct us appropriately. The menu is quite short but I think this is usually better; I worry how much the freezer/microwave is used on long menus.
Our food was delicious, seasonal and freshly prepared. The service was quick and courteous.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    66
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“La Royale treatment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Situated in those delightfully winding, cobbled streets of Vieux Lille , this wonderful little eaterie delivers a gastronomic punch for excellent value for money. Four of us celebrated a milestone birthday and enjoyed a quality 3 course meal with excellent wine and aperifs for under 200 Euros.

The restuarant is housed within a centuries-old building and has a charmingly traditional character. I loved the place setting; the pristine white linen with pewter napkin rings, ornately decorated plates and gorgeous glassware - the type you find in antique shops. We were warmly welcomed and well looked after by friendly , good-humoured staff who understood English and did not laugh at my school-girl French. Most importantly, the food was delicious, regional fare; we particularly enjoyed the aspargus veloute and the squid-like risotto laced withthe local cheese, mimolette , excellent quail, monkfish and waterzoi ( fish stew) . The wine list gave good representation of different French regions - the Burgundy we had was highly quaffable.

Heartily recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Royale ..What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife & I are visiting Lille for a Long Weekend & to celebrate her Birthday. We wanted to dine somewhere with an authentic French feel and decided (after looking through the ratings on Tripadvisor) to give La Royale a try. The good reviews that we had read certainly summed up our experience. The maitre de (probably the owner but we weren't sure!) couldn't have been more helpful. He was very patient in helping 2 non French speaking Brits work their way through the menu ...We had a fabulous evening and actually relatively inexpensive all things considered. €115 bill for 3 courses each & two bottles of wine & coffee.

Thank you everyone at La Royale for such a lovely evening.If we are ever back in Lille La Royale will most definetly be top of our list.

P.S if you do decide to enjoy an evening at La Royale you must visit the toilets even if you don't 'need' to!! ...Your journey up stairs takes you past the small kitchen where the chef works like fury putting together the fayre for the diners ...what a spectacle

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great bang for buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a very good experience in this restaurant. The food is very good (the menu is not extensive, but it changes every week.). The staff is attentive, polite and responsive, and we really enjoyed the ambiance of the place. We will be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My uncle arranged for his 60th birthday a day trip to Lille on the Eurostar with lunch at La Royale for family and friends. Tucked away in the old town we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The team were patient and welcoming and the food was delicious - they even provided a yummy chocolate birthday cake! Would definitely like to go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Royale also viewed

 

Been to La Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.