We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 bis rue Leon Gambetta, 59000 Lille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Lille
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for a conference and I am a very good customer of Holiday Inn. I stay away a couple of times a month and I nearly always book a holiday inn as you know what you are getting and they are normally clean and spacious. However, this was by far the worst hotel stay I have ever had. I arrived to a building site...this wouldn't be a problem normally had I been informed this or got a reduced rate. I thought I paid a cheaper advance payment rate but was informed my card was rejected so had to pay more which I think is awful as they could have contacted me and told me it was rejected and I would have rang to make the payment over the phone or used another card.

Thankfully I got one of the rooms that had already been refurbished but all social areas were a complete mess. I got to my room and went for a shower...no hot water. Rang reception who said they will send up and engineer. 45 mins later and numerous phones calls to reception - no hot water and no engineer. Terrible customer service. The building noise was very disruptive.

Having left this awful hotel I realised I cam home without one of my necklaces. I was 99% certain it was not left in the room as I am very careful about checking the room thoroughly before I leave and it was a very chunky necklace that I would have seen if it was left on the side. I rang the hotel as I was certain I hadn't seen it since my room was cleaned the day before I left. They said they would check with the cleaning staff and ring me back. No phone call back.

Maybe this hotel will be ok when it has gone through its refurb but the customer service will not change.

Simply awful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Hanamoore,

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    95
    76
    29
    21
See reviews for
24
91
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcore, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Conveniently situated near a large square from the centre of which extends the ample PEDESTRIAN & SHOPPING AREA that in less than 10 minutes will lead you to the Old City Centre. Secure parking in the basement for €13 (direct access via hotel lift). Metro station in the square. Room rather small but clean. Nonsmoking on request. Satellite TV. Wifi. Tea/coffee making facilities. Bright bathroom. Continental breakfast where curiously the hot drinks machine did not provide coffee and the cappuccino came out as chocolate. Pity. The hotel was in the process of radical renovation in february & cost €129 for a double room & 2 continental breakfasts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ann H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you found our location convenient and the rooms clean. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the coffee making facilities.Please be assured that this will be looked into.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands (Europe)
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice hotel that offers all you need for one (or a few) night(s). It is being renovated at the moment, which was announced before booking. But as we stayed on a Saturday night, there was no problem at all. Our standard room was smallish, but then again we did not need more. The room looked nice, the bed was good as was the new bathroom. The parking garage is very convenient, as you can walk to the Town Centre. You reach the shopping streets in a five minute walk, the not-to-be-missed Grand Place in 10 minutes. Breakfast was somewhat simple (no hot items), but good enough with a friendly staff to assist. As the breakfast is included in the price, we had a good stay for a good price. We will return here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I just spent 1 night here with my wife and 5 month old. Booked online and asked for a baby cot, the room was ready at 1300 with a cot. Free wifi included. The staff were all v pleasant and helpful. All spoke English. We used the underground car park, v useful (€12 per night). Room was basic and clean. Hotel under refurbishment , apart from 1 lift under wraps we did not notice anything. Lovely and simple breakfast, they happily told us to make sandwiches for lunch. Great location, plenty of restaurants nearby and the center less than 5 min walk.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear KamMug,

Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of one lift at the time of your stay.

We are pleased you did enjoy your stay and our accommodations and staff were commendable. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel received a great deal of critiscism by previous visitors but all in all it was more than adequate. If you have a limited budget then this is the hotel to choose. Although a refurbishment program was in operation it was done without inconveniencing visitors. Our room was a little small but had a good sized bathroom and had television and coffee/tea facilities. Wifi was also available in rooms and the lobby. Breakfast were very good and the staff were helpful and very friendly. Our room was kept spotlessly clean and towels and linen were replaced daily. Not bad for a hotel that has been given such poor reviews.

Room Tip: If you are unhappy with the room you have been allocated then discuss it with the reception staff. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Geoff D,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in one of our hotels again soon.

Regards,
Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I booked a Double for 2 nights. First got a Twin, then a room with coiled electrical cables & tubes dangling from the ceiling before being given the Double I had booked, after 3 trips to moan at Reception. Manager told me I would "only get" a double "if it was available"...after which I would get a twin. But the website shows a standard room as having a "Double bed". The hotel was being re-furbished and the staff did not know which rooms were habitable. They sent a staff member to "check out" the third room before giving us the keys. The staff never made eye-contact whilst I was in the hotel, they always looked down as I approached. I came to this hotel with fond memories of previous visits but not now. On the Saturday, the small bar was full of rough local men who had come in to watch the football...there was no room for guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastien R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
I have read carefully your comment and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. At the time of your booking, no double room was available, and the reception team « pre checked” you in a twin bedded room but they did not check if that matched your wishes while you checked in, and we are very sorry about this.

As you have seen, the hotel and the rooms will soon be fully newly refurbished and we try our best to minimize the impact on our customers, but some of these works cannot be kept as discreet as we would like, as the installation of the air-conditionning in all the rooms that you mention. This step is very crucial for your comfort in the future.

I will be very pleased to welcome you on your next stay in Lille, in a totally renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is a typical HIE but in this case a little dated so it is a good thing that work has started on a complete refurbishment programme. Work will run from Monday to Friday for the next few months between the hours of 9.00am to 5.00pm.
The hotel is in a central location with a secure car park underground. The main centre of Lille is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Scorpio227,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre

Address: 75 bis rue Leon Gambetta, 59000 Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre Hotel Lille

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.