We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue to your Saves list
Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Jean Roisin, FR-59800 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Lille
ULVERSTON
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very good location but we went for the Christmas Market and were very disappointed as the market consists of around 20 small cabins squeezed into the Grand Place. It also closed at 9 p.m. The other attraction was a Ferris wheel in another square but no other CHristmas features not even a Christmas Tree anywhere. We were very unhappy with it being sold as a Christmas Market location. Food was average except for the Italian Restaraunt behind the Grand Place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    204
    76
    24
    7
See reviews for
35
241
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

4 out of 5 because hardly anywhere gets 5/5, and there is no 3.5 grading.

The location is excellent: only 10 minutes walk from EuroStar station, maximum. Right on the edge of both Lille Centre and Lille old town, the entrance is around the block from the Grand Place. All is within walking distance.

Four steps up to the entrance door: hardly anyone else mentions this.

Friendly welcome, room "ok" at first sight, thankfully not on the Grand Place side: there was a massive illuminated ferris wheel in the Grand Place which came within inches of all bedrooms on that side. How anyone in those rooms got any sleep I have no idea.

Furniture a strange mishmash of pleasantly antique-looking decorated chest and desk, a plastic chair and tiny Ikea-type wardrobe with nowhere near enough hanging space for two people. Kettle and cups were found in this Ikea wardrobe, but the only place to plug the kettle in was on the floor. Flat screen TV similarly sat upon cheap-looking cabinet containing mini-bar.

Large bathroom with very cold marble floor, shallow tub with no plug and therefore had to use the shower overhead. On-the-wall soap dispenser set at knee height when standing up to take shower.

Bed lights (over the beds, not alongside) include handy bendy spotlight for reading in bed. However, the main light itself did not work throughout our stay despite my reporting this twice and the second time going down to reception to get a replacement bulb, myself. It still didn't work. (Therefore the bulb had been replaced by housekeeping but not tested?) I gave up on that.

My request for extra towels on seeing those provided was immediately fulfilled, but on the second day we were back to basic one medium+one small each. It had not occurred to me that I would have to ask every day........

Fresh milk to make tea (put the kettle on the floor to plug it in), was however provided every day and put in the minibar, even though we only asked once. Missing bath plug provided while we were out.

For a 4* hotel, this seems a strange mixture of attentiveness and not.

Breakfast was good, and busy. Serve yourself to everything with hot pots of coffee, a boiling vessel to make boiled eggs, a heated container of scrambled eggs and small sausages; many different breads and croissants, an espresso or hot chocolate machine, fresh fruit and yoghurts, cheeses and spreads. The range available was better than many other European hotels and better organised.

Would I recommend? Y-e-s, but could try harder, for a 4*?
Would I go back? Maybe.

Warning about Lille in general. There are many many beggars around. The first one was as soon as we got off the EuroStar and trying to get our bearings. They come up to you everywhere in Lille with a silent hand held out for money. (Nothing to do with the Bellevue, just a general tip.)

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room overlooking the Grand Place! It will be lit up all night long and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really Excellently located hotel, right overlooking the main square.
You will need to book early to ensure you get a room here as it's hard to imagine a better position in the town.
The rooms are adequately sized, very sumptuously furnished and unlike a lot of modern hotels the rooms we stayed in had baths as well as showers.
There is an underground car park less than 300yards away and at 11 euros for 24 hours is not too badly priced for a city centre.
Only downside is that the hotel is co-habited with the Brasilian consulate and he likes to park in a reserved space directly in front of the hotel entrance. It doesn't seem to matter that the car space is long enough to accomodate 2 cars and he only has a VW GOLF. I was waiting outside the hotel to guide my brother in law to the hotel entrance as he had been driving continually round the one way system trying to find said hotel when the "man from the embassy" waited irritably in the middle of the road without indicating he wanted to pull over, when i realised where he wanted to park i stood back behind the metal "No waiting " sign and he proceeded to drive so close to it he actually ran over it! He then got out of the car and levelled a diatribe towards me in French to which a two way conversation ensued where i politely explained to him that he should learn to drive and park without mounting barriers! Apparently he didn't take my criticism so well as my wife was inside the hotel and witnessed him kicking his office door open with more than necessary force..Quelle Domage!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the Grand Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This 4-star hotel could not be better situated, right on Lille’s old square and a 2 minute walk to the start of the old cobbled shopping streets. Despite that, it doesn’t quite hit the 4 star mark in our opinion, even allowing for the over-starred French system of grading.

Firstly what’s good; The location is ‘the best in town’. The breakfast is excellent with lots of choice, including some hot food if you want it, although the dining room lacks charm. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and our bathroom was quite satisfactory. The entrance is very nice. The glass lift is impressive. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Now what’s not so good: Our room, despite being a ‘superior’ room overlooking the square was decidedly average, with a cobbled together mix of old furniture and flat-pack, pictures from IKEA. It was very……well, ‘brown’ with brown carpet, drab walls and mostly brown furniture. Also, the air-con didn't work and the room got very stuffy because of its triple glazing. The corridors were unpleasant, especially when you get higher up the floors, with a damp, musty odour and gaudy yellow paintwork.

As a whole the inside of the hotel gives an air of neglect. It needs and deserves more money spending on it to bring it up to the standard it should be and probably used to be.

Would we stay at this hotel again? Probably not, although the location IS excellent.

Room Tip: The front rooms, overlooking the square, give superb view of Lille centre but it can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Cozy standard room, great comfortable bed and excellent continental breakfast. Free WiFi too. Got the room for 22,000 United miles plus $85 for all three nights--a steal. Room was in the back, so no noise from the Grand Place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Even though the hotel has been renovated, it gives the impression of a tired old lady. Our room was small and not very comfortable, at a rate of EUR 170, the airco system did not function properly, and hardly any fresh air came in through the openend windows. You cannot drive in front of this hotel to unload luggage, so better drive into the Grande Place underground parking right-away. It is more a 3 than a 4 star hotel, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location is really good, and even though I had my window not to a main square, it was still a nice room size wise.
The rooms are not very recently decorated, and I felt like I'm 10-15 years back in time. However, it was very clean. Breakfast was also nice, with a good choice.
The only thing which made my stay there not very pleasant is the fact that the room was extremely hot. Windows were not opening and condition didn't work well.
If I was a bit more fortunate with a room, I would grade the hotel higher.

Room Tip: not room 110, as it has problem with heating system
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Address: 5 Rue Jean Roisin, FR-59800 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bellevue Hotel Lille
Best Western Hotel Lille
Best Western Lille
Lille Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.