We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but expensive for what it offers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue to your Saves list
Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Jean Roisin, FR-59800 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Lille
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but expensive for what it offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Even though the hotel has been renovated, it gives the impression of a tired old lady. Our room was small and not very comfortable, at a rate of EUR 170, the airco system did not function properly, and hardly any fresh air came in through the openend windows. You cannot drive in front of this hotel to unload luggage, so better drive into the Grande Place underground parking right-away. It is more a 3 than a 4 star hotel, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    183
    68
    22
    7
See reviews for
33
210
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location is really good, and even though I had my window not to a main square, it was still a nice room size wise.
The rooms are not very recently decorated, and I felt like I'm 10-15 years back in time. However, it was very clean. Breakfast was also nice, with a good choice.
The only thing which made my stay there not very pleasant is the fact that the room was extremely hot. Windows were not opening and condition didn't work well.
If I was a bit more fortunate with a room, I would grade the hotel higher.

Room Tip: not room 110, as it has problem with heating system
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I were planning a couple of days in Lille and wanted a decent & centrally located hotel. As the Bellvue literally backs on to the Grand Place you really can't get any more central than this!

The location is ideal - you can walk to pretty much anywhere a tourist would want to visit (be that the museum of fine arts in one direction or the Eurostar terminal in the other) in 15 minutes, and all the bars & shops are on your doorstep.

The outside of the hotel is okay, but doesn't do the interior justice. The place manages to exude classic French charm while still being as modern as you could want - for example, they have retained the beautiful central staircase and built an elegant glass lift in to the stairwell itself). We paid a minute supplement to upgrade our room, although I don't know how much the standard rooms share the same features. The room was classically decorated, with high cielings and lit by a chandelier, the bed was enormous & wonderfully comfortable and the rest of the furniture matched the classical theme of the hotel - from the ornately framed oil paintings the the huge mirror above the dresser.

The bathroom was ornate and spacious - separate shower cubicle and bath, always a good thing. The toiletries were really good and contained a cour if surprises - in addition to the usual bits there was a pot of bath crystals and even a comb!

In summary, lovely hotel, great staff, fantastic room, perfect location. You can stay in Lille for less, but I wouldn't.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nontron, France
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked well in advance and got a good rate for the room. We paid around €210 for the two nights which was good value we felt for a 4* hotel right in the centre of Lille.
We arrived early which wasn't a problem, we left our suitcase in safe keeping and set off to explore Lille.
I stayed here in 2001 (hence the return visit) and had a room overlooking the Grand Place (main square) and had requested the same when booking this time.To begin with we were disappointed that we weren't overlooking the square. However this turned out to be a good thing as there were preparations going on for a festival the two days after we left, so the square was full of scaffolding etc. for the erection of a stage for performances during the festival and it was quite noisy till late at night.
The rooms elegance was slightly spoilt by the IKEA style flat-pack wardrobe and the plastic chair at the desk. The other furniture was beautiful and looked quite antique in comparison.
The rooms were very quiet. The bathroom was clean and supplied with shower and hand gel. However, we opted to use the bath and discovered that there was no bath gel/foam. The shower gel was so positioned only for use when showering and impossible to use for the bath without making a mess.
The big double bed was very comfortable with extra blankets/pillows available if required. The air conditioning was controlled in the room and was very quiet.
We did not pay the extra for breakfast as we thought €14 each could be better spent elsewhere. (round the corner at the Brioche Doree!)
Reception staff were friendly and supplied us with a map and info about the town which was very helpful.
The hotel is only 500m or so from the TGV station so is within easy walking distance. We travelled by TGV to Lille. The hotel does not have private parking and this could be a problem as at certain times of day the car park under the 'Grand Place' was full. The entrance to the hotel is NOT on the square but found by taking the first right turn when facing the hotel and then the first left.
We did enjoy our short break and would certainly stay there again in the future.
.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Grand Place, but other rooms are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Paid €185.00 for double room over looking the square.

Lovely hotel in a brilliant location... For exploring Lille I can't imagine there would be a better place to base yourself.

The hotel is overlooking the main square within Lille, few minutes walk away from the train station and the main shopping are as well as around the corner from lots of places to eat.

The views really are very impressive from the bedrooms over looking the 'Place'

The hotel room was nice and clean and pretty in keeping with the area, there is a car park in front the of the hotel which was €15 a day.

The only reason this did not get 5 stars was the price, I do feel that if you are paying close to €200 a night the level of service and decor of the hotel would be a little higher, however it is always worth bearing in mind that this is a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel would have got a 5 rating if not for the chambermaid, who removed one of our cup and saucers and one of our bath towels from the room and did not replace them. We noticed the missing cup when we went to make a coffee and housekeeping replaced it within minutes of us calling, however it was very annoying to find a missing bath towel at 8.30 in the morning when taking a shower. Apart from this, the hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The location is excellent, right on the Grand Place and in the heart of things. The breakfast that was included with the price of our standard room was very good, with lots of choice and variety and regularly replenished during the breakfast time. Within easy walking distance of Euralille (Eurostar station and shopping mall).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton , England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel in Lille, France. My Husband had wanted to try out Eurostar for some time as we usually fly to holiday places. Hotel was very clean and comfortable.Very friendly reception staff and situation of the hotel was perfect in the Grand Place. The area was full of restaurants, bistros and cafes. probably worth pointing out to people arriving that the entrance to the hotel is around the back of the square even thouh the name is emblazoned above a music shop.

Room Tip: If you would like a view of the Grand Place pay extra but we had a standard room and this was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Address: 5 Rue Jean Roisin, FR-59800 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lille
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bellevue Hotel Lille
Best Western Hotel Lille
Best Western Lille
Lille Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.