We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place to your Saves list
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Boulevard Carnot, 59000 Lille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Lille
The Hague
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“One night only!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is housed in a beautiful building in the very center or Lille. While I was there, construction works were going on, including a strong paint smell throughout the lobby. Reception desk was not very friendly - formal with a light touch of attitude - and the guy that took care of the - improvised - bar was simply rude and uninterested. The up-to-date room was ridiculously small (not even room for a chair or a desk) and the air-conditioning knew only one setting: very hot. Quite disappointing, I am sad to say. Glad I only had to stay one night here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    288
    142
    38
    9
See reviews for
64
265
46
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Liked: comfy beds, balcony overlooking streets, nice rainfall shower, excellent location walk to everything, nice breakfast
Disliked: not good coffee, wish could have stayed longer, not enough teabags/milk in room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The positives:
Excellent central location
The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast was great with a good variety of nice foods and good coffee.
The bar is a pleasant place to sit in the evening.
Clean

The negatives:
When I booked this hotel I thought I was treating myself with a four-star hotel but was disappointed on arrival. I expect rooms in French cities to be small, but my double room was overly small and very sparsely furnished. There was no desk or chair and the only bedside table was 1 cheap tiny round table (no drawers etc.) which was mostly taken up by the telephone. My laptop, books etc. all had to go on the floor. To get into the shower I had to pretty much climb over the toilet as the bathroom was so compact! Although the rooms have been recently refurbished the quality of the refurbishment is not good.

I wouldn't stay here again. I feel I could have spend half the money and got similar quality in a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This used to be a lovely hotel. The location and the building are fantastic! Situated right at the centre of Vieux Lille behind the Opera! A beautiful classic building that used to have a classic interior which really gave you the feeling of being in this cosy city. However, they've changed the interior design. The room is very small with harsh lights and the lights in the bathroom are even worse. The volume of the television can't go past 20, which means that whilst you're in bed (because there's no other space for you to be seated pleasantly) you cannot listen to BBC World news, you can only watch...The heating system's off the hook. Either it's too hot, or too cold and once you turn the thing on it gets really hot and smothery...my eyes still hurt from dryeness. Anyway, I visited this hotel for the past few years, was very happy with it, but now I'm said to say that I shalln't return! Maybe the Carlton proves to be better?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The building is fantastic, old, ornate balconies and in a great central position near to everything Lille has to offer. That's the good news. The bad news I would say is poor service at reception, this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel but not sure why - mini bar not refilled (though was in a room where this was included) when asked advised a good 5 mins later no water left but would bring some to room - it never arrived nor did a call to say none available ! Items in bathroom not refilled, maybe minor but you expect better service in a 4 star hotel. Carpets in corridors did not look clean, room was ok, not small and has been modernised (never had a wardrobe in the bathroom before though - a bit strange, but quite handy !) Apart from wardrobe there is no other storage area nor a desk for working (just a small table) Can't comment on breakfast as did not take it (though only costs 15 euros). Free wi-fi though is very good. All hotels should provide this ! So a redeeming feature. However this is nit enough to make me want to stay here again. The Hotel Carlton is much better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We picked this hotel as it is central in old Lille and in that we were not disappointed. The staff at this hotel provide excellent service - including advising me on an excellent fish restaurant for the Sunday night (always a difficult time to eat out in France!) - and best to plan eating out as there is no restaurant, although there is a brought-in room service option. I booked the hotel for my husband's birthday and carefully chose an upgraded room which was supposed to have a bath and a reasonable sitting area as well as the bed - and in a typical French style. When we got to our room we found that it was newly decorated in bright colours but there was little room round the bed, there was no safe as promised and no sitting area; by contract the bathroom was a wet room so large it included a wardrobe - though it is not my preference to hang my clothes in a bathroom! We went to see the manager who explained that the website pictures were of the previous, non-refurbished rooms and he did not know why it was out of date, but assured us it was an upgraded room. As it was so different to our expectations and the photos I had printed out, he gave us a further upgrade to a junior suite, which was also recently refurbished and did have a sitting area, a safe and a nice but smaller bathroom. There are some odd features in the room design though - such as having the TV to one side of the room making it difficult for both people in bed to see it. However overall the new room was fine. I looked at the plans for the full refurbishment which are quite novel, the idea is to make the hotel resemble in function its original incarnation as an old bourgeois house, with downstairs shared lounge, TV and kitchen areas. I am sure many will prefer a modern bedroom with shower rather than bath though looking at the beautiful decorated windows down the staircase I would have liked to see the hotel before its refurbishment. I would possibly stay again because of the location and helpful staff but I would not have the same high expectations of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place

Address: 2 Boulevard Carnot, 59000 Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hundred-year old hotel in the heart of Lille. Near railway stations, the Opera, the Grand Square, the Beaux-Arts museum and the Convention/Exhibition Centre. Bar and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lille Centre Opera Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.