We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barriere Lille

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barriere Lille to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Barriere Lille
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777 Lille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 hotels in Lille
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a great hotel, modern and luxurious without being too minimalist. The only disadvantage is that it is a 15minute walk from the centre of town and the air conditioning unit was not adjustable. The main restaurant is lovely, the food excellent, we recommend the tasting menu.

Room Tip: Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Tiddles Trips,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Barriere lille and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and specially for your recommendation on our restaurant “Les Hauts de Lille”

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Very sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    115
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
227
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful rooms, great staff, lovely food. Perfect breakfast range. I can only fault them on one thing and that is check in should be available before 15:00pm, this should be made earlier.
I had room service on both nights and this was adorable. The bread that comes served with it is to die for and the service is rapid. Could not be happier with my comfortable stay. Top marks on room decoration: neutral colours really are the way forward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Almay_12,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Barriere Lille.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed one night in LIlle to do take in the market and Xmas lights. It's very close to the Eurolille station (we came in on the Eurostar from London) and about 10 easy walk into the old city. Everyone at the reception desk was most helpful and friendly. The room was large and well appointed with everything you would except for this level of hotel. Beds very comfortable. Great shower and good quality towels. We couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is lovely, the staff were polite & I would recommend it highly if it weren't for the long wait we had for our room. We arrived late on Saturday afternoon & after waiting to speak to the desk staff were offered tea/coffee as the room wasn't ready. It still wasn't ready an hour later & we would have preferred to know that upfront as our time in Lille was limited. Our view from the 3rd floor was into an apartment block, but the room itself was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A fantastic, friendly and super modern hotel.
Superb breakfast with lots of choice.
The superior room we stayed in was luxurious and so comfortable...and quiet!
Great location literally across the road from the Eurostar terminal and 10 minutes stroll into the main city centre.
We spent an hour in the casino and am certainly no casino aficionado, but it certainly seemed to have everything you need for an enjoyable (if not profitable!) time.
We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can find a good deal on the superior room I'd recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I completely agree with one of the previous reviews in that the casino isn't up to what we expected and the food in the brasserie was ok, just that. However, the hotel is really comfortable with superb rooms. Try and get a room on the 4th floor as it's the same floor as the free spa - excellent steam room and sauna.
Also, if you are arriving on the eurostar, do not leave the station by the main front exit, take your time and find the rear exit, it leads to the road that the hotel is on.
The hotel staff all speak good English and we were able to have a late check-out as our train didn't leave until 8pm.
We tried to dine in the hotel restaurant but it was fully booked.
Overall, we definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor has a spa - gym,sauna, steam room but no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Barriere is ultra modern, opened only in late 2010. The site is not prepossessing - opposite the back entrance to Lille Europe railway station, on a busy road and half a mile from the historic centre of the city and a casino in the other part of the same building. But the hotel is extraordinarily comfortable. Our bedroom was the quietest we have stayed in anywhere in the world, whether rural or city or beach. No plumbing noises, no creaking floor boards, no noise from the neighbouring rooms, no noise of door shutting - just peace! The bed was large and comfortable, the whole room and the bathroom well appointed - the shower was walk in but my wife disappointed because she would have preferred a bath. Oh yes, one drawback - the free wifi was inordinately slow. Surely this sort of hotel should have fast broadband. Excellent buffet breakfast.but not very well managed. And a gourmet restaurant, though it was shut on Sunday evening..

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the back of the hotel - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear 73manor,

Thank your very much for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel Barrière Lille

I am delighted you liked our ultra modern building, with the quiet of ours rooms,

For your wife, do not hesitate to ask a bathroom at your reservation for your next stay to better meet your expectations

I noticed your remarks concerning a slowed free wifi and we will work working on a best flow internet.

I look forward for your next visit in Lille very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777 Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barriere Lille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.