We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious rooms, shame about the restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barriere Lille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barriere Lille to your Saves list
Hotel Barriere Lille
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777 Lille, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Lille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious rooms, shame about the restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went for a Eurostar weekend in July 2012 and I booked directly with the hotel, getting a good discount for a corner suite which was huge and very luxurious with coffee maker, bottled water and lovely toiletries, as you might expect from 5 star. The bathroom had a roll top bath and large walk in shower with jack & jill basins, although the toilet was located elsewhere on the suite, which was a little unusual. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The hotel is five minutes walk from the International station and very close to the shopping mall, with the main part of Lille a few minutes walk away too. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful with excellent English. The hotel is attached to the casino, which we did not have time to visit this time.
Our only gripe was that on the day we arrived the 'fresh fast food' restaurant closed, it seemed for good and the fine dining restaurant on the first floor was also closed, until some time in August, meaning dining was limited to the one (Bistro) restaurant was the only one open during our stay. This was where breakfast was served and the food was good both for breakfast and in the evening, but the menu was a little limited in choice.
Above said, we would not hesitate to return to the Barriere Lille in the future.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large & luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    154
    41
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
311
18
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was very happy with our rooms but was especially impressed by the staff. They all went out of their way to be helpful. Though not in town center, it is very close to the convention center and still very easy to get into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Having read previous reports we were expecting a hassle finding the hotel from the rail station but couldn't have been more surprised at how easy it was and we were on foot ! Similarly getting into the city the next day ,a nice pleasant 10 min stroll ,couldn't have been easier ! The hotel was extremely comfortable with friendly staff and a breakfast including everything one could want to start the day for sightseeing ! We will return !

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. The hotel is great, although it is a 15 minute walk or so into the main town, but only 10 minutes or just less from the Eurostar station. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. If you've never stayed in a casino/hotel before (and we hadn't), it was rather unusual to be sitting having our breakfast (excellent array of choices by the way), watching people queueing to go into the casino. We had a Deluxe room (721), which was wonderful - very comfortable beds, the quietest air conditioning I've ever come across (contrary to a previous guest's experience) and the bath was about 1 metre wide - wonderful for a long soak after a day sightseeing. Our only complaint about the room was the lack of space for our belongings - there were no drawers and only 1 shelf each, apart from the hanging space. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here in September 2011 as part as a holiday to France which included Lille & Paris.. Hotel Barriere is a great place to stay. Its located in the business district of Lille but i wouldnt mind that as the city centre is only a short walk away. Room was spacious and clean and was well priced...

Room Tip: breakfast was not included but it is well priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A generally fine, modern hotel but in an inconvenient place especially for people on foot.
The reception and service is absolutely fine! Quick and friendly and totally efficient. Very helpful, too: when the DVD-player in our room didn't work they went out to buy a new one that worked well (all of that within half an hour!).
Well-lit room with fine comfortable bed, good working space; state of the art TV. Bathroom was ok but it was hard to shower without getting the entire place wet because the bathtub glass partition didn't close off properly. The unit also suffered from a low-hum airco.
Good cleaining service; turn-down service was a bit sloppy. And there's not a good place in the bathroom to hang the bathrobes.
Good breakfast with food cooked to order. Wide selection of breads, cereals, fruits etc. as can be expected from a casino-hotel of this class.
Check-out was speedy, efficient, correct and, again, very friendly.
The location of the hotel is a problem: it's within walking distance of both the Lille Europe and the Lille Flandres railway stations, but the route is complicated by avenue crossings, many steps and a lugubrious atmosphere. Walking into town takes longer: certainly 15 minutes or longer. Perhaps things will become better once construction and re-furbishing of the public spaces are completed.

Room Tip: There's not a lot of traffic noise, so I would think all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm writing this review from the large and comfy bed in our hotel room looking out our 15ft floor to ceiling window while my other half snoozes next to me. I really like this hotel some have said the service is lacking but we have found all the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming, we checked in early which was no problem to them and were given a choice of rooms - slightly smaller with a tub or larger without... We went without tub as we are shower people and were escorted to room 914. I love the design, huge bathroom, more towels than I've seen in any hotel room ever which is so handy when you have long hair and need at least two. We had breakfast this morning which had a great selection, one of the best we have seen and my other half travels for business so has munched his was through hundreds of hotel breakfasts. Again staff very attentive but slight downside was the hot food was warm not so hot, still ate more than I cold comfortably handle! This hotel is a short walk to the restaurants etc which didn't bother us. The trade off for room space and safe underground parking was well worth it. The parking isn't well signposted but if you follow at nav to the hotel once you spot the hotel you will see what could be described as an alleyway to the car park on the bend in the road -there's no dropped curb so we weren't 100% sure at first.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Directrice D'Exploitation Hôtel Barrière Lille at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear client,
 
Following your stay at our hotel, we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they help us improve our services.
 
My staff and I have taken note of your highly positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential. We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels,
 
Yours sincerely  
Sylvie CHAROT
Hotel Manager Lille Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777 Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barriere Lille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.