We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin d' Alix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Jardin d' Alix to your Saves list
Le Jardin d' Alix
45 bis Avenue de Marne | Tourcoing, 59200 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Lille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
1 review
“Charming B&B in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Great quality for the price, lovely peaceful surroundings and very welcoming owner. Convenient with respect to the Tramway. Perfect room and bathroom. Offers everything you need from a B&B if you are not planning to spend much time at the property (which we weren't). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    56
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
94
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

My fiancee and I traveled to Lille June 2010 and Le Jardin d'Alix was such a beautiful and quaint place to stay! The garden was enormous and lush when we arrived. We were served a french breakfast complete with homemade bread! Our host was helpful with city and public transportation. This is truly a great place to stay if ever traveling to Lille!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our family of four enjoyed very much our stay with Alexandra at her beautiful bed and breakfast home. The flowers and grounds are just beautiful! While this is a private home, you have your own private bathroom which is a plus while traveling in Europe. Our bedrooms and baths were extremely clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast consisted of juice, tea, coffee and homemade breads with jams. Alexandra was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The tram is very close and the best way to travel into the city of Lille. We enjoyed and highly recommend Le Jardin d' Alix if you will be in the Lille area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A great location to explore Lille. Alexandra was very willing to advise as required, dont hesitate to ask her. Great secure parking too.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast delicious - all home made. And if you want time to relax away from the city this location and the gorgeous garden with sitting out areas provides it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My mother and I stayed in Lille overnight while passing through the area on our way to Paris. The house is clean, and our bedroom was comfortable. Our room had a seperate tv area which was convenient as my mother wanted to sleep earlier than I did. While the accomodations did the trick, the atmosphere was less than inviting. We weren't offered use of the yard or main living areas, and Madame Alexandra was not at all helpful. She was unable to recommend a restaurant, and could not provide us with information on where to find an ABM (although she insists you pay cash). The breakfast was underwhelming as well - one piece of bread each, and one cup of coffee. I would recommend looking elsewhere for accomodations in this city.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenDargue@aol.com
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed three nights in this charming and delightful overnight accommodation ,where the bedroom was both comfortable and quiet. We had wonderful views of the garden..

Our hostess, Mdm Alexandra Hudson was friendly and very informative regarding places of interest in Lille and area. We especially enjoyed our visit to The Piscine Museum and Art Gallery in Roubaix.

We enjoyed the good fare at breakfast which included fruit and homemade brioche and conserves.

The tramway running between Lille and Tourcoing was both frequent and speedy offering the traveller the opportunity to appreciate the diverse and fascinating styles of architecture.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were totally delighted with the room, house and garden setting. Sadly the tea and coffee tray was very minimal and with no milk or creamer and there was 2 biscuits left on the side for us in the room, unwrapped and soft! The bathroom had no shampoo or shower gel which is quite unusual on our many stays in B&B in France.

The 'gourmet' breakfast, which was one of the reasons we were happy to pay 65 euros was totally disappointing and consisted only of home made bread and preserves, mini cold chocolate croissants with a small glass of orange juice and coffee. The hostess was a very nice lady but did not communicate too well with guests and on leaving we were not given a receipt for our money which is something normally automatically done.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jardin d' Alix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin d' Alix

Address: 45 bis Avenue de Marne | Tourcoing, 59200 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive garden district of Lille, this house of luxury stands in the midst of a huge garden filled with mature trees and rose bushes. The historic center of Lille is very close thanks to the nearby tram. There are off the street parking facilities and a Wifi. Gourmet breakfasts with homemade jams and pastries are served in antique china ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Jardin d' Alix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin d' Alix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.