We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin d' Alix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Jardin d' Alix to your Saves list
Le Jardin d' Alix
45 bis Avenue de Marne | Tourcoing, 59200 Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Lille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for two days with friends so used both available rooms.
Very welcoming and helpful.
Rooms were spacious and as described.
We loved the garden and wished the weather had been better so we could enjoy it more.
Off street parking is a real plus.
We reommend the tram to go into Lille and in to Tourcoing.
Tourcoing has plenty of character and places to eat.
Do follow the insructions to find this place, as Alexandra says the sat will take you to the wrong place.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    56
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
94
19
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Matisse Suite, with two rooms separated by the bathroom, meant that both us and our baby had peace in the evenings (we brought our own travel cot). The rooms themselves were interesting and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast had very nice homemade breads but might have benefitted a little variety. Alexandra is a friendly and informative host.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Alix's beautiful house. The suite was clean, confortable and decorated with oil paintings. We found it really convenient having a second room for our young child to play in. There is also a microwave available for guests go use - again, very useful if you are travelling with a young child. Breakfast was delicious (home-made brioches and jam) but don't expect a fry up, English B&B-style. The house is not in Lille but as others have said the tram ride is around 30 minutes.
Communication with Alix was easy and she responded quickly to our emails.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Jardin D'Alix is indeed a haven in which one can rest, reflect and ponder upon the surroundings of a charming, personable and beautiful locations. Rose bushes, billowing trees and the sound of birds contribute to this wonderful setting. Home made breads and jams compose the welcoming and delicious breakfast. This is indeed an ideal place to rest after a long day exploring the charms of Lille or the intricacies of Tourcoing. Jardin D'Alix was what made my experience in Lille not only comfortable but also restful, peaceful and indeed insightful. I personally highly recommend this lovely B&B for those who are willing to embrace its uniqueness, its quiet charm and the personable environment it encompasses. I would most certainly recommend and return to this wonderful haven.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lovely B&B in a beautiful quiet garden just outside of Lille...
The tram runs directly opposite the entrance to the property and is a short 20 minute journey into the Center.
This was our first time in Lille, and our host, Alexandra gave us some great recommendations on places to eat and visit in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I came to the Lille area for Valentine's day this year. We found this chambre d'hôte to be very pleasant, with a charming countryside feeling, yet easy access to the tramway line that connects Tourcoing and Lille. The location is ideal for those who want to explore other cities in the greater Lille area, such as Tourcoing and Roubaix. Every morning at breakfast we were served delicious home-made preserves, and the hostess always offered good advice on attractions, and was curious to also hear about our own adventures. Overall, a good visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here the second weekend of September.We were looking to stay a bit out of the centre of Lille. Our Hostess could not have been more amenable, helpful and it was like we were staying at home. The room was bright and clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower was at last a proper shower. We were away from the rest of the house at the end of the hall and it felt like we had our own annex. Finding the house was easy as the directions sent to us were quite simply cleart and concise. The breakfast was comprised of freshly made breads of every description, home made jams and plentiful orange juice, tea and coffe. The tram ride into the centre of town takes about 35 minutes door to the centre of Lille- so easy. It is not often I write so positively about a place so this is a testament of the standard set for the location and indeed the value. Myles.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jardin d' Alix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin d' Alix

Address: 45 bis Avenue de Marne | Tourcoing, 59200 Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive garden district of Lille, this house of luxury stands in the midst of a huge garden filled with mature trees and rose bushes. The historic center of Lille is very close thanks to the nearby tram. There are off the street parking facilities and a Wifi. Gourmet breakfasts with homemade jams and pastries are served in antique china ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Jardin d' Alix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin d' Alix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.