We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La tete de Boeuf

La tete de Boeuf
4 place de Strasbourg, Lille, France (Lille Centre 5)
+33 3 20 54 60 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,016 Restaurants in Lille
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lille Centre 5
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant was fantastic, starting with the service. The menu is only in French, so the waiter took the time to sit with us and explain each menu item for us in detail!

The food was absolutely delicious. They have options of just a main meal, starter and a main or starter, main and dessert. Prices were affordable. I highly recommend this retaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    90
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muswell Hill London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant in Lille.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We took our four year old to this restaurant a few nights ago (mid August 2013). The service was warm and friendly, despite it not really being a family restaurant. The food was astonishing. We had snails to start (phenomenal) then Leon had their burger (layered with potato instead of bread) and I had the duck. Then we had chocolate mousse. Every dish was perfect. I could have eaten it twice. This restaurant is HIGHLY recommended... :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our 2nd night in Lille - again a lovely meal. Steak and chips, just beautiful. Service and staff very friendly.highly recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good solid option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed good beef, good wine, friendly service (although slow to start with). Summer evening with windows opened up and a pleasant view of a nice part of Lille. The white chocolate fondant made a nice change to the standard dark chocolate version you find in many places ( and which was available here too ). For main course we tried the hamburger - ground beef, tomato and mozzarella in between fried potato layers - was good and a not to over the top size wise. After an aperitif we took a glass of the cheapest red by the glass - cotes du Rhone - and found it to be excellent quality.

Good option we would happily take colleagues or family there. Very reasonably priced - decent set menu even on Saturday night. At the same time did not blow us away so could not bring ourselves to award five stars.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Simply one of the best luncheon meals I have eaten in a long time! Everything was right about this place. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was truly delicious. Had as a starter Tiger Prawns in Garlic/Ginger sauce. Steak was also excellent and actually cooked medium rare as is my preference. A two course meal with shared wine came to about 32 euros which I believe is excellent value for money. Pop across on Eurostar for a day in Lille. Take lunch here. Only slight criticism, it was a little cramped at our table for 7. We were in a bit of a rush and told them so our food came quicker. Found this restaurant on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La tete de Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La tete de Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La tete de Boeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.