We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Les Gens de Mer to your Saves list
Les Gens de Mer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai du Risban, 59140 Dunkerque, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dunkerque
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I stay at this Hotel when I'm working away sometimes, the Hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are very big & very clean. Staff are polite and helpful.
Great Location for the Dunkerque carnival or before you get the Ferry from Loon-Plage.
All in all a good budget hotel and great value, very pleased with stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nothants
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel was a fairly short drive from the car-ferry and was easy to find, It's located on a quiet side street near the harbour with ample free parking spaces. It's just a few minutes walk from the town centre with many restaurants and bars nearby.
The room was very clean, comfortable, quiet and fairly well furnished. The TV only had French channels, but the Wifi was excellent and free. The shower was strong and had constant hot water.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The downside was the shabby dining and breakfast rooms. The breakfast gave a poor choice of food and the coffee was awful. Best to skip breakfast and buy one in a cafe nearby. We had dinner one evening because it was raining. The restaurant is poorly decorated - like a school canteen. The food was not good value for the 21 euros we each paid. Wine was Ok.
Summary location and accommodation was good, but eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room 301 was big with view of harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Dunkerque and upfront I was really scared by some of the reviews I read on this site. Yet, booked and no alternative we took the chance. And we were right: our room was small, true, but clean, nicely decorated and just right for an overnight stay, the bathroom spotless and - thanks to tripadvisor - we DID find the second set of towels in the drawer :)) The reception area and the breakfast room absolutely need refurbishment but then, you know you're staying in a 2** and not a 5***** place. Overall a good (not great) experience and next time when there's a nautical event we'll probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked this for price and location. Location was fine, but the condition was less than described.
The room was tiny. The bed was harder than the floor! I would have slept on the floor but I was not sure what the sticky stuff all over it was. The Blob, maybe.
The shower head sprayer was broken off and hanging. The towels were hidden in a desk drawer. Really. No amenities- dryer, mini-bar, safe, wash clothes. and the pillows were a joke.
There were two plugs and none were near the bed, so good luck with a CPAP or charging your electronics. The bed cover was a down comforter heavy enough for Arctic expeditions, and there was no room ventilation, so we cooked on the hard grill of a bed. Miserable night in a miserable place. No American breakfast and the desk clerk said she had never been asked about a breakfast recommendation and had none to offer. We did not even get coffee. Their breakfast includes fish- not an American delight! Best thing I can say- parking was free.

Room Tip: The lift is tiny. They don't tell you that you have to lock the room with the key coming, going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had tried to get a room at the Ibis in Dunkerque in mid-July as this was the first hotel we saw when we arrived in what has to be said is a somewhat dissapointing town centre. After being told the Ibis was full we decided to have a drive around and we found the Les Gens de Mer hotel by following the directional signs indicating it was across the bridge towards the marina. Immediately we could see that this was a nicer part of town to be staying in. Without a reservation i asked the chap at the front desk about availability & he said that there were a few rooms available. His English was very good & i asked to see the premium? room which he told me has a bigger bed & walk-in shower. It cost approx 80 euros from memory which was roughly the same as the Ibis that night. I asked to see the room before i made a decision & he kindly took me to the 3rd floor and showed me a room overlooking the water. I was immediately very happy with the room which was a relief has we had driven all the way from Amsterdam on this Sunday evening.

The rooms are indeed decorated in a nautical theme with lots of blue going on and 'sea lamps' above the headboard of the bed. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The bathroom was just fine with a lovely walk-in shower which was big enough for the both of us.

The TV was good and there was alot of channels to choose from.

The bed was very comfortable, so much so that we wished we had checked to see what brand of mattress is being used by the hotel!

The hotel is pet friendly and we stayed there with our 2 year old German Shepherd.

In the evening we had a lovely stroll from the hotel to the beachfront promenade with the aid of a map & directions given to us by the front desk. This area is well worth a look as there are plenty of bars and restaurants lining the promenade. It more than made up for the dreary town centre that we had arrived in a couple of hours earlier.

We were very happy with this choice of hotel and because of its location, friendliness of staff and characterful & clean rooms i highly recommend it to visitors to Dunkerque.

We didnt use the restaurant but it looked ok & we were able to book our ferry on the internet available for free in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a bigger bed & walk-in shower. A view over the dock is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a very good 2* hotel. It has recently been refurbished, and the room are comfortable though not particularly spacious. As the hotel was fully booked, we had to stay in a premium room, for which you pay an extra 10 euros for a view towards the sea (not exactly the sea view as claimed by the hotel). If you have the option, save your money by opting for a cheaper room. Breakfast was good by 2* standards, and the restaurant very good. If you don’t want to eat in the hotel, it’s a 10 minutes walk to the rather expensive restaurants by the quay, or a good 15 minutes walk to a wider choice on the opposite side of the dock. The staff are friendly, smiling and helpful. If you struggle with French, they can get by in English. Parking is excellent, free, with lots of spaces immediately behind the hotel. If you’re unfamiliar with Dunkirk, and don’t have satnav, you’ll need some directions to find the hotel. From the ferry port, take the D601 towards the city centre. After approx 10 miles, turn left onto the Rue du Canal de Bergue, crossing the canal, and proceed for another mile towards the sea.
A few quibbles. Both the wifi and computer terminal in the lobby were out of order for the 2 nights that we stayed, with no indication as to when they would be fixed. In the restaurant, the waitress forgot to offer us the cheap menu for the day (12 euros) although she offered it to all other guests. But don’t let those criticisms put you off this very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed one night at Les Gens de Mer in Dunkerque. The hotel is located in a quiet area just a short walking distance from the city centre. It is convenient for guests arriving by car, because there are a few parking spots on the street in front of the hotel and a large guest parking area on the backside. I left my motorbike just in front of the entrance.

My nautically themed room was clean, warm and of good size. The bed was comfortable, and there were plenty of closets and drawers to put stuff in.

The most disappointing part of the room was the bathroom, which was in need of modernization. Separate handles for hot and cold water are rather impractical. The showerhead holder was not adjustable, but it nevertheless provided rather a good position for the showerhead. There was a continuous noise of running water from the leaking toilet. The mirror was mounted too low on the wall, and I had to crouch to see my face in the mirror.

I did not try the breakfast that was on offer for an extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Address: Quai du Risban, 59140 Dunkerque, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Dunkerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dunkerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Gens de Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.