We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cave au Cassoulet

La Cave au Cassoulet
54 r Peyrolieres, 31000 Toulouse Toulouse, France (Jacobins)
05 61 13 60 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,372 Restaurants in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jacobins
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to visit this below-ground restaurant in Jan 2011. The Cassoulet was wonderful and the service superb, they really looked after us!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    90
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Went there after Chez Emile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The cassoulet is served family style. Chez Emile is served as individual portions with the duck seared perfectly. The Cave does not compare. We also ordered a beef dish, and I learned that you don't order beef in France, I guess. Go to Chez Emile!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a must-do when in Toulouse! The restaurant is underground in what looks like some form of old storage area/wine cellar. It's small and cozy and the food is wonderful. Of course, get the cassoulet if you are hungry and up for a very heavy meal (1 cassoulet can easily be split by 2 persons). I also recommend the fois gras and the duck breast. Simple, pre fixe menus that include an appetizer, main course and dessert. Somewhat limited choices but everything is splendid! Get the "floating island" for dessert...unreal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“wonderfully excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

my husband and i just left dinner at la cave au cassoulet, and we couldn't stop talking about how marvelous it was. echoing what others have said, the food was wonderful (cassoulet for me, duck breast for him, and a shared tarte tatin), the service extremely friendly and efficient, the atmosphere original and enjoyable, and dinner came to less than 40 euros. what else is there?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the.....cave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The 'Cave' is an underground, brick-lined, arched basement. A wonderfully atmospheric venue to sample the local cassoulet. This is a slow-cooked casserole of duck leg, Toulouse sausage, pork rind and vegetables - mainly beans. An unbelievably filling dish! You either love or hate these places. We loved this one. Candle-lit tables and friendly waiting on, done by young, male waiters in the way that only the French can do it. Excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cave au Cassoulet also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to La Cave au Cassoulet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cave au Cassoulet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.