We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not that good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michel Sarran

Michel Sarran
21 bd Armand Duportal, 31000 Toulouse, France
05 61 12 32 32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,312 Restaurants in Toulouse
Price range: $37 - $147
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Michel Sarran restaurant in Toulouse���s charming old town is a townhouse eaterie that boasts a pair of Michelin stars, understated warmth and style, and the most famous gastronomic name in the city. Michel���s wife Francoise greets you and shows you to the bubbling, modern ground floor dining room, the leafy terrace, or one of the more subdued, romantic first floor dining rooms. Sarran has made his name with ambitious, subtle gastronomy focussing on the best regional, seasonal ingredients: warm foie gras soup with Belon oysters, wild salmon cooked and cru with green curry emulsion and soba noodles and shellfish, chicken and egg with Aquitaine caviar. The lunchtime Saveurs menu is a steal. Wines and service are superb and the amuse-bouche delightful.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good but not that good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I visited here because almost everybody had the out-of-this-world experience.

Food: The shrimp soup was actually out of this world! The chocolate desert was too! I don't like chocolate in general but their chocolate desert was just an art! However, I didn't like the main dish that much. I had seabass and also tried the rabbit, both were just okay to good.

Atmosphere: Excellent but mostly older crowd. The toilet was extremely nice!

Service: Most of the waiters were pretty good. There was one waiter who didn't quite connect himself with me. For some reason, he was talking to the lady I was with. Come on, I am a customer, too lol

One last thing, they couldn't accept my visa card. They do accept visa cards and my card works just fine. The waitress didn't try to use a different machine or made any effort to solve the problem. When two people are dining and one wants to pay: a good waitress would easily understand what to do in this case.

So overall, it was not as good as I expected from other reviews but the soup and desert made the whole difference. Otherwise, it could have been 3 stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    41
    26
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing birthday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently organized a surprise birthday dinner for a friend of mine who had never been to Michel Sarran's and must admit that I was a little nervous about how it would work out in this very fancy restaurant but there was really no need to worry. During the reservation I specified that it was a birthday evening and during the evening the staff could not have been more helpful. We had a room for our party so that we didn't disturb to much the other guests and we were clearly more at ease having a good time. The food was delicious although at least as impressive was the carte des vins and the sommelier being extremely helpful sharing some stories about the winemakers and taking his time to answer all our questions and giving tips on where to buy some of the more original wines we tasted. At the end of a very special evening, we spend a little fortune, especially due to the drinks we had but it was definitively worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Eat Here Before You Die”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is little more to say than what has already been said. This place is worth every glimmer on its Michelin Stars. Lunch, while not inexpensive by North American standards is a gastronomic orgy. from amuse bouche, through salads, and mains to dessert with little cleansers in between, the food is simply unbelievably good. At about 50 Euros for lunch it was not cheap, but oh so worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Five star food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best meals of my life with service to match. At Euro 200 for lunch for one with matched glasses.of wine with each course (including tip) it was not exactly cheap, but it was worth every penny. From the moment you arrive at the door you are pampered and Michel's food will blow you away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A special moment of high gastronomy 15 minutes outside Toulouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

"Le Restaurant Michel Sarran" relocated 6 weeks ago to a countryside location which our taxi driver struggled to find. We arrived to a very modern, just refurbished, barn which now hosts what we think is the best restaurant in greater Toulouse. Given the creativity of the Chef, it is important to pick one of the tasting menus in order to really appreciate his art. Take the wine pairing unless you know the local wines well. Apart from the delicacy of the dishes, the subtlety of the flavours and the originality of how the ingredients are combined, what is really positive is that the portions are calibrated so you can finish a 7-course menu. It is really a special moment so save your visit for an occasion - also because the bill is memorable too! But it's good value for the work of the Chef and its team - visible in the through a glass panel. We know we won't forget our experience of Michel Sarran's cooking.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michel Sarran also viewed

 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Michel Sarran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel Sarran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.