We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place du Capitole

Place du Capitole
Toulouse, France (Saint Rome)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Attractions in Toulouse
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Given that our hotel was in Jolimont (don't do it. Just don't.) and we knew nothing of Toulouse, finding the old town and then this Place was quite a surprise---and it's not the only Place (plaza) by far. The old town Toulouse is fantastic, and though I'd thought I'd seen it all yesterday, we went down another street today and found entire "new" sections we hadn't walked through. Shoppers should be thrilled as well, with stores here including many you'll find from Paris to New York, Fifth Avenue to Union Square. And the architecture...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    366
    87
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Place du Capitole is the heart of Toulouse. You can't say you've been to Toulouse if you don't see it, and while you're at it, visit the city hall on the Place - great architecture, nice artworks. GO!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are in town worth seeing, has cafes on one side that look nice but we sat at a table for a while, got no service so we left :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matha, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

a stunning building - in a square exploding with atmostphere- full of students, buskers, cafes to sit in - and sip a glass of chilled white wine, whilst people watching.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

128 feet long fascade! The day we visited the place was filled with white tents with exhibits and exhibitions for seniors. Well done Toulouse. Be sure to visit the Salle des Illustres.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place du Capitole also viewed

 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Place du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place du Capitole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.